We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cerro Campanario

Cerro Campanario
Nahuel Huapi National Park, San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina
Improve this listing
Type: Mountains, Lookouts, Observation Decks/ Towers, Scenic Drives, Tours
Attraction Details
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“amazing views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

this place has the most amazing views of bariloche and the surrounding area, plus there is a little shop to get food and a hot beferage

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    667
    302
    56
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Targu Mures, Romania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“It should be the first thing to do in Bariloche!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Catch bus 20 from the center and go to cerro campanario. It only takes half a day to do the whole visif and the views are spectacular! After takimg lots of photos, we went to the cosy alpine cafe and had coffee and chocolate cake at a very reasonable price. Everything was perfect and made our stay in Bariloche worth it even in late autumn. A definite must!
The subida and bajada on the chairlifts cost 60 pesos (for both).

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordoba, Argentina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Bariloche essential”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Rated one of the Top Ten views of the world. If you have olnly one day in Bariloche, go to Cerro Campanario without hesitation. Breathtaking views, comfortable places to seat, good and cheap chocolate or tea. A MUST!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“wonderful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is a great lookout point. Take bus 20 from downtown bariloche and ask the driver to tell you when he reaches Cerro Campanario, it takes about 25-30min. There is a path to hike up (45minutes) or take the chairlift (60pesos) that takes you to the top in about 10minutes. Don't forget to look behind you as you go up, the views are amazing!! at the top you can walk around to different lookout points and there is a cute alpine style cafe with views, too.
It's a great activity to do if you only have 1/2 day to spend.

tip about bus tickets in Bariloche: I found this very badly organized, the only place a tourist can buy bus tickets is called 3 Mayo (Micro Omnibus), the transportation office on Moreno street. Other places apparently sell rechargeable cards for I think 30 pesos and you need to recharge them. I could not find out where.
The only postbox in town (took me a while to find that) is at Correo argentino, one street above Mitre on Moreno street (Mitre is the main street).

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“This is definitely a 360o view - wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We caught the No 20 bus to Cerro Campanario. There is a chair lift to the top but we chose to walk the 1km - about 400m upwards - it is fairly steep in parts and so took us about 30 minutes - we took the easy way down by the chairlift.

Once at the top we were rewarded with this amazing view. It is a wow factor with a 360o view right across the lakes and mountains and over to Bariloche - it was magnificent. It was very blowy when we were there so you may need a warm jacket.

There is a little cafe there to get a drink or have a snack so we sat and gazed out at the view. We were blessed with a fine clear day.

If you are in Bariloche you really must visit.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cerro Campanario also viewed

San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 

Been to Cerro Campanario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cerro Campanario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.