We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel just out of town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Sofia Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Villa Sofia Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Sofia Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. de los Pioneros 200, San Carlos de Bariloche R8400FDG, Argentina   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel just out of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Very nice big apartment with most facilities. Heating was good and kitchen was ok. WIFI worked well in the room as well.

No toaster or electric kettle, you need to boil your water on the stove and cook toast also on the gas stove. There is a utensil to cook the toast that did the job well. Supermarket right across the road.

Used the pool at the health centre which was good for a relaxing afternoon. It has WIFI as well.

It's a 10 min walk into town but 15 back up the long hill. Didn't mind this as a good way to walk of dinner and its safe. Great restaurants not too far away.

All in all a good experience but if you like staying right in town probably not your place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    109
    35
    17
    10
See reviews for
104
124
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
TLV
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This hotel was the best hotel we have stayed in during our entire trip in ARG.
The room is just perfect, clean with comfortable bed and clean bed sheets.
The location is 10 min up hill from the noisy tourist center.
Plenty of hot water, spa and warmed pool.

The breakfast is just perfect, fresh fruits, sweets, eggs and beckon (not so obvious in Argentina)
Wifi signal is good.
Helpful staff.

Room Tip: Ask 2+ floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

The gym is very old as well as the shower facilities, swimming pool and spa were out of service. Yet we had the pay 120 pesos! Although staff is friendly, the place is not recommendable. No value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at one of the cabins, and really liked it. First, let me start by saying, that the cabins are really clean, the staff is extremely helpful and the grounds are nice.
There were other reviews complaining about the location, but we didn't mind it at all. It is important to know that the hotel is not located in downtown, but a few minutes away. We didn't mind the walk at all, and yes coming back from downtown you have to go up a hill. There is a small market right in front of the hotel where you can get everything you need, there are also other restaurants walking distance so you don't have to go to downtown everyday if you don't want to.
We loved the cabins because they have a little kitchen area fully functional with plates, silverware, pans etc.
The breakfast is served at the hotel, which is a block away from the cabins (less than 3 min walking) and it is good. The basics, but pretty good.
Lastly, we used the rental car company that the girl at the front desk recommended, and it ended up being cheaper than all the options we researched.
Great hotel, clean, good location, and great value!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Villa Sofia Resort & Spa for 3 nights in 2009, while travelling around Argentina. The hotel is nice, clean, the room and bathroom are big and confortable and it has really good facilities, such as pool, sauna, fitness etc. However, somethings must be said:

1. To acess the hotel facilities, you have to leave the hotel main bulding and go walking in the cold weather, if that´s the case. I mean, the main building and the facilities are not connected.

2. The location is not very good as it is far from downtown. We had to take a walk of about 20-30 minutes or to take a taxi to get there everytime. Also, there are no shops or other commerce around it.

2. Another thing that bothered us was the noise. The room was really noisy because it was close to the street.

3. Last, someone stole a perfum from our bathroom. We left the bathroom window open and someone took our perfum. We can´t say whether it was another host or an hotel employee, but the fact is that no one at the hotel did something to compensate our loss. So, be carefull.

To sum up, I believe there are better places to stay in Bariloche!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOFIT
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

The hotel lobby was plush and welcoming and the staff was ok. The desk clerks and breakfast lady were attentive and friendly. The gardens and play area seemed ok for families. There was good internet access and local phone service. the bedding was nicely colored and the wood in the room was cozy. The food options were fine for breakfast. The restauarant was good,

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We stayed with 4 adults in a 6-bed apartment of the Cabanas Villa Sofia.

To reach the apartment a steep outside staircase had to be climbed with heavy luggage.
Although the apartment was quite spacious, the furnishement was pretty run down.
During our 2 nights stay we experienced a gas leakage and an electricity shortcut.
Lightning was pretty poor.

The bed in the "master bedroom" should be for 2 adults, but in reality was pretty shallow.

Location is OK if you have a car. Walking from down town is pretty cumbersome, as there is a steep hill to be climbed.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Sofia Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sofia Resort & Spa

Address: Av. de los Pioneros 200, San Carlos de Bariloche R8400FDG, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#31 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#31 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Sofia Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Invites you to enjoy a unique experience: exclusive apartments very close to the city center, in harmony with the beauty of nature. The ideal complement to the most emblematic place of Patagonia, where you will admire the marvells of the four colourful seasons. 2 hectares of green space. Fully equipped apartments with hotel service. Swimming-pool, Gym & Spa. City and nature together ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Villa Sofia Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sofia Hotel San Carlos De Bariloche
Villa Sofia Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Sofia Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.