We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cerro Tronador

Cerro Tronador
Argentina, San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Type: Hiking Trails, Volcanos, Mountains
Attraction Details
Cordoba, Argentina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Gorgeous place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Take a hike, make contact with the nature. Cerro Tronador and El Ventisquero Negro will take your breath. You'll be amazed.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    754
    251
    57
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“One of the prettiest drives we've ever done.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We drove up here in May when the trees had fall colors. Beautiful drive! The road is dirt and has quite a few potholes, but the views of the lake and the forest more than make up for it. While we were near the top viewing the clavier, a big piece broke off. We didn't see the piece, but you could hear the sound echoing through the mountains like thunder. Fantastic!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Waterfalls were our favorite part”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I came here on a day trip from San Carlos de Bariloche. It's a very very long and very very bumpy road to get to. Our nerves were shattered by the end of the day. But it was a great experience. It's not hard to find once you make the turn by Lago Mascardi. It's really only one road most of the way with one or two splits. It's slow going, but the scenery is beautiful. Turquoise blue lakes, and high mountains with snow on top. One of my favorite views was of Tronador from a stopping point on the road long before you ever get close. We were lucky that the sun came out for a bit and gave us a clear view across the valley at the glaciers sitting on top of the mountain. We stopped to get a fresh loaf of bread and homemade raspberry jam at a campsite shop along the road to snack on. After we finally made it to the foot of the mountain, we got to see the black glacier. It's basically a dirty glacier that slid off the mountain. Very cool, but you can't get up close to it. Our favorite part was driving all the way to the end of the road and hiking the last bit to stand at the bottom of the waterfalls. It was gorgeous. You're partially surrounded by tall, narrow, thundering waterfalls. The little cafe at the start of the hiking trail where you park your cars had some delicious hot chocolate. I would definitely recommend this if you're in Bariloche looking for a day trip.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I love the tour, the glacier and Cerro Tronador. The place is beautiful. The tour guide was a bore, though.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“It was worth the trip to see Tronador, not to be missed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

It's my first time seeing the glaciers and it shocked me to see the effects of global warming. I thought we would go nearer it but till where we were was fun enough. It's an all day tour but not a tiring one and all the stops for pictures have beautiful sites. I had already done Isla Victoria and Circuito Chico in the past and because of the reviews in this website I chose Tronador and sure enough, it's not to be missed!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cerro Tronador also viewed

San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 

Been to Cerro Tronador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cerro Tronador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cerro Tronador to your Saves list