We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful with your stuff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Sofia Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Villa Sofia Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Sofia Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. de los Pioneros 200, San Carlos de Bariloche R8400FDG, Argentina   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Rio de Janeiro
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Be careful with your stuff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Villa Sofia Resort & Spa for 3 nights in 2009, while travelling around Argentina. The hotel is nice, clean, the room and bathroom are big and confortable and it has really good facilities, such as pool, sauna, fitness etc. However, somethings must be said:

1. To acess the hotel facilities, you have to leave the hotel main bulding and go walking in the cold weather, if that´s the case. I mean, the main building and the facilities are not connected.

2. The location is not very good as it is far from downtown. We had to take a walk of about 20-30 minutes or to take a taxi to get there everytime. Also, there are no shops or other commerce around it.

2. Another thing that bothered us was the noise. The room was really noisy because it was close to the street.

3. Last, someone stole a perfum from our bathroom. We left the bathroom window open and someone took our perfum. We can´t say whether it was another host or an hotel employee, but the fact is that no one at the hotel did something to compensate our loss. So, be carefull.

To sum up, I believe there are better places to stay in Bariloche!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    115
    36
    17
    10
See reviews for
109
127
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NOFIT
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

The hotel lobby was plush and welcoming and the staff was ok. The desk clerks and breakfast lady were attentive and friendly. The gardens and play area seemed ok for families. There was good internet access and local phone service. the bedding was nicely colored and the wood in the room was cozy. The food options were fine for breakfast. The restauarant was good,

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We stayed with 4 adults in a 6-bed apartment of the Cabanas Villa Sofia.

To reach the apartment a steep outside staircase had to be climbed with heavy luggage.
Although the apartment was quite spacious, the furnishement was pretty run down.
During our 2 nights stay we experienced a gas leakage and an electricity shortcut.
Lightning was pretty poor.

The bed in the "master bedroom" should be for 2 adults, but in reality was pretty shallow.

Location is OK if you have a car. Walking from down town is pretty cumbersome, as there is a steep hill to be climbed.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

I've been to this hotel for 1 night, to take the bus to Esquel next morning, in a 2 bedrooms apartment. Stayed there with my wife and 2 kids. The apartment itself is big and confortable enough, but has a poor furniture for a self called 4 stars. The reception is beautyfull and the hotel has a spa that I did not used. The construction is clearly not made for winter, the doors and windows have small gaps that let the cold in, and the heaters (gas ones with actual fire) do not take care of the job. Beware, The heating system is dangerous, when the fire is out it continuos emiting gas.
What has bodered me the most was the dirt state of the room. There was so much dirt that, after we took off our shoes, the socks we used inside the room (there floor was not heated and was cold) in 3 minutes were black, real black. When i walked bare foot to the bed, I had to clean my foot with a towel before entering it.
Problems happens, i traveled a lot to know. What differs a good hotel from a bad one is the capacity to solve the problems and let their guest satisfect.
When i called the staff about the dirt, the answer i got was that all the dirt was caused by abundant vulcanic ash in the region, that the room was cleaned in the morning. No cleaning staff never appeared, despite multiple complains. Ok blame the vulcan for the dirt, but how to explain the hair in the tube? and the inaction? it was the vulcan fault again?
The only reason i did not looked for another hotel was the lack of time.
This is the kind of experience that reminds me that the number of stars has not to do with confort, people do.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, CA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011 via mobile

Villa Sofia was our favorite place we stayed during 3 weeks in Argentina. Even though we had their lowest priced room, everything was still perfect. The room, one of their "attic" rooms, was spotless and charming. The bathroom was modern and had great hot water and good water pressure. The bed linens were super soft and cozy. They have a nice spa with a workout room, fitness classes Mon-Sat, a huge pool and 2 hot tubs. Breakfast is a very generous buffet with a variety of pastries, bread, yogurt, cold cuts, fresh fruit, eggs and beverages.

One bonus surprise is that both evenings we were there, they had free events in the lobby: tango night with free wine, where we got to see locals of all ages dance and mingle, and opera night with a live concert.

The staff were very helpful and spoke some English, which wasn't the case at many places in Bariloche. Wi-fi worked well throughout the hotel and there are 2 free computers to use as well. We would definitly stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

We did some research on TA and went for this hotel. It is very good value for money as it includes both gym, pool, classes access, as well as breakfast. The roms are a good size and the staff extremely helpful and responsive. The restaurant is also extemely good value for money with excllent food and staff. Issues at check out were resolved quickly and with good grace. The only potential down side is that the attic rooms have the humming of the waterpipes and the road outside can be a little bit noisy during the day. All else is excellent.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin County, CA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

The Good - Beautiful, newish building with nice well-appointed rooms, good beds and pillows. Lovely grounds with a nice gym and indoor pool. The hotel offers good off season rates on their website. And they have some very nice house cats and a dog.

Location - From the main street of town it is a 20 minute walk on varied and disrupted pavement up a San Franciscoish hill. Alternatively, the local bus, which is generally crowded, is 3 pesos. (about US$0.75). A taxi is 8 pesos (about US$2.)

Noise - The architect and designer should be made to sleep here. They used double pane windows where they should have used triple panes. When I woke up at 6:30 and pulled out my ear plugs, it was clear to me that I couldn't have stayed without ear plugs.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Sofia Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sofia Resort & Spa

Address: Av. de los Pioneros 200, San Carlos de Bariloche R8400FDG, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#31 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Sofia Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Invites you to enjoy a unique experience: exclusive apartments very close to the city center, in harmony with the beauty of nature. The ideal complement to the most emblematic place of Patagonia, where you will admire the marvells of the four colourful seasons. 2 hectares of green space. Fully equipped apartments with hotel service. Swimming-pool, Gym & Spa. City and nature together ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Villa Sofia Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sofia Hotel San Carlos De Bariloche
Villa Sofia Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Sofia Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.