We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding steak (parrilla) for the money.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Boliche de Alberto

El Boliche de Alberto
Villegas 347, San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina
431433
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding steak (parrilla) for the money.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We had a filet and a porterhouse steak. Both were huge and incredibly delicious. Sides are big enough to share. Waitstaff friendly, chef takes your meet order and waitress will take your drink order. Can watch them prepare and cook meat from dining room. Atmosphere is casual.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,534
    753
    196
    61
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tremendous, inexpensive meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The best steak I had in Argentina was here. My favorite part was that the grill chef was the one who took our order, so there was nothing lost in translation between me and the server. My enormous ojo de bife came out just as rare as I like it, and the steak was amazing. The provoleta and chorizo, along with the chimichurri, were all excellent. I would come back here in a second.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rustic and high quality..they do the basics well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The place is empty as they open the doors at 8am. By 930-1000 when most Argentinians eat every seat is full and the tables are turning again. We had their empanadas to start and they we very tasty. We has salads , fries and the lomo which was cooked to perfection and very delicious. The waiter was excellent, recommending we order a full order of lomo and split it for two. Both couples did this. They were out of the Malbec wine we wanted and a waitress showed us another and clearly pointed out the price of $80 US. It was great. We had two desserts and the total bill for four persons was less than $50 US per person! One more thing...they don't take reservations so go early if you don't want to wait.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“If you love parilla...go here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

To bad we found about this place only our last night. But it was worth waiting. Long lines in front of the restaurant, so be here round 8 when they open. The beef the lomo was just perfect. A small portion is 2 nice pieces of meat that you can easily share. Some goes for the chicken. One guy next to us ordered a big steak and big is big. But the taste...the beef de lomo just melts in your mouth. Argentinians are impressed by the way the make it. So a must visit in Bariloche!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Any student would produce a better spag bog”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I'm amazed that people actually enjoyed this place. They pride themselves on their pasta, fresh -made on the premises, and do serve large portions of it, but the sauces are near tasteless and insufficient to coat the pasta. Moreover the spaghetti is more like an egg noodle than a real wheat pasta-no chance of "al dente" here, just a pile of tasteless mush.
If you just want something large to fill up on , and can't find a used Mc.Donalds carton, then give Alberto's a try, but if you have any tastebuds left, definitely give it a miss.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Boliche de Alberto also viewed

San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 

Been to El Boliche de Alberto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Boliche de Alberto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.