We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of I Keu Ken Hostel

Save Saved
You added I Keu Ken Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
I Keu Ken Hostel
F. M. Pontoriero 171, El Calafate 9405, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Homely atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Lovely homely atmosphere and a great breakfast. It's a bit of a trek from the bus ration compared to other places, but I think it's worth it. The dorm I was in felt a bit cramped, but the common areas are good and the staff helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    35
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
43
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Location: hmm, longer than other hostels to bus terminal and centre, but really close to huge supermarket and on top of a hill, so nice place to relax.
Staff: great, helpful, lovely.
Breakfast: simple but ok!
Rooms + bathroom: fine, it has lockers.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I really liked the atmosphere at this hostal.
They are professional since ofcourse they still have a business to run and they take the time to explain you everything.
They sit on the table and explain the town and the tours you can do.
They do this hundreds of time a year but they still did it with interest and enthusiasme.

What i noticed in all the hostals i visited..they keep it clean. The place can look a bit old but still you can smell the cleaningstuf everywhere. This counts also for i keu ken.

The only negative thing i have to say is abouty the beds. The matras is oke but when your bunk 'friend' decides to turns around the beds make alot of noise.

In total i stayed here five nights

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

This place is awesome! It's located on a hill near a big supermarket and views over the lake are beautiful. The kitchen is well kept, breakfast was great and the living area is inviting and social. Everything is kept really clean and staff were friendly and helpful.
We were there over New Years and the staff put on a great dinner with wine included and made a big effort to make sure we had enough to eat and drink and were having a great night. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in January 2013. It is up a big hill from the main high street (5 blocks up) and 4 blocks uphill from the bus station, but being up there does give it a great view of the lake.

We were in a 4-bed dorm, and it was nice and quiet. The shared bathroom was fairly clean and was big enough for the number of people staying in the hostel.

Breakfast wasn´t amazing, but I suppose it was fairly standard. We did cook in the kitchen a couple of times, which was fine although it´s a bit too small for the number of people who want to use it and some people had to wait a couple of hours before there was space to cook. There´s a good supermarket just around the corner from the hostel.

The terrace is a nice place to sit and the lounge is nice too, but don´t leave your stuff lying around there (or in any hostel) as someone´s jacket went missing while we were there.

The staff were really friendly and helped us to book trips to the glacier and to El Chalten.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This was the friendliest hostel I stayed at in Argentina. The staff were so nice, and so helpful and efficient. Ask them about anything and they'll give you all the information you need and have it booked for you in an instant. The hostel had a really homely vibe. We came back for a second visit and it felt like coming back to home away from home. It's about a five minute walk from the bus stop, yes it's up a hill but it didn't bother me at all. It means you get a nice view. They also do great asado nights. I definitely recommend it. The only negative was that the showers are a bit hit and miss.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

A good hostel, 10 minutes from the bus terminal and 10 - 15 minutes from the centre of town.

Good email contact from the hostel before arriving.

Our room was great - twin with own bathroom and kitchen. Breakfast is served from 6:30am which is great if you plan to head off early.

All of the staff were friendly and the hostel was busy.

Not a party hostel but one where you can enjoy a beer or the BBQ that they hold twice a week.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to I Keu Ken Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Keu Ken Hostel

Address: F. M. Pontoriero 171, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 44 Specialty lodging in El Calafate
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your I Keu Ken Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
I Keu Ken Hostel El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage I Keu Ken Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.