We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot Wait to Return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Estancia Peuma Hue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Estancia Peuma Hue to your Saves list
Estancia Peuma Hue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Road 40 - km 2014 | Parque Nacional Nahuel Huapi, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15%, 25%, 33% discounts!
Jupiter, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cannot Wait to Return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have been missing Estancia Peuma Hue from the second we left! Not only do we miss everybody who works there, but we miss the horses, the dogs, the kittens, the mountains, the view, the hikes, the cozy rooms and beds, the fireplace, and the outstanding food! We could have stayed forever! (But at some point we had to return to reality, so we had to go home.) Imagine starting your day with an outstanding fresh and healthy breakfast and a breathtaking view of the sun rising over the lake which is bordered by majestic snow-capped mountains. Lunch and dinner are even better - same view, 5-star meals! As soon as you meet Evelyn and her crew, you will see how they have taken “Excellence” and “Hospitality” to new heights. Every little detail is considered as they try to make sure your time at Peuma Hue is indeed a dream come true. There are so many ways to stay busy on the property, but our favorites were horseback riding, hiking, and playing with the puppies and kittens. We feel extremely lucky to have found such a wonderful get-away and we are already thinking about our next trip back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peumahue, Owner at Estancia Peuma Hue, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you so much Sheri, for such a lovely review. We miss you all much!! You became like family to us and we really enjoyed your company a lot!! We can´t wait to see you back, thank you so much for staying in touch!! With our very best wishes and a warm heart, we send you all a big hug,
Evelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    10
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
50
107
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coronado, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We really wanted to stay here during our visit to Bariloche, but ended up renting a house instead. To see what we were missing, we arranged to have dinner at Estancia Puema Hue on our last night. It was an enchanting experience. The owner, Evelyn, personally greeted us upon arrival -- along with a few dogs and horses. It was a bit before sunset, so we took in the gorgeous lake and mountain views. My son (6) played outside with the dogs and horses for a while and then we joined another couple staying there for a spectacular dinner experience! WOW!
I plan to return for a yoga retreat...hopefully sooner than later! Thanks Evelyn for an amazing last night in Bariloche.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peumahue, Owner at Estancia Peuma Hue, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
I was away on a trip and just saw your review!! THANK YOU so much!!! How wonderful to read it and we really would love to have you back and enjoy longer our magical place!!! Our Nature and Yoga Retreats are really special and we are looking forward to having you joining us!!
With my warmest regards and happy memories,
Evelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
modesto
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at Peume Hue for 4 days and 3 nights and can honestly say we could have stayed for more time. This intimate lodge is located at the end of a large lake bordered by mountains. The style of the rooms reflect the region. The views from the lodge are breathtaking. The food is very high quality,much of it grown on their property, The kitchen staff is quite creative with their menu and meals were all of high quality.There is so much to do -the lodge has 14 horses,hiking guides and kayaks to use. I suggest getting a car for a few days if you can as the area is spectacular.The town of Bariloche can feel quite touristy and staying at Peume Hue avoids that whole touristy ambience, I highly recommend this lodge. It has it all.

Room Tip: Try to request a room or a cabin with a lake view. I suggest the Master Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peumahue, Owner at Estancia Peuma Hue, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you SO MUCH for your wonderful description and I am so glad you liked our food, the views and all the activities we offer. Today is an amazing day, blue sky and Fall colors showing already - even though it´s a bit too early - and it is breathtakingly beautiful. Thank you so much for your visit, for the time we shared with you and for such a lovely review. Hope to see you back some day, with our warmest regards,
Evelyn and all the team at Peuma Hue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed for four most enjoyable days in mid February. Had a wonderful time. It was a very sociable and relaxing stay. Lovely staff who were attentive and friendly. Great walks, horse-riding, boat trip etc etc. We stayed in one of the cabins overlooking the lake and the walk, over the suspension bridge, under the stars to and from dinner was a delight. We left Peuma Hue refreshed in mind and body and ready for the next four weeks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peumahue, Owner at Estancia Peuma Hue, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
What a wonderful review! Thank you so much!! And you are right, the walks that you can enjoy here at night, under the southern hemisphere´s stars, with no light polution from any city around are just magical!!! Every night I feel the same blessing! So thank you for mentioning it! We loved meeting you and I hope you had more and more wonderful time in your travels. Wishing you the best, with our warmest regards,
Evelyn and the team at Peuma Hue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Peuma Hue is by far the most beautiful, amazing place I haver ever visited in Patagonia, and easily ranks among the top places I´ve stayed at around the world. It combines sophisticated hospitality and excellent accommodations with outdoor adventure activities, breathtaking scenery, and warm, personal service. Together with other guests, we would often joke that being in Peuma Hue felt like we had somehow lost our ways and accidentally arrived in paradise.

Every day you wake up in an environment that seems out of a fairy tale, surrounded by forests, creeks and lakes. And every day you´re given a choice of interesting things to do - hiking, horse-riding, swimming, kayaking, yoga lessons, etc. Of course, you can also opt to just relax and sit in the garden listening to the wind blowing in the poplar trees, or lie down at the shores of the lake and watch the birds -including ibises- flying by. The grounds and gardens that surround the facilities are amazing in themselves. The views from the cabins and the main house are absolutely breathtaking, the peace and tranquility are just wonderful.

Words don´t do Peuma Hue justice, it is so beautiful that it has a dreamlike quality to it. The nearby mountains change color at every hour as the sun runs its course, and even rainy days are beautiful when you see the peaks enshrouded in mists and clouds, with condors circling their peaks. There are many hikes to undertake, and both the paths and the destinations are just plain amazing. There are lookouts with sights that will literally leave you speechless.

The food was just outstanding; ingredients came from the local garden, which is fully organic and uses no preservatives or insecticides whatsoever - the raspberries offered every day for breakfast, for example, were hand picked from the organic garden by staff the day before. The chefs are pros. I mean excellent, internatlonal-quality chefs, the kind you would expect to find at the best restaurants around the world.

There are horse-riding expeditions every day. If you´re an experienced rider, there are all kinds of horses with different personalities. They have very mellow horses for beginners; but if you´re an experienced rider, you´ll also find horses to match your profile.

Since it was summertime, we were able to swim in the lake. Lake Gutierrez is like a pristine, vast swimming pool that surrounded us from every angle with views of mountains and valleys.Those sights are just impossible to forget, they will end up etched in your memory. The water is so transparent that you can see right to the bottom of the lake. It´s like swimming in crystal. You can also see the trout fish swimming by and jumping off.

The infrastructure is just excellent, the rooms are beautiful and have wonderful views. Owners Eve and Reuben give the place a personal touch and all the staff strike a perfect balance: they were constantly and invisibly paying attention to every and each of my wishes and cravings without my realizing it. Everytime they detected a preference or a liking, they would try their best to satisfy it, even if I had not explicitly mentioned it. It is an amazing level of service, close to perfect.

I saw more than one guest fall in love with the place; after a couple of days at Peuma Hue, they were scrambling to either postpone or cancel their reservations elsewhere, so as to be able to stay a few more days!

Peuma Hue is just awesome. Truly one of the most extraordinary places I have visited in the whole world, and one of the most amazing vacations I have ever experienced.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Main House, as well as the COIHUE cabin, are more luxurious. The RADALES cabin has brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peumahue, Owner at Estancia Peuma Hue, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
What can I say with such a review!! THANK YOU!!! From deep in our souls, thank you for the love you put into describing us with so much detail and enthusiasm. Your stay was so very special to us in so many ways; starting as a complete stranger and turning to be part of our family. We all miss you much! Thank you once again, wishing to be able to see you soon again, with all our blessings and much love,
Evelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We so enjoyed our 5 days at Peuma Hue. Our room overlooked the lake and it was a pleasure to look at the amazing scenery from our big windows. The food and wine were delicious and the menus were really thoughtfully put together. We could do as much, or as little, as we liked, activities wise, and chose to kayak and hike, with a lot of just relaxing and reading. We were especially touched when the resident dogs, Ghandi and Alpha, decided to be our guides for a hike. It is a completely relaxed and friendly place to stay and Evelynn, Rueben, Jessie and the rest of the staff made it one of our best experiences in Patagonia. We shall return one day!

Room Tip: We stayed in Los Lenos which has a beautiful big bedroom with fireplace and overlooks the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peumahue, Owner at Estancia Peuma Hue, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
I´m so happy you enjoyed it so much! It confirms the meaning for our existence and what we wish to offer to everyone visiting us. So THANK YOU SO MUCH for this lovely review. We hope we can see you again in the future, wishing you the very best, with much love
Evelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I spent 5 days and nights at Peuma Hue in February 2013. I cannot say enough about how great the total experience was-- the location and setting, the hospitality, the food, and the company were all exceptional!! Eve, Reuben, and the team at Peuma Hue go out of their way to create a memorable visit for every guest. From daily guided (or unguided if you prefer!) hikes, to horseback riding, to kayaking, or just relaxing with a book on the estancia grounds, there are endless ways to spend your day. And the food! The food is absolutely delicious--made from fresh and local ingredients and the chef can cater to special needs and requirements as well. Guests eat 'family style,' which we loved-- it allowed us to get to know the others who were visiting from the States, Europe, other parts of Argentina, etc.That said, folks who prefer a more intimate and private experience may also eat on their own. Again, Eve and the staff are flexible and provide a "personal touch" to help create the experience guests want to have. Our stay at Peuma Hue was one we will never forget. We can't wait to return for another visit soon!--Lisa, Chevy Chase, MD.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peumahue, Owner at Estancia Peuma Hue, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you Lisa for such wonderful review and I can truly say I feel we have "new friends" in both of you. You added so much to the spirit of Peuma Hue with your enthusiasm, interest in conversations, enjoying so much each of all the activities you did, the food and all!! THANK YOU for your visit and for sharing so much with us. With much love,
Evelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Estancia Peuma Hue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia Peuma Hue

Address: Road 40 - km 2014 | Parque Nacional Nahuel Huapi, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#9 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Estancia Peuma Hue 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This mountain ranch & lodge in Patagonia, blends in a single place a little of all that Patagonia has to offer: 500 acres of a privileged location within the Lake District and the Nahuel Huapi National Park, 2 miles of lake shore at the foot of a steep mountain, with pristine forests, creeks and waterfalls and the valley for calm wandering. Catedral ski resort is only 35’ from the Estancia through a scenic lakeside drive.Lots of Mountain and Ranch activities to do withing the property with no need for daily transfers.Our huge advantage is our location. We combine the striking beauty of our National Park, close contact with Nature, deluxe accommodations, the experience of being at home in our houses and log villas, all types of outdoor activities, exquisite home-made, healthy organic meals, and an exclusive service with a personal touch that allows our guests to live unforgettable experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Estancia Peuma Hue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estancia Peuma Hue Hotel San Carlos De Bariloche

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estancia Peuma Hue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.