We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confortable hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tirol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tirol to your Saves list
Hotel Tirol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Libertad 175, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
São José dos Campos, SP
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Confortable hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We've been in Tirol during 4 nights in a room with view for the lake. The hotel is very well located for those who want to stay in the city center. It is really near to the main streets. For sure, the most luxurious hotels in Bariloche are far from the center; however, in the center Tirol seems to be one of the most well maintained and with good quality. Our room had good space and good heating and the bed was very comfortable. Windows perfectly isolated the noise from outside. I had the impression that our room had older furniture than other rooms, but this was not a problem, since all the furniture was pretty well conversed.

The hotel has free wi-fi in all rooms, I affirm that it worked perfectly every time it was needed and the speed was really fast.
Bathroom was fine with good shower and good water temperature adjustment.

During our holidays, we stayed in 5 hotels in Patagonia. Maybe Tirol's breakfast was one of the best among these hotels. I make this comment because we saw a lot of complaints about breakfast in Patagonia; we realized that this is really a fact, some of them are quite poor. However, Tirol is definitely above the average. We loved the fruit salad and some of the cakes. We only missed some fresh bread, that one similar to a baguette or the famous "pão francês" in Brasil (roll). However, all 5 hotels in Patagonia had the same problem, all of them had only sliced loaf. The hotels in Patagônia should offer some different breads.

We did not have the need to ask for information in the reception, but we saw the owner providing information and supporting people a lot of times. Not only her but also the employees seem to be attentive to the customers.

As a summary, hotel has good value and is perfect for having a good sleep and good breakfast. We would come back for sure.

Room Tip: Try to reserve a room with view to the lake. It is really beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteltirolbariloche, Propietario at Hotel Tirol, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Hi Renato,

Your review is simply incredible. Thank you very much for writing it! It is very important for us to offer a good service and is much more important to us that our guests can feel it.

We are pleased you enjoyed the breakfast, and is a compliment to compare it with a 5 star hotel breakfast. We will take note about the bread and we will try to incorporate it in the near future.

Again, thank you very much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    125
    34
    4
    3
See reviews for
50
143
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastsound, WA, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We recently spent 2 nights here. The hotel is tired, rooms need to be updated - they are very basic. But our situation hinged on reporting our bathroom light out at 9 in the morning. We got thru midnight and the morning with no lighting but hoped they would repair it during our day absence. On returning home at 5pm, we were tired and dusty from a day of hiking, and shocked that it was not fixed. We wanted our room to shower and rest up before going out for dinner.
The local electrician was unable to fix it so they phoned another electrician. We requested to be moved to another room as we were unable to relax nor shower - 45 minutes has now gone by. An additional electrician came in and spent time to repair. Then we had to ask that someone clean the bathroom as that had not been done and we had no towels etc. as the maid couldn't see to clean it in the morning. Since they wouldn't move us, my husband demanded a reduction in the rate as we were so inconvenienced. The woman said she would do this. But at this point, they had the audacity to blame us for breaking the light - that plugging in my dryer with adapter had somehow broken it, despite it working after my use. It has never been a problem and trying to run that one past my electrical engineering husband was laughable. He said that the bathroom with lamp cord and several electrical code violations might have had something to do with the breakage. there was no apology or attempt to accept that they had not handled this well. Their electrician apparently has a 'day job' so is unable to come until after - so that's the time the customer would be most inconvenienced. The following morning there was no adjustment to our 1 1/2 hours when we could not use our room and needed it most. It wasn't that there was poor customer service - there was actually - none.
We travel a lot and have never encountered anything like this in terms of treatment of the customer. I would not recommend this hotel for Bariloche - there are just too many other choices and I am certain one that would fit your budget.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteltirolbariloche, Propietario at Hotel Tirol, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Hello Janet K,

We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay in our hotel due to an electrical problem. These situations should not happen, but hardly ever, it can happen. You have to understand that it is very rare to have an electrical problem in one of our bathrooms, so we had to wait until the electrician that we trust came. This has taken longer than we thought, so please accept our apologize for that.

The problem was that the installed plug in was not prepared for the hair dryer introduced, and it was forced at the time of removing it. We were very lucky that only your bathroom was affected and it has not been expanded to the entire floor of the hotel. The electrician solved the problem, the hotel gave you an adapter and it did not happen again. Of course we have learned from this situation and, next time, we will solve it more adequately.

In March and April 2013 we renovated and refurbished to 100% the rooms, including electrical and plumbing system, so the likelihood of it happening again are minimal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Visited Bariloche in early December. Drove up the shore road past the bus terminal and on a few miles and turned left twice to find the hotel not exactly as described. The neighborhood is very much like the town: tIred buildings and flash stores with a strong mix of youth and low end shops. The small parking lot, 6 cars, was appreciated as the street option was not comforting. Inside the building the managers spoke a variety of languages and were very soothing and understanding of any and all problems. Their recommendations for food were excellent--the best in both taste and value of our month long trip and all within walking distance. Despite first impressions, we felt safe walking to and from dinner each night. Our room, a newly renovated one (plus $10 a night), looked out over the back yard of a family home and beyond to the shore road and on to the lake and distant mountains. The bed was fine, the room clean, the walls thick enough unless you were a light sleeper. It is a perfect hotel for those stepping up from hostels, those wanting good value, those without wheels. If none of those are high concerns then head out of town. Follow the lake shore road southeast and find many fine lodges. If I were to return, that is the area I would look for bargains. The only strong negative I had about the stay was beyond the hotel's control. The street noise from the main shore drive and from the fourth floor and half a block away was a problem even with the windows closed and draped. Evidently the town allows racing along this road from midnight until two a.m. For the three nights we were there unmuffled cars and motorcycles dragged up and down during this time. I think during high summer it could be even worse. Too bad.

Room Tip: The renovated rooms were equal to furnishings and fit of Days Inn. Go as high up as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Central location was great, even better was the stunning lake view from our room. Room was a little tired looking but it was clean. We had few issues with taps and toilet flush but the staff were attentive and got it resolved quickly. Breakfast was great for Argentina and free Wifi, although we had no signal in our room so always had to go downstairs and for Skype was difficult as could be noisy. Nothing special but no complaints other than noise in the morning but it was from the wind banging shutters next door - cant really blame the hotel :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Excellent lake view.
Tidy and very clean rooms.
Parking.
Extremely helpful and courteous staff.
Fantastic location.
Breakfast is great considering is not a luxurious hotel and served with a very nice view.
Staying here was a great decision.

Room Tip: Ask for "vista al lago"!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Tirol hotel is a small, lovely place.
Location is very central.
Great view of the lake from the lobby and rooms.
Very helpfull staff.
Free Wi-Fi.
We liked it because everything was east going - but it"s not the placeif you want a resort or a fun place

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Location: ***** (out of 5) located two blocks from the civic center and from the pedestrian area, view to the lake

Service: ***** (out of 5). Excellent breakfast (salad of fresh fruits).

Room, Hotel overall, infrastructure (internet): *** (out of 5): old fashioned but ok. Internet in the lobby.

Overall rating: **** stars out of 5

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tirol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tirol

Address: Libertad 175, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 135 Hotels in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tirol 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tirol Bariloche is located in the city´s heart of San Carlos de Bariloche, just 100 meters from the main street and stands out for its unique and spectacular views over Lake Nahuel Huapi. It has private parking inside the hotel and free WI-FI throughout the building. The Hotel Tirol Bariloche is one of the first 3 star hotels in Bariloche. Since 1973, the Hotel Tirol offers accommodation to tourists of all nationalities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Tirol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tirol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.