We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE HOTEL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Villa Sofia Apart Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Villa Sofia Apart Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Villa Sofia Apart Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. de los Pioneros 200, San Carlos de Bariloche R8400FDG, Argentina   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
NOFIT
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“NICE HOTEL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

The hotel lobby was plush and welcoming and the staff was ok. The desk clerks and breakfast lady were attentive and friendly. The gardens and play area seemed ok for families. There was good internet access and local phone service. the bedding was nicely colored and the wood in the room was cozy. The food options were fine for breakfast. The restauarant was good,

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    134
    40
    20
    12
See reviews for
120
145
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We stayed with 4 adults in a 6-bed apartment of the Cabanas Villa Sofia.

To reach the apartment a steep outside staircase had to be climbed with heavy luggage.
Although the apartment was quite spacious, the furnishement was pretty run down.
During our 2 nights stay we experienced a gas leakage and an electricity shortcut.
Lightning was pretty poor.

The bed in the "master bedroom" should be for 2 adults, but in reality was pretty shallow.

Location is OK if you have a car. Walking from down town is pretty cumbersome, as there is a steep hill to be climbed.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

I've been to this hotel for 1 night, to take the bus to Esquel next morning, in a 2 bedrooms apartment. Stayed there with my wife and 2 kids. The apartment itself is big and confortable enough, but has a poor furniture for a self called 4 stars. The reception is beautyfull and the hotel has a spa that I did not used. The construction is clearly not made for winter, the doors and windows have small gaps that let the cold in, and the heaters (gas ones with actual fire) do not take care of the job. Beware, The heating system is dangerous, when the fire is out it continuos emiting gas.
What has bodered me the most was the dirt state of the room. There was so much dirt that, after we took off our shoes, the socks we used inside the room (there floor was not heated and was cold) in 3 minutes were black, real black. When i walked bare foot to the bed, I had to clean my foot with a towel before entering it.
Problems happens, i traveled a lot to know. What differs a good hotel from a bad one is the capacity to solve the problems and let their guest satisfect.
When i called the staff about the dirt, the answer i got was that all the dirt was caused by abundant vulcanic ash in the region, that the room was cleaned in the morning. No cleaning staff never appeared, despite multiple complains. Ok blame the vulcan for the dirt, but how to explain the hair in the tube? and the inaction? it was the vulcan fault again?
The only reason i did not looked for another hotel was the lack of time.
This is the kind of experience that reminds me that the number of stars has not to do with confort, people do.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, CA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011 via mobile

Villa Sofia was our favorite place we stayed during 3 weeks in Argentina. Even though we had their lowest priced room, everything was still perfect. The room, one of their "attic" rooms, was spotless and charming. The bathroom was modern and had great hot water and good water pressure. The bed linens were super soft and cozy. They have a nice spa with a workout room, fitness classes Mon-Sat, a huge pool and 2 hot tubs. Breakfast is a very generous buffet with a variety of pastries, bread, yogurt, cold cuts, fresh fruit, eggs and beverages.

One bonus surprise is that both evenings we were there, they had free events in the lobby: tango night with free wine, where we got to see locals of all ages dance and mingle, and opera night with a live concert.

The staff were very helpful and spoke some English, which wasn't the case at many places in Bariloche. Wi-fi worked well throughout the hotel and there are 2 free computers to use as well. We would definitly stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

We did some research on TA and went for this hotel. It is very good value for money as it includes both gym, pool, classes access, as well as breakfast. The roms are a good size and the staff extremely helpful and responsive. The restaurant is also extemely good value for money with excllent food and staff. Issues at check out were resolved quickly and with good grace. The only potential down side is that the attic rooms have the humming of the waterpipes and the road outside can be a little bit noisy during the day. All else is excellent.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin County, CA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

The Good - Beautiful, newish building with nice well-appointed rooms, good beds and pillows. Lovely grounds with a nice gym and indoor pool. The hotel offers good off season rates on their website. And they have some very nice house cats and a dog.

Location - From the main street of town it is a 20 minute walk on varied and disrupted pavement up a San Franciscoish hill. Alternatively, the local bus, which is generally crowded, is 3 pesos. (about US$0.75). A taxi is 8 pesos (about US$2.)

Noise - The architect and designer should be made to sleep here. They used double pane windows where they should have used triple panes. When I woke up at 6:30 and pulled out my ear plugs, it was clear to me that I couldn't have stayed without ear plugs.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

If you like to be away from the noisy Centro Civico then go for this hotel. It's 10-20 minute's walk from the center (depending on you go uphills or downhills). It's a little bit physically demanding but fine for us. We stayed in the hotel and I will not call it a "resort". Room is very small and a little bit outdated. Restaurant "Canela" is very good though. Gym is much better than many 4 or 5 star hotel. You can even do the bench press (not on Smith machine)! (the weight is not enough though). They also have a very small and shallow swimming pool, if you swim freestyle your arm will consistently hit the bottom. It seems like they have some aerobic courses but we didn't give a try. The highlight is the backyard which you should not miss. Other than that, there are not too many good things can be said. But I still give it 4 stars because now I am writing the review in a even worse hotel!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Villa Sofia Apart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Villa Sofia Apart Hotel

Address: Av. de los Pioneros 200, San Carlos de Bariloche R8400FDG, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#32 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Villa Sofia Apart Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Invites you to enjoy a unique experience: exclusive apartments very close to the city center, in harmony with the beauty of nature. The ideal complement to the most emblematic place of Patagonia, where you will admire the marvells of the four colourful seasons. 2 hectares of green space. Fully equipped apartments with hotel service. Swimming-pool, Gym & Spa. City and nature together ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Villa Sofia Apart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sofia Resort And Spa
Villa Sofia Hotel San Carlos De Bariloche

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Villa Sofia Apart Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.