We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of I Keu Ken Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added I Keu Ken Hostel to your Saves list
I Keu Ken Hostel
F. M. Pontoriero 171, El Calafate 9405, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

This place is awesome! It's located on a hill near a big supermarket and views over the lake are beautiful. The kitchen is well kept, breakfast was great and the living area is inviting and social. Everything is kept really clean and staff were friendly and helpful.
We were there over New Years and the staff put on a great dinner with wine included and made a big effort to make sure we had enough to eat and drink and were having a great night. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    40
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
46
40
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in January 2013. It is up a big hill from the main high street (5 blocks up) and 4 blocks uphill from the bus station, but being up there does give it a great view of the lake.

We were in a 4-bed dorm, and it was nice and quiet. The shared bathroom was fairly clean and was big enough for the number of people staying in the hostel.

Breakfast wasn´t amazing, but I suppose it was fairly standard. We did cook in the kitchen a couple of times, which was fine although it´s a bit too small for the number of people who want to use it and some people had to wait a couple of hours before there was space to cook. There´s a good supermarket just around the corner from the hostel.

The terrace is a nice place to sit and the lounge is nice too, but don´t leave your stuff lying around there (or in any hostel) as someone´s jacket went missing while we were there.

The staff were really friendly and helped us to book trips to the glacier and to El Chalten.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This was the friendliest hostel I stayed at in Argentina. The staff were so nice, and so helpful and efficient. Ask them about anything and they'll give you all the information you need and have it booked for you in an instant. The hostel had a really homely vibe. We came back for a second visit and it felt like coming back to home away from home. It's about a five minute walk from the bus stop, yes it's up a hill but it didn't bother me at all. It means you get a nice view. They also do great asado nights. I definitely recommend it. The only negative was that the showers are a bit hit and miss.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

A good hostel, 10 minutes from the bus terminal and 10 - 15 minutes from the centre of town.

Good email contact from the hostel before arriving.

Our room was great - twin with own bathroom and kitchen. Breakfast is served from 6:30am which is great if you plan to head off early.

All of the staff were friendly and the hostel was busy.

Not a party hostel but one where you can enjoy a beer or the BBQ that they hold twice a week.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Spent 6 nights in total at I Keu Ken, 5 upon arriving in Patagonia and, 1 in the very end of my trip. Even though the hostel isn't the closest one to the City Center, the general atmosphere and the views make it all worth while. I wouldn't consider staying in any other place in El Calafate. Great staff, cosy environment, good for couples or singles!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My friend and I decided to visit El Calafate after hearing about the glaciers. We came upon this hostel and ended up extending our 4 day trip to 7 days. The staff was wonderful and very informative on things to do around town.
If you don't feel like venturing out to eat, they offer home cooked meals most nights that are delicious. Everything was very clean and neat. Met some great people here.

Would recommend this place to everyone traveling on a budget!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The hostel is terrific. Rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, the supermarket is conveniently located next door, kitchen is busy but well equipped, and the living/dining room is open concept and a great place to meet people. There are lockers which you would be advised to use since there are no locks on the doors. As with any hostel, people will take liberty with your possessions if left unattended.

However, the hostel is somewhat out of the way and the directions are completely useless. From the bus station, make a right facing uphill, then turn left at Valentin Freiberg. You'll pass a major avenue and proceed walking uphill. You will eventually see some residences in a gravelled area to your left. The hostel is the yellow house in front of a large timbered resort called La Cantera. Also, the staff was good enough to find and hold on to the sunglasses I left there. Would have been great if they had posted it to me as I offered to pay the shipping and handling.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to I Keu Ken Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Keu Ken Hostel

Address: F. M. Pontoriero 171, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 47 Specialty Lodging in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your I Keu Ken Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
I Keu Ken Hostel El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage I Keu Ken Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.