We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended - Nice Hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Patagonica Nakel Yen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Posada Patagonica Nakel Yen to your Saves list
Posada Patagonica Nakel Yen
Pto. San Julian 244, El Calafate 9405, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Recommended - Nice Hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed in a double room which was large and comfortable with a great en suite bathroom. The only issue was noise from the reception/common area just outside which sometimes woke us before 7am as people checked out for an early bus or left for tours. Reception also put music on from about 9am each morning which disturbed us when we wanted a lie-in. Having said this, everything else about the place was excellent. There is a chilled friendly atmosphere and plenty of like-minded travelers to chat to. The BBQ which they do every week was great value considering the mountain of delicious food provided and the constantly refilled wine glasses. Located a 5-10 minute walk from the main highroad it's in a decent location too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    27
    13
    5
    0
See reviews for
4
44
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Nakel Yen is a nice place to stay if you want somewhere just outside town, with amazing views - our upstairs room had a view of the hills and lakes which was gorgeous!

We booked a private double room through Hostel World (Small Tip - If you book a private room email the hostel to confirm what bed you want/need as they have a slight problem with the system not telling them who booked twin beds or double, so when we arrived we were given a twin room, however we were lucky it was quiet season and the staff were happy for us to move next door to the empty double!)

The room was clean, spacious and quiet (another tip - ask for an upstairs room!), we booked the shared bathrooms and they too were clean (the bins were emptied every few hours, which is something you will grow to appreciate when staying in countries where you cant flush tissue!) and big enough that we hardly ever saw anyone else in there.

The staff were helpful and friendly (via email before we arrived and during our stay), there was a folder at the desk with information about tours which they went through with us and explained in detail when we asked - we ended up booking our Glacier trip with the hostel after checking out the prices in town too, we decided it was roughly the same price and easier through them.

The reception area had comfy sofas, a brilliant up to date computer with free internet (free wifi also available) and the staff had a good choice of music.

It is a 10 minute walk to town, and on your return you will find yourself walking up a hill, but don't let it put you off - Yes there is a hill, yes after a big dinner out (Argentina do big portions!) we found it more of a challenge (maybe let your food go down before you attempt it) but honestly its a small inconvinence for such a lovely place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Atmosphere was sociable without being too loud - good selection of music downstairs. We booked our Perrito Moreno glacier trek ('Big Ice' tour) at the hostel, which was fantastic.
Our double room was clean and had a nice view over the town with some of the lake in the background - would recommend an upstairs room which are quieter. Shared bathrooms were clean enough and large enough to cope with the amount of people staying there. The communal computer is modern and good for uploading photos etc.
The hostel is about 10 mins walk from the centre of town. It's up a dirt track on a hill on the edge of the town which was a bit of a challenge after heavy meals but only a small inconvenience.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We spent a few nights here during our travels around Patagonia and found it to be really relaxed and friendly. The beds were comfortable although they could do with some curtains as the lights outside were a bit annoying. The facilities were great, although as commented below the water pressure could be improved for toilets and sinks- however it didn't provide a problem for us. Overall we loved the place and returned a few times. Veronica played amazing music and introduced me to some great spanish music that now accompanies me on my travels. I thank her for that!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitges, Spain
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

On arrival in this hostel we got welcomed by a very friendly male member of the staff who made sure we had a very quick and easy check-in. The first impression of the hostel was good, but that didn´t take too long. In our room with private bathroom (#5) a few issues arrised. It was not possible to flush the toilet :) well... you could but with this small amount of water and pressure it was not possible to flush away what you just left in it ;) - no details. Washing your hands in the sink (after using the toilet) or brushing your teeth was not possible, at least not with water. There was no pressure on the water and when you tried to open the water handle, the water was running out. It was also obvious that the floor in the room didn´t see a broom for a while. Directly on arrival we mentioned this to the staff member who checked us in. He came to take a look, but nothing further happend. We used the shower handle to brush our teeth :) The door to the bathroom was broken in two pieces, so even when you closed it it was not closed but 2 different pieces with a gap. The door of the room was not even a door but a piece of wood in the shape of a door. The result was that it didn´t isolate anything which happend outside the room. The guests and the music in the reception entertained us nice and loudly until at least 2am in the morning. At 6 in the morning the first guests left and we had no other option then waking up with them as it sounded like they were inside the room. All of this we mentioned to another staff member when we checked out, she promised to pass it on. This hostel could make so much more out of itself by renovating the rooms and check the maintenance of the rooms, but now you just pay way too much money for what it is. A few days before we stayed at another place which was spotless clean, well isolated and much cheaper, but sadly booked out so we had to stay at this hostel for 1 night.

Room Tip: Look for a better option, for less money. Tip: Marcopolo suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Having stayed at America Del Sur and not liked it we decided to try here instead. We were slightly unsure when we booked as its such a good price compared to others in the area we thought there might be a reason for it, and not a good one.

The hostel is an awesome place. Good size, not too big, not too small. The rooms are a good size also and big lockers are provided for each guest. Rooms are also very clean.

Bathrooms, kitchen and communal areas are also well maintained and very clean.

We arrived too late for the BBQ but it looked awesome. Most of the hostel seemed to have opted for it and the meat looked delicious and it had some lovely fresh salad with it.

Hostel on the whole had a great, chilled out vibe. I just wish we'd picked this one first time round!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Nakel Yenu during our trip to Patagonia, and it was a highlight for sure. The hostel is a little bit out of town, but still within 5-10 mins walking distance of everything downtown and the bus station. That was perfect for us, since we like to stay in a place that is a little more quiet at night for a good night's sleep.

The vibe of the hostel is really chill and cool, with a nice sitting room in the main lobby area and a separate kitchen area for partying and such. Breakfast was typical Argentinian bread- fresh baked and delicious, with butter, jam and the best dulce de leche we had our entire trip!

The reason I wanted to write this review though, was the service we received from Veronica. Veronica helped us out in so many ways, and was so easy for us to communicate with since she spoke perfect English. She let us know what was good to do around town, and booked two tours for us. She also helped us with some complicated bus tickets which was super helpful. At times I had so many questions for her that I felt like I was probably bugging her, but she didn't seem to mind at all! She provided answers to all my questions and was extremely helpful.

Our room was a private double room on the ground floor, and although it was a little loud at times due to people in the lounge area, we couldnt complain since the room was spacious, clean and had a nice hot shower.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada Patagonica Nakel Yen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Patagonica Nakel Yen

Address: Pto. San Julian 244, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 47 Specialty Lodging in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Posada Patagonica Nakel Yen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Patagonica Nakel Yen El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Patagonica Nakel Yen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.