We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the prettiest drives we've ever done.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cerro Tronador

Cerro Tronador
Argentina, San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina
Improve this listing
Visit Cerro Tronador like an insider
Special Offer
$90*
and up
Cerro Tronador Day Trip from Bariloche
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“One of the prettiest drives we've ever done.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We drove up here in May when the trees had fall colors. Beautiful drive! The road is dirt and has quite a few potholes, but the views of the lake and the forest more than make up for it. While we were near the top viewing the clavier, a big piece broke off. We didn't see the piece, but you could hear the sound echoing through the mountains like thunder. Fantastic!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,843 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,266
    452
    101
    17
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Waterfalls were our favorite part”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I came here on a day trip from San Carlos de Bariloche. It's a very very long and very very bumpy road to get to. Our nerves were shattered by the end of the day. But it was a great experience. It's not hard to find once you make the turn by Lago Mascardi. It's really only one road most of the way with one or two splits. It's slow going, but the scenery is beautiful. Turquoise blue lakes, and high mountains with snow on top. One of my favorite views was of Tronador from a stopping point on the road long before you ever get close. We were lucky that the sun came out for a bit and gave us a clear view across the valley at the glaciers sitting on top of the mountain. We stopped to get a fresh loaf of bread and homemade raspberry jam at a campsite shop along the road to snack on. After we finally made it to the foot of the mountain, we got to see the black glacier. It's basically a dirty glacier that slid off the mountain. Very cool, but you can't get up close to it. Our favorite part was driving all the way to the end of the road and hiking the last bit to stand at the bottom of the waterfalls. It was gorgeous. You're partially surrounded by tall, narrow, thundering waterfalls. The little cafe at the start of the hiking trail where you park your cars had some delicious hot chocolate. I would definitely recommend this if you're in Bariloche looking for a day trip.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I love the tour, the glacier and Cerro Tronador. The place is beautiful. The tour guide was a bore, though.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“It was worth the trip to see Tronador, not to be missed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

It's my first time seeing the glaciers and it shocked me to see the effects of global warming. I thought we would go nearer it but till where we were was fun enough. It's an all day tour but not a tiring one and all the stops for pictures have beautiful sites. I had already done Isla Victoria and Circuito Chico in the past and because of the reviews in this website I chose Tronador and sure enough, it's not to be missed!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Well worth the drive up the ripio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We were staying in the Bariloche area, so it seemed an obvious trip to visit Tronador, which is not a great distance away. However, much of the road is an unpaved ripio, which made it seem further! Initially we were lulled into a false sense of security as Route 40 south from Bariloche to Villa Mascardi proved to be a very good road, quite wide and with a lovely smooth surface. However, as soon as we turned off onto Route 81, we were greeted with our first experience of a ripio, which was unpaved, and whilst generally quite flat, there were loose rocks in places on the surface and occasional unexpected bumps. We soon found out why most of the local rental cars were anything but free of dents and scrapes! Also, two things to bear in mind - almost immediately after joining Route 81, you enter the National Park, with a fee of (I think) 100 pesos per person payable, and there is a system of one-way traffic on Routes 81 and 82 - in our case this meant we could only go into the park up to 2pm, and only come out after 4pm. Apart from lots of dust, there was not a lot to see for the first few kilometres, but once we got good views of Lago Mascardi, things improved dramatically. There is a viewpoint about halfway up the western edge of the lake, and this is well worth a stop for the stunning views especially if the sun is on the lake which then has a magnificent turquoise colour. From there on, the views of Cerro Tronador begin to appear with increasing frequency provided it is free of clouds - its snow capped peak is really splendid. After Pampa Linda (where there is a cafe/restaurant, whose service is not the quickest, but who cares with the views available), the road, which now appears to be slightly less rough, climbs up to a dead-end from which you can climb up to waterfalls, and further if you have sufficient time. Near the end of the road, there is also a glacier to which you can walk, but it appeared to be disappointingly dirty, being largely muddy brown. Altogether, it makes a great day out, but do not go with an empty fuel tank as there is nowhere to refuel after you leave the main road.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cerro Tronador also viewed

San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 

Been to Cerro Tronador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cerro Tronador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.