We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hosteria Rukahue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hosteria Rukahue to your Saves list
Hosteria Rukahue
Glaciar Murallon 77, El Calafate, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 71 Hotels in El Calafate
Sonoma Ca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Rukahue (rockaway) is a truly great experience. I recently stayed there with my wife and sister inlaw on a trip from BA. There is no way i can say enough great things about the family and experience. Thanks again Santiago and Adriana.

Room Tip: I believe there are only 9 rooms or so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    18
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
43
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

This is a great place to stay in Calafate , Adriana the ownwer was very helpfull .This was our first stop in our trip to Patagonia ,and where quite tired ,after a long trip from Brazil ,but we slept like at home ,in very confortable beds .Breakfast was very good ,but the nicest thing was the view , is a really great spot ,plus all the good feeling of being like at home ,made this place a far better choice than going to the bigger hotels .Is a little bit out off town center but is Ok taxis are not very expensive ,

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tahoe city
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

Rukahue is a bit at the edge of town. A car is desirable, but the taxis are $3.00 into the city, no big deal.
The hosteria is a family run operation with lovely rooms. The large community room has a panoramic view of the lake and surrounding mountains. Unfortunately by the time we got to El Calafate I was rather ill, and Adriana took care of me like my mother would have, Absolutely wonderful folks and will do anything to make you comfortable. There's a computer, TV and large lounge area in the huge loft. Santiago, the son spoke very good english and communication was no issue here.
I highly recommen the Rukahue - rockhouse..

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

Having an awesome view, Rukahué is placed some minutes away from El Calafate's main street. Even if it may be a little bit far away, there are several issues which may be considered advantages. For example, it may be the most cozy place I've ever visited. The owners are a married couple who are at every moment ready to help, and, she has this incredible attitude that she can turn a boring night into an interesant informative conversation. To conclude, if you are looking for a cozy, calmed and charming place, chose Rukahué and you won't regret it.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2009

We stayed in Rukahue for 3 nights in dec 2009. The family-run Hostaria is very little and cosy, with just 6 rooms that were almost empty during our stay so that Adriana and hers son and daughter were at our disposal for any information. The rooms are simple but very comfortable, and we were surprised that, when doing housekeeping, Adriana managed to collect to the wardrobe all our luggage (!) so that the room was really in order during our stay. The reception of the hotel is pretty new, so that normally taxis are arriving to the hotel passing by the backdoor (usually you have to explain to them where is located, since it is pretty new). But anyway, except by this, the warmth of Adriana is something really appreciated, and let you feel like to be at home. Gracias Adriana y familia, nos gusto mucho!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

This was a good place to stay for a night or two. When we stayed they had not completed the entrance to the hotel and so it was a little tricky to find the place. It was clean, warm, the rooms all had ensuite and the owner was extremely friendly. As stated before it is a little ways out of town up a hill, and it can get extremely windy up there - be warned!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange, california
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2009

I found the Hosteria very new and clean, The host attended to all my needs. I,ve stayed at places around the world . I felt very comfortabe during my stay of three days.
Adry went out of her way to make sure all my plans of travel for each day would work out.
Adry arranged cabs and tickets for my local travel with in the city touring points. she gave me great advice on how to do things in the proper timing.
Breakfast was very nice each morning and I enjoyed the views of the lake & the mountains. The bedroom and bathroom full filled all my needs of good nights rest.
Dave from Orange, California

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hosteria Rukahue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Rukahue

Address: Glaciar Murallon 77, El Calafate, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hosteria Rukahue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Rukahue El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hosteria Rukahue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.