We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of I Keu Ken Hostel

Save Saved
You added I Keu Ken Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
I Keu Ken Hostel
F. M. Pontoriero 171, El Calafate 9405, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Orange, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our way to Torres del Paine and absolutely loved the atmosphere! The place is clean, kitchen has everything you need, staff is super friendly and helpful (they will arrange everything for your trip to see Perito Moreno glacier and all buses pick you up from the hostel). It's a place where mostly college aged people stay, everyone hangs around singing songs - it's got a family feel to it with a gorgeous view out the window.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    35
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
44
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I Keu Ken is a beautiful, friendly hostel about 5-10mins walk from the main drag and bus terminal. It is well worth the walk though. Nice new cottage feel, good beds and decent, clean bathrooms. The staff are lovely and are very helpful, they also speak fantastic English. Lali went above and beyond to help me out with getting around town and my travel plans. To top off a great stay the fridge was stocked with local craft beer varieties and breakfast was impressive consisting of freshly baked rolls and delicious condiments. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Great hostel! Super friendly and helpful staff. There are large lockers for each person in the rooms and pretty good wi-fi. The breakfast is included but is basic (bread and butter, jam, dulce de leche with tea/coffee and juice). There's a nice sitting area downstairs and a very friendly atmosphere.

They offer an asado (BBQ) once a week or so - and if you're there (and a meat eater) it's a fun time & excellent value with perfectly cooked sausage, beef, lamb, chicken and all the red wine & beer you can drink.

My only complaint is that it's a bit of a hike up the hill from the bus station (and town) on a dusty unpaved road. It's not THAT far but a bit annoying when you're legs are tired and sore from hiking. Regardless, I still stayed there a second time after going off to Chalten

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Lovely homely atmosphere and a great breakfast. It's a bit of a trek from the bus ration compared to other places, but I think it's worth it. The dorm I was in felt a bit cramped, but the common areas are good and the staff helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Location: hmm, longer than other hostels to bus terminal and centre, but really close to huge supermarket and on top of a hill, so nice place to relax.
Staff: great, helpful, lovely.
Breakfast: simple but ok!
Rooms + bathroom: fine, it has lockers.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I really liked the atmosphere at this hostal.
They are professional since ofcourse they still have a business to run and they take the time to explain you everything.
They sit on the table and explain the town and the tours you can do.
They do this hundreds of time a year but they still did it with interest and enthusiasme.

What i noticed in all the hostals i visited..they keep it clean. The place can look a bit old but still you can smell the cleaningstuf everywhere. This counts also for i keu ken.

The only negative thing i have to say is abouty the beds. The matras is oke but when your bunk 'friend' decides to turns around the beds make alot of noise.

In total i stayed here five nights

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

This place is awesome! It's located on a hill near a big supermarket and views over the lake are beautiful. The kitchen is well kept, breakfast was great and the living area is inviting and social. Everything is kept really clean and staff were friendly and helpful.
We were there over New Years and the staff put on a great dinner with wine included and made a big effort to make sure we had enough to eat and drink and were having a great night. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to I Keu Ken Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Keu Ken Hostel

Address: F. M. Pontoriero 171, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 44 Specialty lodging in El Calafate
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your I Keu Ken Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
I Keu Ken Hostel El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage I Keu Ken Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.