We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“toolperez” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Village Catedral

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Village Catedral to your Saves list
Village Catedral
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   at the base of Cerro Catedral, San Carlos de Bariloche CP 8400, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Caracas, Venezuela
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“toolperez”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The location is good and close to the mountain if you don't mind walking 1/2 mile on a daily basis to the lifts, the rooms are of a good size but with only one bathroom, it's not comfortable at all, specially when traveling with kids, you can also count on very lousy beds & linen, never went to the restaurant, just one look inside was more than enough, the Spa was Ok, what you get at this place is not in concordance with the price paid, go there only if you have no other option.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    21
    6
    6
    7
See reviews for
32
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

During the weekend the heating system broke out and we lost almost 1 day to go to another hotel. The staff was unorganized. They were not prepared to handle this kind of situations. We got back dissapointed for the issues that we had in the hotel

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The pictures on booking.com are not showing this place. Breakfast 1/10th of what the pic shows, so are the room and the building. I could not sleep properly for the 5 nights we stayed there, the beds were uncomfortable and smallest I've seen. Room is dirty, I like to quickly put my clothes in cupboards and this time I had to stay in my bag for the fear of using the dirty spaces. It is so expensive when compared to some other accomodation that is better. I'm not sure how we ended p there, must be the pics and reviews in "some" websites.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

Nice place, about 200m from the Amancay lift. The room was spacious and had a full kitchen. The hotel has a nice heated swimming pool and jacuzzi with a nice view of the mountain - where you can kick back after a day on the slopes. It also helps that you can use it on your last day after checking out. Breakfast is nice with a good selection.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

Having paid in advance for a 5 days stay (Hotel condition) my wife and I were anticipating a fantastic holiday in an "Exclusive Mountain Resort & Spa" (... this is the first line you can read in their website…) As soon as arrived there, we immediately realized we had been cheated. Terrain around the complex was flooded and in precarious conditions, the paint of the walls of the building (later I learned that that was the Spa: "a gift for your soul", according to their website) was falling apart. Reception area shared the reception desk and the "internet access" (one computer in the middle of the lobby). After a check in that took more than 15 minutes, the room was far from being what an international traveler would expect for the price. Old appliances and sheets combined with cigarette smell was comon factor in the two rooms that we had the misfortune to see. And, the great view of the white Alps was almost spoiled by the ruinous hotel backyard.
Saving our marriage and our vacations required extreme measures, we decided to move to a different hotel, which with similar rates, was so amazing and luxurious that I have no doubts that we will be back soon.
Finally, worth to say that the Village Catedral was very diligent to charge the 5 nights in advance but, according to their policy, they weren’t in the obligation to made me a refund although we didn’t stay more than ½ hour… Hope they use that money to paint the Spa or, even better, donate it to a local charity.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Infrastructure , conditions
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2006

We saw the hotel website.
(---)

The web site created some expectations, and I thought wife and I will be staying at a lovely spa resort in the mountains. I am afraid the website is the biggest misrepresentation I ever saw! Incidentally, the hotel is highly rated on Travelocity, but we could not book it on line, and used the Argentine travel agent.

It is located at the base of Cerro Catedral, the most popular local ski mountain. We were there in the summer, so there was no skiing, and otherwise there was probably little to do so far outside of town! It's not a standalone mountain lodge as the picture on the web would make you believe--it's among the many buildings in this dingy little complex at the mountain base.

The first clues that we were not in the right place were when we saw a couple of stay dogs next to the entrance. The staff hardly spoke any English (I had to use the baby Spanish), and once we started complaining appeared to have no authority to do or change anything. We wrote our names in the guestbook, and noticed that all other guests were either Argentine or Cuban--no N. Americans/Europeans.

We had a look at our first-floor room (3 steps away from reception) and wanted to run away immediately. Small, super-dark, disgustingly dirty carpet, dirty bathroom, and no amenities at all--except this being an 'apart-hotel' there was fridge and stove! it and all other rooms were smoking. I mean imagine, here I am with the wife who was promised a spa vacation, staring at a hellhole in the middle of nowhere! You would feel you had problems too.

In any case, the guy at the reception was very young and could not help us. We bolted out of there back to downtown Bariloche. We called our agent who could not cancel our reservation for us, and we lost our deposit (the agent gave us half back from her own $)

So it's a long review for a place that we did not spend a night in, but it's to forewarn other travelers--avoid it--especially if you are tempted to go for a good deal off the web. The only people who may consider this place are the skiers who want to stay close to Cerro Catedral in the winter. But NOT a spot for your spa vacation!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Catedral

Address: at the base of Cerro Catedral, San Carlos de Bariloche CP 8400, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 134 Hotels in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Catedral 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Village Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Catedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.