We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel facing the lake” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Huinid Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Villa Huinid Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Huinid Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Av Bustillo 2600 | Bariloche, San Carlos de Bariloche R8402-AAY, Argentina   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Hillsborough, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel facing the lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed at Villa Huinid for 2 nights. We requested a lakeview room that could fit 3 adults. The room was clean with a nice view. The hotel is on a hill. The garden surrounding the hotel is beautiful.

The hotel is not at close proximity to town. A taxi is needed to go to town for dinner. The front desk staff can call for a prix fixed taxi company for Arg$30 to go to town.

The breakfast was good with a lot of selections, with just regular coffee. The front desk staff is very nice, helpful and fluent in English. Excursions could be arranged and paid at the hotel front desk by credit card. That is a very convenient service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    165
    27
    7
    7
See reviews for
178
234
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

While the setting is beautiful and the potential exists, the hotel falls short. First the good: Our room was fine, the bathroom is nice and the hotel is spotless, the service is excellent -- couldn't be more thorough and friendly. We even ate in the hotel restaurant one night and were pleasantly surprised, not gourmet, but certainly very good. Now the not so good: A hotel in such a beautiful setting should have countless places to just "hangout" and enjoy the scenery and setting. Huinid had neither. Miserable benches in the beautiful garden were best for a few minutes of sitting. Though there was a deck, it was sparsely furnished and there were only a few umbrellas (set out only one day out of 4) to shield one from the southern sun. Food service on the deck nominally existed, but good luck getting it. The lobby of the hotel had a miserable couch and two chairs, the bar was small though a bit more comfortable. For a hotel that could easily accommodate a few hundred guests, it seems that sitting areas outside of rooms would be nice. The pool area was fine and actually had some nice loungers -- but when the weather is 75 degrees outside, who wants to sit in a chlorine soaked environment with foggy windows looking out at one of the most beautiful lakes in the world?

Room Tip: While the lake facing rooms have great views they also face the sun and get quite hot. No air condi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

If you get a room with lake view (higher price) that will make up for a few shortcomings. Overall the hotel is very nice, with helpful staff at the front desk. I had expected the 2.5 kilometer distance from Bariloche's downtown Centro Civico to be a pretty lakeside walk, but turned out to be a narrow, dusty side of a very busy narrow road, no landscaping and not many lake views until in town. I tried one afternoon to walk the road but the constant heavy traffic meant it was not enjoyable, so paid for a taxi. As other guests have said, the buffet breakfasts each morning were excellent. My bright, spacious room for 3 nights was on the top floor facing the "forest", which is more of a hillside landscaped with roses and trees. The king bed was confortable, the pillows were standard foam pillows that are too firm. The bathroom sink countertop is somewhat small but there's plenty of cabinet space underneath for storage. Bring your own washcloth if you want one. A nice touch was the 110V outlet in the bathroom provided for guests from North America. The road uphill to the hotel lobby is steep and dusty and would not be appropriate for guests who have difficulty walking. There is a separate pathway also uphill to the lobby that passes through nice landscaping with roses and trees around the hotel casitas. My room was quiet, as requested. The bedside reading lights are extremely dim; the brighter desk lamp is much better for reading. The hotel was in a quiet area, but uphill above the Villa Huinid is another hotel under construction; hopefully it will not affect traffic or noise at the current property. The afternoon bar area is comfortable, with excellent service, and a good place to meet other guests.

Room Tip: Lake view room is best; rooms farther away from wooden stairs between floors will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had a wonderful experience here. The hotel was very clean, with pleasing neutral decor, all amenities that you can want (spa, elaborate breakfasts which made us skip lunches altogether, bar, pool, great views of the surrounding countryside from the lobby and from several of the rooms) but what was most memorable for us were the front desk staff who went completely out of their way and took care of every last detail for us, from rescuing us from not having enough pesos for our cab ride from the airport, to organizing an automatic rental car for us (there were no automatics available at the airport but Pablo was able to find us one!), horse back riding, paragliding, and even dinners at restaurants that would appeal to our tastes. They never gave us vague responses but made sure that we had little to do besides show up! Thanks especially to Pablo, Damian, and the bartender (I've forgotten the name!)!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed one night on our way out of Bariloche and wish we had stayed here longer. It is a beautiful hotel with exceptionally comfortable rooms. It sits on a slight hill, across the street from the lake. Breakfast options are quite good. The hotel is on the edge of Bariloche.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Varas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel met all of our expectations. My wife and I stayed in one of the cabanas separated from the main hotel structure. The view was awesome, the yard area was beautiful and the service was top notch. The food was comparable to the good restaurants in the region. The prices were reasonable and overall our impression was very, very good. We went to Puerto Varas in Chile after a few days in Bariloche and the hotel there paled in comparison, even though it was one of the top ranked in that city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Our tour group stayed 3 nights at Villa Huinid, and we had a king lake-view room. The appointments were very nice, everything about the room was good -- fridge, double sinks in the bathroom, Jacuzzi tub (which we didn't use). There were only 2 english tv channels, but that was okay. The breakfast included with the room was the best on the trip so far -- good fresh fruit, but limited hot selections. We had dinner one night there, and split a salad and steak -- plenty for 2 people. People were friendly and helpful and quite competent in English (unlike my spanish). The only disadvantage is that the hotel is about 1.5 miles from the downtown -- about a $6 cab ride or 30+ minute walk on a very busy road.

Room Tip: There is no a/c. On the hot days we were there, it seemed like the best breeze came from the back, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Huinid Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Huinid Resort & Spa

Address: Av Bustillo 2600 | Bariloche, San Carlos de Bariloche R8402-AAY, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#7 Spa Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#8 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#16 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Huinid Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
70 rooms & 21 cabin ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Villa Huinid Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Huinid Hotel San Carlos De Bariloche
Villa Huinid Resort And Spa
Hotel Huinid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Huinid Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.