We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location food and seervice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Estancia Peuma Hue

Save Saved
You added Estancia Peuma Hue to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Estancia Peuma Hue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Road 40 - km 2014 | Parque Nacional Nahuel Huapi, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
modesto
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent location food and seervice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at Peume Hue for 4 days and 3 nights and can honestly say we could have stayed for more time. This intimate lodge is located at the end of a large lake bordered by mountains. The style of the rooms reflect the region. The views from the lodge are breathtaking. The food is very high quality,much of it grown on their property, The kitchen staff is quite creative with their menu and meals were all of high quality.There is so much to do -the lodge has 14 horses,hiking guides and kayaks to use. I suggest getting a car for a few days if you can as the area is spectacular.The town of Bariloche can feel quite touristy and staying at Peume Hue avoids that whole touristy ambience, I highly recommend this lodge. It has it all.

Room Tip: Try to request a room or a cabin with a lake view. I suggest the Master Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peumahue, Owner at Estancia Peuma Hue, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you SO MUCH for your wonderful description and I am so glad you liked our food, the views and all the activities we offer. Today is an amazing day, blue sky and Fall colors showing already - even though it´s a bit too early - and it is breathtakingly beautiful. Thank you so much for your visit, for the time we shared with you and for such a lovely review. Hope to see you back some day, with our warmest regards,
Evelyn and all the team at Peuma Hue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    167
    9
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
44
100
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed for four most enjoyable days in mid February. Had a wonderful time. It was a very sociable and relaxing stay. Lovely staff who were attentive and friendly. Great walks, horse-riding, boat trip etc etc. We stayed in one of the cabins overlooking the lake and the walk, over the suspension bridge, under the stars to and from dinner was a delight. We left Peuma Hue refreshed in mind and body and ready for the next four weeks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peumahue, Owner at Estancia Peuma Hue, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
What a wonderful review! Thank you so much!! And you are right, the walks that you can enjoy here at night, under the southern hemisphere´s stars, with no light polution from any city around are just magical!!! Every night I feel the same blessing! So thank you for mentioning it! We loved meeting you and I hope you had more and more wonderful time in your travels. Wishing you the best, with our warmest regards,
Evelyn and the team at Peuma Hue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Peuma Hue is by far the most beautiful, amazing place I haver ever visited in Patagonia, and easily ranks among the top places I´ve stayed at around the world. It combines sophisticated hospitality and excellent accommodations with outdoor adventure activities, breathtaking scenery, and warm, personal service. Together with other guests, we would often joke that being in Peuma Hue felt like we had somehow lost our ways and accidentally arrived in paradise.

Every day you wake up in an environment that seems out of a fairy tale, surrounded by forests, creeks and lakes. And every day you´re given a choice of interesting things to do - hiking, horse-riding, swimming, kayaking, yoga lessons, etc. Of course, you can also opt to just relax and sit in the garden listening to the wind blowing in the poplar trees, or lie down at the shores of the lake and watch the birds -including ibises- flying by. The grounds and gardens that surround the facilities are amazing in themselves. The views from the cabins and the main house are absolutely breathtaking, the peace and tranquility are just wonderful.

Words don´t do Peuma Hue justice, it is so beautiful that it has a dreamlike quality to it. The nearby mountains change color at every hour as the sun runs its course, and even rainy days are beautiful when you see the peaks enshrouded in mists and clouds, with condors circling their peaks. There are many hikes to undertake, and both the paths and the destinations are just plain amazing. There are lookouts with sights that will literally leave you speechless.

The food was just outstanding; ingredients came from the local garden, which is fully organic and uses no preservatives or insecticides whatsoever - the raspberries offered every day for breakfast, for example, were hand picked from the organic garden by staff the day before. The chefs are pros. I mean excellent, internatlonal-quality chefs, the kind you would expect to find at the best restaurants around the world.

There are horse-riding expeditions every day. If you´re an experienced rider, there are all kinds of horses with different personalities. They have very mellow horses for beginners; but if you´re an experienced rider, you´ll also find horses to match your profile.

Since it was summertime, we were able to swim in the lake. Lake Gutierrez is like a pristine, vast swimming pool that surrounded us from every angle with views of mountains and valleys.Those sights are just impossible to forget, they will end up etched in your memory. The water is so transparent that you can see right to the bottom of the lake. It´s like swimming in crystal. You can also see the trout fish swimming by and jumping off.

The infrastructure is just excellent, the rooms are beautiful and have wonderful views. Owners Eve and Reuben give the place a personal touch and all the staff strike a perfect balance: they were constantly and invisibly paying attention to every and each of my wishes and cravings without my realizing it. Everytime they detected a preference or a liking, they would try their best to satisfy it, even if I had not explicitly mentioned it. It is an amazing level of service, close to perfect.

I saw more than one guest fall in love with the place; after a couple of days at Peuma Hue, they were scrambling to either postpone or cancel their reservations elsewhere, so as to be able to stay a few more days!

Peuma Hue is just awesome. Truly one of the most extraordinary places I have visited in the whole world, and one of the most amazing vacations I have ever experienced.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Main House, as well as the COIHUE cabin, are more luxurious. The RADALES cabin has brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peumahue, Owner at Estancia Peuma Hue, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
What can I say with such a review!! THANK YOU!!! From deep in our souls, thank you for the love you put into describing us with so much detail and enthusiasm. Your stay was so very special to us in so many ways; starting as a complete stranger and turning to be part of our family. We all miss you much! Thank you once again, wishing to be able to see you soon again, with all our blessings and much love,
Evelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We so enjoyed our 5 days at Peuma Hue. Our room overlooked the lake and it was a pleasure to look at the amazing scenery from our big windows. The food and wine were delicious and the menus were really thoughtfully put together. We could do as much, or as little, as we liked, activities wise, and chose to kayak and hike, with a lot of just relaxing and reading. We were especially touched when the resident dogs, Ghandi and Alpha, decided to be our guides for a hike. It is a completely relaxed and friendly place to stay and Evelynn, Rueben, Jessie and the rest of the staff made it one of our best experiences in Patagonia. We shall return one day!

Room Tip: We stayed in Los Lenos which has a beautiful big bedroom with fireplace and overlooks the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peumahue, Owner at Estancia Peuma Hue, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
I´m so happy you enjoyed it so much! It confirms the meaning for our existence and what we wish to offer to everyone visiting us. So THANK YOU SO MUCH for this lovely review. We hope we can see you again in the future, wishing you the very best, with much love
Evelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I spent 5 days and nights at Peuma Hue in February 2013. I cannot say enough about how great the total experience was-- the location and setting, the hospitality, the food, and the company were all exceptional!! Eve, Reuben, and the team at Peuma Hue go out of their way to create a memorable visit for every guest. From daily guided (or unguided if you prefer!) hikes, to horseback riding, to kayaking, or just relaxing with a book on the estancia grounds, there are endless ways to spend your day. And the food! The food is absolutely delicious--made from fresh and local ingredients and the chef can cater to special needs and requirements as well. Guests eat 'family style,' which we loved-- it allowed us to get to know the others who were visiting from the States, Europe, other parts of Argentina, etc.That said, folks who prefer a more intimate and private experience may also eat on their own. Again, Eve and the staff are flexible and provide a "personal touch" to help create the experience guests want to have. Our stay at Peuma Hue was one we will never forget. We can't wait to return for another visit soon!--Lisa, Chevy Chase, MD.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peumahue, Owner at Estancia Peuma Hue, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you Lisa for such wonderful review and I can truly say I feel we have "new friends" in both of you. You added so much to the spirit of Peuma Hue with your enthusiasm, interest in conversations, enjoying so much each of all the activities you did, the food and all!! THANK YOU for your visit and for sharing so much with us. With much love,
Evelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, GA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My wife and I and another couple spent 5 nights at Peuma Hue in February 2012.
It couldn't have been more relaxing and friendly to the guests. Eve Hotter and her firend Reuben Rich took very good care of us including Reuben leading us on two long hikes and Eve arranging horseback riding, fishing in the very large lake, tango lessons, golf nearby and fantastic meals. I thought they were somewhat overstaffed, but that made our visit all the more enjoyable. They use a lot of young people who come in for various lengths of time to work and learn the business. These "interns" were all very congenial.
What I liked, which may not be for everyone, is that all meals are eaten family style whith several guests at a table, however the meals were plated and were exceptional. I guess if you wanted to be by yourself, they would arrange it that way, but I enjoyed meeting the other guests who were all very interesting. A stay of 3-5 days would be ideal. Less is not enough to get a feel for the place and more might be enough. One of my favorite expressions relative to running a business is "nothing beats the sound of the ownerrs frootsteps in the hall." Eve is everpresent and runs a tight, but relaxed ship. Sandy Morehouse, Atlanta, Georgia

Room Tip: various cabins on property. No preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peumahue, Owner at Estancia Peuma Hue, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you Sandy for your wonderful report!! And yes, we do ask everybody, when they arrive, if they would rather have their private table or join the rest of our guests in conversations and shared stories. We knew that you would wanted to share with your friends and with us, so we arranged it that way. So many times though, guests who start asking for their own tables, end up sharing the interesting conversations that develop, adding yet another level to their stay by making new friends. And this is how I feel with you! Thank you for your wonderful visit, for all the time we spent together, for all our conversations! Hope to see you soon again, much love
Evelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Peuma Hue is a magical respite from urban life, and from the exhaustion of other travel. It offers a rare combination of luxurious accommodations, delicious food and attentive personal service, in a place of great physical beauty, pure air and silence.
Some guests prefer to pass their days quietly, reading a book by the beach, under a tree, or next to a cozy fireplace; perhaps yoga, massage, or picking organic raspberries from the huge garden. Others choose days packed with adventure, such as Class 4 whitewater, high altitude trekking, or just scrambling up to the nearest waterfall. Kayakers and adventurous swimmers enjoy the crystal clear water. Birdwatchers thrill at the ibis in the orchard, the brilliant woodpeckers in the canopy. Riders, whether skilled or beginner, spend hours on the gentle, well trained horses, walking through majestic forests of ancient trees or cantering the open pampa. One lovely ride leads to a lookout over the Continental Divide; water to the left flows to the Atlantic; water to the right flows to the Pacific.
Every room is different, but they are all clean, full of light, furnished with thoughtfully chosen local artifacts, comfortable beds, and snowy linens. I loved waking up gently as the clouds poured over the crest of the mountains. Outside my window, horses, sheep and geese quietly grazed.
The longer people stay at Peuma Hue, in my experience, the more they like it. Guest after guest, some with remarkable amounts of travel experience, wished they had planned to stay longer. It’s also telling that young people from around the world volunteer for its beauty, and the warmth, kindness and wisdom of its proprietor, Evelyn Hoter. After a week there, I felt better than I had in years.
A friend said it best: Staying at Peuma Hue was a prize that he gave himself. And it was one of the best prizes he could have won.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peumahue, Owner at Estancia Peuma Hue, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for such a beautiful, thoughtful and detailed report!! What a joy to know that we can be considered one of the best prizes to oneself.... We do try to make a little difference in our guests´ lives by providing the best we can in every level. When this is achieved, it fulfils the deepest meaning for our existence. What a Joy for us to have guestas as you!! :-) Thank you, from deep in our hearts!!! With much love,
Evelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Estancia Peuma Hue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia Peuma Hue

Also Known As:
Estancia Peuma Hue Hotel
Estancia Peuma Hue Hotel San Carlos De Bariloche
Address: Road 40 - km 2014 | Parque Nacional Nahuel Huapi, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#10 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Estancia Peuma Hue 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This mountain ranch & lodge in Patagonia, blends in a single place a little of all that Patagonia has to offer: 500 acres of a privileged location within the Lake District and the Nahuel Huapi National Park, 2 miles of lake shore at the foot of a steep mountain, with pristine forests, creeks and waterfalls and the valley for calm wandering. Catedral ski resort is only 35’ from the Estancia through a scenic lakeside drive.Lots of Mountain and Ranch activities to do withing the property with no need for daily transfers.Our huge advantage is our location. We combine the striking beauty of our National Park, close contact with Nature, deluxe accommodations, the experience of being at home in our houses and log villas, all types of outdoor activities, exquisite home-made, healthy organic meals, and an exclusive service with a personal touch that allows our guests to live unforgettable experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Estancia Peuma Hue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estancia Peuma Hue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.