We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute nice location ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of I Keu Ken Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added I Keu Ken Hostel to your Saves list
I Keu Ken Hostel
F. M. Pontoriero 171, El Calafate 9405, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Bremen, Germany
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Absolute nice location ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Nearly on top of El Calafate with an amazing view. Excellent and very friendly, helpful stuff. Bedrooms are clean and the bathroom too. The kitchen could be a bit re- equiped.
The breakfast was good and sufficient. The price in a 4 Dorms a 110arg$ fair.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    38
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
44
40
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

My hostel in El Chalten (a lovely place with the most limited internet access and phone lines that don't really work) helped me book a room at I Keu Ken just before I boarded the bus to El Calafate. They told me that they knew the owners and that it would be a great place to stay at. 4 hours later (by 10.30pm) I got into El Calafate and walked to the hostel. The receptionist told me there were full and that she had to give away my bed because I didn't send a confirmation email. When I told her that my hostel called her and that I was on the bus so I couldn't send her any email, she became very aggressive and told me that people who call don't show up but that people that send emails do. I was basically left without a room because of technological disagreement. She eventually helped me found a room in another hostel with much lower standarts that will be very uncomfortable for the next two nights! In three months of travelling, I have never seen anything like this in a hostel. What a disappointment!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay, a pity they are in El Calafate, where there's not much to do apart from visit the Perito Moreno. The place is kept very well, clean, with very good breakfast and nice music.Staff is extremely friendly and helpful,  with great choice of activities to do. As said, unfortunately most of them are not in El Calafate(a very turistic town offering not much apart from turistic expensive shops), which makes anything quite expensive.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The strength of this place is the helpfulness and guidance of the staff. They´re great. Other than that, a stock standard hostel with a great view. If you want something smack bang in the centre, this is not it. It´s a little walk up the hill, but the views are pretty bloody amazing as all the reviews say. It has a relaxed vibe. I had ´the honeymoon suite´, which was really good. The supermarket up the road is massive and brilliant for stocking up before you launch off to El Chalten (a must must!!!). The breakfast was very basic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We only stayed here for one night, but really liked it. Our double room turned out to be more like a small apartment; it had it's own kitchen with a small dining table, and a private bathroom. The staff were really welcoming and friendly, there was decent Wifi in the main building and a couple of PCs to use if needed. It's about a 5 minute walk into town. Overall highly recommended.

Room Tip: We booked a double room and it turned out to be a small apartment adjoining the main hostel; if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Although a little out of town, being on a hill means really great views. The staff there were lovely, especially Martin and the girl who looks like Nelly Furtado. Amazing BBQ, although few and far between this time of year. Breakfast is really dull - bread, crackers and bad coffee. Good tea selection though! And it makes up for the breakfast in other ways. Good kitchen, lovely living room and warm, comfy beds.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are possibly a bit quieter, but none of them are loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Brilliant hostel.

What really made it was the staff, who were super helpful, especially Ignacio. For example within an hour of booking through hostelworld got a nice welcome email from them asking if we needed more information etc & prompt replies to our emails.

Very homey and warm feeling and atmosphere, the common area was rather nice.

4 bed dorm was a decent size with good sized lockers and comfy enough beds.

Location is good, maybe 15 min walk to bus station and Main Street and only a few minutes from huge supermarket. Also as slightly uphill get a fantastic view of the lake.

Would highly recommend.

Traveled April 2013 as a couple, stayed in 4 bed dorm.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to I Keu Ken Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Keu Ken Hostel

Address: F. M. Pontoriero 171, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 47 Specialty Lodging in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your I Keu Ken Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
I Keu Ken Hostel El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage I Keu Ken Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.