We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warn out and very over priced!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Sofia Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Villa Sofia Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Sofia Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. de los Pioneros 200, San Carlos de Bariloche R8400FDG, Argentina   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Warn out and very over priced!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

The gym is very old as well as the shower facilities, swimming pool and spa were out of service. Yet we had the pay 120 pesos! Although staff is friendly, the place is not recommendable. No value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    106
    35
    17
    10
See reviews for
102
122
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at one of the cabins, and really liked it. First, let me start by saying, that the cabins are really clean, the staff is extremely helpful and the grounds are nice.
There were other reviews complaining about the location, but we didn't mind it at all. It is important to know that the hotel is not located in downtown, but a few minutes away. We didn't mind the walk at all, and yes coming back from downtown you have to go up a hill. There is a small market right in front of the hotel where you can get everything you need, there are also other restaurants walking distance so you don't have to go to downtown everyday if you don't want to.
We loved the cabins because they have a little kitchen area fully functional with plates, silverware, pans etc.
The breakfast is served at the hotel, which is a block away from the cabins (less than 3 min walking) and it is good. The basics, but pretty good.
Lastly, we used the rental car company that the girl at the front desk recommended, and it ended up being cheaper than all the options we researched.
Great hotel, clean, good location, and great value!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Villa Sofia Resort & Spa for 3 nights in 2009, while travelling around Argentina. The hotel is nice, clean, the room and bathroom are big and confortable and it has really good facilities, such as pool, sauna, fitness etc. However, somethings must be said:

1. To acess the hotel facilities, you have to leave the hotel main bulding and go walking in the cold weather, if that´s the case. I mean, the main building and the facilities are not connected.

2. The location is not very good as it is far from downtown. We had to take a walk of about 20-30 minutes or to take a taxi to get there everytime. Also, there are no shops or other commerce around it.

2. Another thing that bothered us was the noise. The room was really noisy because it was close to the street.

3. Last, someone stole a perfum from our bathroom. We left the bathroom window open and someone took our perfum. We can´t say whether it was another host or an hotel employee, but the fact is that no one at the hotel did something to compensate our loss. So, be carefull.

To sum up, I believe there are better places to stay in Bariloche!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOFIT
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

The hotel lobby was plush and welcoming and the staff was ok. The desk clerks and breakfast lady were attentive and friendly. The gardens and play area seemed ok for families. There was good internet access and local phone service. the bedding was nicely colored and the wood in the room was cozy. The food options were fine for breakfast. The restauarant was good,

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We stayed with 4 adults in a 6-bed apartment of the Cabanas Villa Sofia.

To reach the apartment a steep outside staircase had to be climbed with heavy luggage.
Although the apartment was quite spacious, the furnishement was pretty run down.
During our 2 nights stay we experienced a gas leakage and an electricity shortcut.
Lightning was pretty poor.

The bed in the "master bedroom" should be for 2 adults, but in reality was pretty shallow.

Location is OK if you have a car. Walking from down town is pretty cumbersome, as there is a steep hill to be climbed.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

I've been to this hotel for 1 night, to take the bus to Esquel next morning, in a 2 bedrooms apartment. Stayed there with my wife and 2 kids. The apartment itself is big and confortable enough, but has a poor furniture for a self called 4 stars. The reception is beautyfull and the hotel has a spa that I did not used. The construction is clearly not made for winter, the doors and windows have small gaps that let the cold in, and the heaters (gas ones with actual fire) do not take care of the job. Beware, The heating system is dangerous, when the fire is out it continuos emiting gas.
What has bodered me the most was the dirt state of the room. There was so much dirt that, after we took off our shoes, the socks we used inside the room (there floor was not heated and was cold) in 3 minutes were black, real black. When i walked bare foot to the bed, I had to clean my foot with a towel before entering it.
Problems happens, i traveled a lot to know. What differs a good hotel from a bad one is the capacity to solve the problems and let their guest satisfect.
When i called the staff about the dirt, the answer i got was that all the dirt was caused by abundant vulcanic ash in the region, that the room was cleaned in the morning. No cleaning staff never appeared, despite multiple complains. Ok blame the vulcan for the dirt, but how to explain the hair in the tube? and the inaction? it was the vulcan fault again?
The only reason i did not looked for another hotel was the lack of time.
This is the kind of experience that reminds me that the number of stars has not to do with confort, people do.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, CA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011 via mobile

Villa Sofia was our favorite place we stayed during 3 weeks in Argentina. Even though we had their lowest priced room, everything was still perfect. The room, one of their "attic" rooms, was spotless and charming. The bathroom was modern and had great hot water and good water pressure. The bed linens were super soft and cozy. They have a nice spa with a workout room, fitness classes Mon-Sat, a huge pool and 2 hot tubs. Breakfast is a very generous buffet with a variety of pastries, bread, yogurt, cold cuts, fresh fruit, eggs and beverages.

One bonus surprise is that both evenings we were there, they had free events in the lobby: tango night with free wine, where we got to see locals of all ages dance and mingle, and opera night with a live concert.

The staff were very helpful and spoke some English, which wasn't the case at many places in Bariloche. Wi-fi worked well throughout the hotel and there are 2 free computers to use as well. We would definitly stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Sofia Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sofia Resort & Spa

Address: Av. de los Pioneros 200, San Carlos de Bariloche R8400FDG, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Sofia Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Invites you to enjoy a unique experience: exclusive apartments very close to the city center, in harmony with the beauty of nature. The ideal complement to the most emblematic place of Patagonia, where you will admire the marvells of the four colourful seasons. 2 hectares of green space. Fully equipped apartments with hotel service. Swimming-pool, Gym & Spa. City and nature together ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Villa Sofia Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sofia Hotel San Carlos De Bariloche
Villa Sofia Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Sofia Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.