We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Casco Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added El Casco Art Hotel to your Saves list
El Casco Art Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Bustillo Km 11,5 | Bariloche, San Carlos de Bariloche R8409ALN, Argentina   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We loved the location of this lovely boutique hotel which a is about 12km outside of Bariloche on Lake Nahuel Huapi. There is original art in the common spaces, all of the rooms and many sculptures in the garden. All of the art is for sale and if the rooms are not occupied you may tour the art in the rooms. The staff is very helpful and the restaurant is good. You will be in a very good location for sightseeing. For a great rate join"I Prefer" and book through this venue. Ask for a room that does not smell like cigarette smoke. All of the rooms on the ground floor smell very smokey because although guests are asked to smoke outside the smoke drifts back into the hotel rooms on the ground floor. I suggest floors 2 or 3 if you want a smoke free experience. The owner of the hotel has two galleries in Buenos Aires which also feature the artists that are displayed in the hotel. I would stay here again. It is a very tranquil location.

Room Tip: Book up higher in the hotel even if it means that you do not have a balcony. You will have a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    35
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
39
115
4
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

A good hotel. Beautiful views over the lake. Reaasonable room size, quiet and clean. Excellent restaurant with interesting selection and good flavours. Helpful staff who made tour arrangements very easy. Location is 12km out of town is not a disadvantage. Town not that great and hotel is on the way to the main sights. Taxis easy

There is a great steak parrilla at the 8km mark out of Bariloche. Best steak we had in Argentina. Friendly atmosphere. No booking so be there at 8pm when it opens or risk a wait later in the evening

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Like an earlier reviewer, my wife and I were assigned room #1. The room had six nude paintings, which were all quite nice! We highly recommend it for the large balcony overlooking the lake and its spacious bathroom. The lady (I can't remember her name) at the front desk was very helpful in arranging things for us to do such as a boat ride to Isla Victoria and horseback riding. Very close to the hotel is a brew pub (Berlina), which serves a fine lunch and great beer. The hotel has a small workout room and fairly shallow pool. The only downside to the hotel is their relatively limited menu at dinner with around a half dozen each of starters and main dishes. However, there are plenty of good restaurants in town, a short cab ride away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed four nights at El Casco. The property is outside of the city center at the edge of the lake and with beautiful views of the water and surrounding mountains. The hotel is a showcase for South American art, all for sale. Sculptures outside lend a fine museum ambiance. Our room,001, had a very large private balcony. Unlike the other balcony rooms (#2-5) on ground level, people could not walk in front of our space.Breakfast was excellent and not limited to the buffet.Once we realized anything could be ordered we pigged out on smoked trout and omelets. We dined one night at the restaurant and enjoyed our meals. My trout (more like arctic char) was well prepared and actually came with vegetables. My husband's roasted lamb was delicious as well. The wines are pricey but well match the food. The staff was helpful in setting up tours and providing information about the area.

Room Tip: Book a balcony room. Room 001 is terrific with private balcony, huge bath area and separate dressing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

3 nights in a lovely room waking to a perfect view.
Some very nice art work, an indoor outdoor pool facing a pretty garden leading down to the waters edge. When you return tired after a days sightseeing around this beautiful lake district then sit by the pool on very comfy deckchairs.
Our room had a lovely balcony and the toileries supplied in the large bathrrom were of a high quality.
The staff were extremely helpful too, The food in the restaurant was very nice too.

Room Tip: Lake view top avoid lower floors for a good view. Bedrooms were very hot at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

As part of a tour of South America, friends and I had a few nights at this gorgeous hotel. I must say it was a real surprise--I have stayed in some fabulous hotels around the world in my 50 years of travelling and I do feel that this is about the best. I didn't see the suites available but our rooms were large, with lovely seating area overlooking the lake. Original art works are in each room, with each of the 33 rooms named after the artist displayed. Further art works are in all public areas of the hotel, with sculptures also outside. The large public areas contains smaller groupings, ensuring great spots for conversation and reading. Others in the group raved about the outdoor jacuzzi and heating swimming pool, with juice and cups of tea served. And free use of the business center was a real bonus. The only problem that our group had was with restaurant billing. I'm not sure if the system just isn't as organized as at other hotels but wrong items kept appearing on our bills or items from one person showing up on another person's bill or some menu items not being billed for at all. It took a lot of time to get this sorted which was frustrating. Having said that, the meals were excellent in terms of variety, presentation, and service. A great place for a relaxing holiday but within easy access to walking, boat trips, etc.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the lake side--a real bonus, especially after the rooms that most of our group had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in The El Casco Art Hotel in the Soldi Suite. The suite was spacious with a separate sitting room and balcony and the most marvelous views across the lake. This is a beautiful hotel, full of art works, and one of the best experiences we have ever had in a hotel. The restaurant is wonderful for both lunch and dinner, with an excellent chef producing delicious food. The restaurant staff were just so good, Lourdes and Emmanuel at dinner, and Yolande at breakfast and lunch. Lourdes in particular could not have been more helpful; she is a gem. But all the staff in the hotel was just so good, it really made us feel at home. Always a good sign when we were sad to leave this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: The Soldi Suite is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Casco Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Casco Art Hotel

Address: Av. Bustillo Km 11,5 | Bariloche, San Carlos de Bariloche R8409ALN, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#5 Spa Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#11 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — El Casco Art Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shore of Nahuel Huapi Lake, in one of the most beautiful spots in Patagonia, in the Lake District, and just 15 minutes away from Bariloche city, and from Cerro Catedral ski resort, El Casco Art Hotel blends with the landscape with its stylish architecture, design, and refined tranquility.Intimacy, privacy and personalized service are our main goal, and each of the 33 rooms and suites have original works of art, air-conditioning, state-of-the-art plasma TVs, DVD & sound equipment, WiFi internet connection, Frette sheets (Italy), well appointed amenities, and best of all, direct vistas of the Nahuel Huapi Lake at only 40 metres away, which contributes to make your stay a total delight ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your El Casco Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Casco Art

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Casco Art Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.