We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Estancia Peuma Hue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Estancia Peuma Hue to your Saves list
Estancia Peuma Hue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Road 40 - km 2014 | Parque Nacional Nahuel Huapi, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15%, 25%, 33% discounts!
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
“Charming Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Lovely place located between Gutierrez & Mascardi lakes. Personalized attention from a very capable staff. Evelyn, the owner, makes you feel very welcome and at home all the time, extremely knowledgeable hostess, dedicated all the time to make your stay wonderful. All details are very well taken care off. The quality of the meals are at the same standard of any top restaurant.
Hope to come back some other time. Margaret

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peumahue, Owner at Estancia Peuma Hue, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you Margaret for such a wonderful report. We enjoyed you so much in every single sense, our walk together, conversations, seeing you smiling and enjoying the peacefulness and beauty around in silence, watching your smiles. What a wonderful people you are and it was very special for us to meet you!!! Hope to see you back, with a strong hug,
Evelyn & all the team at Peuma Hue - 4-legged as well :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    10
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
50
109
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

I booked 4 days at the lodge for my husbands birthday. We were welcomed like friends and had the most wonderful time at Peuma Hue. The staff - in particular - Luis, Jessie and Chris were exceptional. And the chef is world-class - every meal was superbly cooked and presented - it was like eating in a top restaurant. And on his birthday, he was presented with a beautiful birthday cake. We spent our time horse riding, hiking and enjoying the outdoors. On the third day, the place was converted into a winter wonderland with a heavy snow fall and we enjoyed being indoors in front of the fire. We hope to return in a couple of years to enjoy the countryside and hospitality in summer. We have very fond memories and a lot of photos (including lots of the dogs) to remind us of our time in Bariloche.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peumahue, General Manager at Estancia Peuma Hue, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Ann and Ivan,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for choosing us to celebrate such a special moment! It was a real pleasure to meet you both, and we know that now you can see this place as a home away from your home. The whole staff welcomes gladly your warm words, as they know that details make the difference.
We hope to see you back with us soon, to enjoy the wonderful Patagonic summer.
Many hugs and have a wonderful rest of the year!


Luis I. Pennacca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Unfortunately given the other wonderful reviews, I am writing to warn of the disappointing experience I had trying to book this hotel. Over the course of 2 weeks, I exchanged multiple emails with Peuma Hue regarding availability from Christmas Day for 3 nights. The only availability remaining at this busy time of year was at Radal House, which I was interested in booking for a special stay for my family (despite being initially misinformed about the rate - we were offered a 4th night free which turned out to be unavailable over the holiday period). After getting a quote and asking a couple of additional questions about transfer costs and wifi service, my emails were no longer getting a response, although my replies were immediate. Eventually (after several emails chasing), I was informed that a travel agency had pre-blocked the rooms and they were no longer available. Given the amount of emails already exchanged, I would expect at this juncture to be given right of first refusal and allowed the opportunity to pay the deposit and secure the rooms before they were given to a travel agency. This type of treatment seems greatly at odds with what I would expect from a small, service-oriented operation. We will have to find another hotel as we have now fixed our dates (due to the expectation of booking Peuma Hue), but it will be a real shame not to have the house-style accommodation for our family and the Peuma Hue experience at Christmas-time. I write this to ensure future travellers are aware when booking that this can happen.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peumahue, General Manager at Estancia Peuma Hue, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Katherine,
We are deeply sorry that your experience with us wasn't satisfying. Every day we receive multiple inquiries, specially on such a requested period as the last days of December; and that's why (as we specified in our first email to you) reservations are only made and confirmed with a payment of a percentage of the total. This has always been our general reservation policy, thus the figure of right of first refusal does not apply, and that's why we include the line about payment in our first emails.
Nevertheless we'd love to see you with us some day and we hope you enjoy your time in Bariloche. If you and your family can spare a day to visit us we'll be more than happy to receive you.
Kind regards,


Luis Ignacio Pennacca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We just returned home after spending six nights at Peuma Hue. We knew from the other Tripadvisor reviews that we were going to a special place and it was the part of the trip that we were most looking forward to. Not only is the destination special, but so are the people and the animals! Evelyn, the owner, and her staff make you feel welcome and comfortable from the moment you arrive. We went hiking, snowshoeing, horseback riding and explored the property. The food was spectacular and there was no reason to go anywhere else. We loved having dinner with the other guest, Evelyn and Reuben. This is the ideal spot if you like setting your own schedule or doing nothing at all. Evelyn and her team make everything so easy. We loved all the dogs and cats, especially Gandhi, Cocoa and Ivan the Terrible. We plan to return to Peuma Hue soon.

Room Tip: While we stayed in the Master Suite in the Main House, we explored the other houses, too. Not a bad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peumahue, Owner at Estancia Peuma Hue, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you Tara for such a wonderful review. What a great time we spent together! How lovely it was to meet you both. We are so happy that you liked our food, relaxed, enjoyed our animals, our activities and allowed us to share time, meals and conversations. We would really love to have you back and enjoy more time together. Thank you for such a lovely visit, with our warmest regards,
Evelyn and all the team at Peuma Hue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

It has already been my 5 th stay and I still love it here. It is so nice if you travel by your self to eat with all the other guest on 1 big table. Evelyn the onwer always comes up with new excursions to do. And they are always fun. I just love being in a place were it is really peacefull. They have now 2 or must a say 3 more puppies. And even when you sit outside in the hottube that does't mean you can start relaxing. No you must cuddle the puppies or the cat. And I love it. I only have to wait one more hear and I will be back again. It is just like home but much beter. Thank you again for just a wonderfull stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peumahue, Owner at Estancia Peuma Hue, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Carol:
Having you at home is having a friend; laughing and sharing great time and conversations together. It´s so wonderful to see you back each year and plan all the adventures you so much love to do! Thank you for choosing us, thank you for sharing so much with us, thank you for becoming a friend! We are already looking forward to seeing you next year and preparing the hot tub - with a glass of wine :-) - for your afternoons! Have a wonderful year, with love
Evelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

After 36 hours of travelling we arrived at Puema Hue, absolutely stunning, tranquil, awe-inspiring and as near to God as I have visited, a must for any romantic traveller.
The hospitality and depth of generosity of our hosts was far beyond what we had expected
A must for all you Romantics

Room Tip: Choose the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peumahue, Director of Sales at Estancia Peuma Hue, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for such an inspiring review! Feedback like yours is the one that encourages us to continue offering what we think as life-changing experiences for everyone, from solo travellers, to romantic getaways or family vacations! We'll love to see you back with us hopefully, to again enjoy this piece of heaven.
Big hugs and lots of blessings,

Luz Davico
Reservas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have been wanting to write a review about Peuma Hue since we left but I guess it has taken awhile because everything at Peuma Hue was so wonderful, I do not know where to start! We went to Peuma Hue in late March, which is late fall in southern Argentina. We had already spent nearly a week in Argentina already before arriving at Peuma Hue and the three days we spent there were the highlight of the trip. The scenery, the people, the rooms, the food, the animals, the activities .. all were amazing. We really had planned to explore the town of Bariloche during our visit, but everything was so wonderful at the hotel, we never left. There was just no reason to leave.

The first thing to know about Peuma Hue is its location is amazing. The hotel has a main cabin where breakfast is served every morning and happy hour is held every night. There are some rooms in this main house. Then there are several cabins on the grounds surrounding the main house. But all are set right on a beautiful natural lake surrounded by mountains. On the grounds are just about every animal you can imagine - horses, sheep, dogs, cats, birds, geese, parrots. Also beautiful gardens and trees and landscaping.

A full horse stable is on the grounds with at least 10 horses. The horses are all friendly - there are large apple trees on the grounds and you can pick up apples and feed them to the horses (the horses LOVE this, needless to say). Chris, who takes care of the horses and runs the stable is so nice and a wonderful rider/teacher. You can have riding excursions as much as you want during your stay (included in your room price), you just have to sign up and get a spot.

We also went on a hike directly from Peuma Hue into the mountains. Evelyn, who runs the resort, gives perfect directions to navigate through the trail. The hike is wonderful and the views are breathtaking as you go through a waterfall and can see 360 degrees over the mountains and the valley. Peuma Hue packed a delicious to-go lunch for us to eat at the top of the hike.

The food at all meals was great, the pastries and deserts were amazing. Peuma Hue is more of a bed and breakfast for all meals, so this is nothing like the Parillas that are throughout Argentina, but more of a farm-to-table restaurant with outstanding fish, steak, pork, soups, breads, and vegetables.

Peuma Hue is just truly a special place. This is not a large corporate resort; this is a personally owned and operated location and it feels this way. The scenery is hard to describe with words. It is just 100% nature, total relaxation. There is no TV (the internet is ok, not great). Peuma Hue is just great food, great service, great interaction with fascinating other guests, and really getting away from it all. We have been to beautiful places and great hotels all over the world, and it safe to say we have never been to a place like Peuma Hue.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peumahue, Owner at Estancia Peuma Hue, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Oh Hunter, this is SO NICE of you!! Thank you for such a wonderful review!! We are SO HAPPY you enjoyed it so much, that you could draw in and value all the things we treasure, that you liked our organic farm-to table meals, the interaction with our other guests and basically liked the spirit of the place. We have fond memories of you and wish we could have you back again someday and enjoy more time together. Thank you once again, wishing you more than the best, with our warmest regards,
Evelyn and all the team at Peuma Hue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Estancia Peuma Hue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia Peuma Hue

Address: Road 40 - km 2014 | Parque Nacional Nahuel Huapi, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#10 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Estancia Peuma Hue 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This mountain ranch & lodge in Patagonia, blends in a single place a little of all that Patagonia has to offer: 500 acres of a privileged location within the Lake District and the Nahuel Huapi National Park, 2 miles of lake shore at the foot of a steep mountain, with pristine forests, creeks and waterfalls and the valley for calm wandering. Catedral ski resort is only 35’ from the Estancia through a scenic lakeside drive.Lots of Mountain and Ranch activities to do withing the property with no need for daily transfers.Our huge advantage is our location. We combine the striking beauty of our National Park, close contact with Nature, deluxe accommodations, the experience of being at home in our houses and log villas, all types of outdoor activities, exquisite home-made, healthy organic meals, and an exclusive service with a personal touch that allows our guests to live unforgettable experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Estancia Peuma Hue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estancia Peuma Hue Hotel San Carlos De Bariloche

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estancia Peuma Hue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.