We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A day at the beautiful spa!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aldebaran Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Aldebaran Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aldebaran Hotel & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Bustillo Km 20,400 | Península de San Pedro, San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“A day at the beautiful spa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My husband and I were actually only visitors here at Aldebaran. We were staying in a house close by but wanted to have a day at the spa and some massages. It was so sooo wonderfully relaxing in the spa by ourselves, ordering cakes and tea and both having excellent massages! We used the jacuzzi, sauna, scottish shower, heated pool and other beautiful amenties. The surrounding view is incredible and the prices were very reasonable! We could stay until 9pm using the spa and then we had a gorgeous dinner in the private restaurant. We felt very welcomed considering we weren't even staying at the hotel!

I highly reccomend coming here if you are hunting a beautiful spa and welcoming happy service. The hotel is AMAZING! The beautiful scenery and building and decor!
We were in luxury!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    145
    15
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
39
88
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Scenery - Set some distance outside the main town of Bariloche, this hotel is perfect for a quiet, luxurious base to enjoy the Patagonia outdoors. A beautiful location, nestled amongst the trees, overlooking the lake, it is one of the most picturesque boutique hotels I have stayed in.

Staff - The staff struck a perfect balance between attending to every and any need in a friendly but not overfamiliar manner. Nothing was too difficult for them to organise, providing advice on tour operators, trips and taking all effort of thought out of our hands in order for us, the guest, to sit back and enjoy the experience. They quickly established my complete faith in them and without doubt are an important element in making this hotel the most fantastic place to relax, and experience the Patagonia area.

Spa - Sauna, pool, jacuzzi, steam room. Quiet, intimate and great at the end of the day.

Restaurant - The menu was brilliant. It offered choice, but not overly and confusingly so and everything was cooked perfectly. The restaurant on its own was fantastic.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the Nahuel Huapi Lake. Framed by tall trees with a backdrop of snow crested mou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldenburg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Yes, you need a car to get there - but it´s better anyway to explore the wonderful nature around Bariloche by car. Aldebaran is located on a peninsula, about 30 minutes drive from the busy town. It´s a quiet place, forest and some private homes around, very close to the lake (a small path is leading down to the beach).
Our room was excellent and we enjoyed to stay in an intimate ambience for 3 nights.
The service was very good, the restaurant is just excellent.
Travelling in the south of Argentina and Chile the Aldebaran was one of the best hotels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed in one of the suites (top floor - for amazing view) for four nights. It was a proper suite - as in the living area was one room and the bedroom another. This is a nice change, as it seems many of the "suites" we tend to book are one room. There was also a walk-in closet! And heated floors! The service was excellent. Breakfasts were good. We mostly ate out - eat in town at Alto el Fuego. Had one of the best massages in a long time (by Malena) at a very reasonable rate. Do note - while Aldebaran bills itself as a spa, you need to pay the masseuse directly.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The personal attention at this hotel is the best I've ever experienced. The room was beautiful with a gorgeous lake view. The public rooms were interesting. The food in the dining room was excellent although the menu was limited. I would give the Aldebaran 5 stars except for location. The Aldebaran is located on a dirt road a couple of miles from the main road, which is still not a central location. You need a private car or you will be stuck. Cabs are possible and the staff offered drives. I still felt isolated. Very, very friendly, helpful staff.

Room Tip: The higher the better for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I highly recommend the Aldebaran Hotel and Spa if you are traveling to Patagonia. It is a little tricky to find the first time but well worth it. The rooms are large and very comfortable with spectacular views of the lake and mountains. The service is excellent. Manuela and Jose were very helpful and gave us good recommendations on activities in the area. Wonderful healthy food served in a beautiful room overlooking the lake. You do need a car as the hotel and activities are 15 - 20 minutes from Bariloche.

Room Tip: Room 4 has wonderful lake views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed in Bariloche as part of my honeymoon in March 13. From the get go the staff were as helpful as we could have wanted. Our room had fantastic views, the food and breakfast was great and the spa was a welcome retreat after a day cycling or walking around Bariloche. José and Manuela from the front desk are true professionals who made our stay a perfect one.

Room Tip: Room 10 - lots of space if staying for a long stay with fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aldebaran Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldebaran Hotel & Spa

Address: Av Bustillo Km 20,400 | Península de San Pedro, San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#9 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aldebaran Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Aldebaran Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldebaran Hotel San Carlos De Bariloche
Aldebaran Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aldebaran Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.