We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy ski hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sol del Nahuel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sol del Nahuel to your Saves list
Sol del Nahuel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Bustillo Km 5,400, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Cosy ski hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We chose this hotel based on the ratings on here and were not disappointed. Service from the moment of enquiry was friendly.
Rooms are comfortable with king size beds and well appointed furniture. We had a good view over the lake and mountains when the snow lifted. I was a little surprised that there were no tea or coffee facilities in the room.
The spa and pool were a great help at the end of a day skiing - even at zero degrees it was nice to be able to swim outside and watch the sunset. It would have been better it staff could have warmed
up the sauna during the day as every time I went to use it, the sauna was off and just took far too long to reach the proper temperature.
Breakfast was okay - I have to admit we struggled with the focus on sweet pastries and would have liked to have seen more yoghurts and cereals, but it was fine and filled us up for skiing.
Location wise, km 5.4 from town was great as we didn't get a good impression of the centre of Bariloche. There are a number of good parillas and other restaurants within walking or short driving distance. It took us 15 minutes to get to Cerro Catedral for some awesome skiing and the Circuito Chico and Llao Llao are just a short drive away, as is the airport.

Whilst there is a hotel restaurant, we found it to be a bit pricey so only ate there on our first night during a snow storm.

Room Tip: Worth paying a small piece extra for lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    39
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
30
71
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

I can back after 2 year and the hotel is excelent, the personel is so friendly and the installation is keep in good shape.
My congratulation to all the staff of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The hague
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

A nice hotel with a view of the lake, but dead when we were there, the elevator was not certified and would not pass. Location is good when you have a car, 5.4 km from town and nothing else nearby.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

Sol del Nahuel is the type of place that you hear about from Trip Advisor (rated below the top 10) and you hope it stays that way so it does not get too popular. I travel for work so am in hotels most nights of the year. This hotel is just a delight in so many ways. The rooms are well thought out and very clean. The staff genuinely friendly & helpful - not in the "corporate friendly & helpful": way. The indoor/outdoor pool with hot tub is so worth visiting. There are no words to describe the special view of the Andes from the edge of an infinity pool. The mini-spa experience added 10 years to my life. The restaurant served just plain good food. Forget the menu, just ask for the specials. I do recommend renting a car if you plan to stay here as it is a few minutes outside of town, but frankly, if you want to relax after hiking or just relax, this is the place to go. Each room has a view to die for. There is nothing I would change and I can't wait to get back!

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view. You cannot go wron.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

For about a hundred dollar/night you get an amazing view ( from all the rooms!) , an indoor/outdoor heated pool , jacuzzi and a very friendly and helpful staff. That's the best value in Bariloche.
Will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

Beautiful views of the lake but you will probably need a car to stay here for convenience. The hotel is clean and well taken care of and the hotel staff is friendly and helpful. They even helped us figure out what buses are available from Mendoza to Santiago. The hotel has a heated pool and saunas, but we didn't get a chance to use them.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarylinB
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

Very comfortable hotel, the rooms, restaurant, spa and pool area have a view to the lake which is unbelievable beautiful. They helped us with all kind of activities: getting a private ski teacher, dinner in the mountain, trekking, kayac, they got all the taxis, basically they took care of everything since I made the reservations. Friendly staff. Rooms could be a little more better equipped, but it's ok. Nice breakfast. Great pool area, you can reack the lake cause it is a few meters away and take great pictures.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol del Nahuel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol del Nahuel

Address: Av. Bustillo Km 5,400, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#17 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol del Nahuel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sol del Nahuel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Del Nahuel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol del Nahuel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.