We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good deal to stay in Cafayate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hosteria Rukahue

Save Saved
You added Hosteria Rukahue to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hosteria Rukahue
Glaciar Murallon 77, El Calafate, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 71 hotels in El Calafate
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A good deal to stay in Cafayate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Chose this hotel following the recommendations found on TA and its pretty accurate . The hotel is located on a hill 15 mn walk from libertador Main Street ( easy on the way down , better take a cab on your way back from the center). The rooms are ok but don't expect something breathtaking . The real value of this hotel is the hosts which make you feel at home the minute you get in. They were ultra welcoming and gave us sound recommendations on our stay and excursions ! The breakfast is really good and freshly baked every morning with homemade croissants (no matter what time you have to wake up ) . Overall great deal that stems more from the hosting quality than the amenities themselves ! It's a GO for me !

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    12
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
34
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I were in El Calafate over Christmas and we were looking for a cheap place to stay that was comfortable. Rukahue is the spot! The family that runs the hosteria is so nice. Our room was modest and comfortable with it's own private bathroom and the communal area was very spacious. It was only a 10-15 minute walk to the main part of town -- for the price and the quality of lodging, we didn't mind a little walking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Adriana, Santiago and family:

By the time my new husband Rich and I made it down to the South of Argentina, we were admittedly weathered. Santiago was the smiling face that welcomed us in from the (incredibly) high winds outdoors. His English was near-perfect, which was such a relief given how spent we were. He never tired, or at least never showed it, of our many questions. He took the time to contact businesses for us to arrange transportation for us to the airport, even though we we not even in town at the time. Adriana took care of us like a mother. She baked us fresh breakfast goodies every morning, as early as one hour prior to usual breakfast time to accommodate our schedule. She made sure we were well equipped for our glacier hike, and we were greeted by her smiling face asking us if we had had a good time upon our return after a long, most memorable day. Thanks to you, Adriana and Santiago, for taking such good special care of us. Santiago: it was awesome watching X-Men Origins with you in Spanish, and we hope you won your rugby game that weekend. Best of luck on your exams!! We will not forget how you took the time to write us an email following up on the transportation after we had left to Chile. Best of luck and all the successes to you all, as individuals and as a family business. You are good people.

Donya xo

ps: We LOVED the location of your hosteria. The walk into town was short, and to be honest, it was nice to stay out of the way of the hustle and bustle of tourists. How so very refreshing.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the hall at the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This was such a welcoming and friendly place. My wife and I stayed there in January 2011 (late on the review) for several days and had a great time. The hotel is up the hill a bit from the town, but it's walkable (especially on the way down) and taxis are pretty cheap. Adrianna and family took care of arranging reservations and taxis, when we took them, and let us practice our poor Spanish. Breakfast comes with a beautiful view, rooms are clean and comfortable, helpful and friendly hosts, all make this great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

The B&B is very nice and neat. The owner will give you a warm welcome and a lot of information on all you can need. She can also arrange for very good sandwiches if you have to go on excursion. Good breakfast from a panoramic hall. The house is not so close to the center town (2-3 kms) on a steep and bad road to walk.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

As mentioned by other reviewers, Adrianna is a gem. Kind, caring, helpful Your satisfaction is her priority. Her son Santiago is equally as pleasant and helpful. We had some connection problems with regards to flight departure from el calafate and they both provided great assistance. Rooms are small but very clean. Bathroom shower can be a little tight space wise. Walls are alittle thin so a noisy neighbor could be a problem, but the beds and pillows are surper comfy. The lobby and breakfast area is a large and 2 story area and very inviting with a lovely view. Breakfast was good and Adriannas homemade jams where a treat.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012 via mobile

This feels a bit like a European ski lodge. The room are not big but very clean, and comfortable. The cleaning staff were excellent.
The common areas are comfortable as well.
What makes this place is the staff, they would do absolutely anything to help you.
We had a lovely time staying here and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hosteria Rukahue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Rukahue

Address: Glaciar Murallon 77, El Calafate, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in El Calafate
#27 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hosteria Rukahue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Rukahue El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hosteria Rukahue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.