We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasent Surprise !!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Design Suites Bariloche

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Design Suites Bariloche to your Saves list
Design Suites Bariloche
4.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Av Bustillo Km 2,5, San Carlos de Bariloche C1060AAE, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Pleasent Surprise !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just spend 4 days at the design suites and found a pleasant, well-maintained hotel with ample space at the rooms. Rooms had beautiful views of the lake and the forest. The highlight was the service received from the staff, they would go overboard to solve all your needs. breakfast was well prepared and a complete variety of options.
it has an excellent cost benefit ratio. The only thing that needs improvement would be the road to the various buildings.its a keeper !!

Room Tip: One of the higher building and a high floor will ensure breath taking views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    198
    54
    30
    28
See reviews for
107
318
12
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mold, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed three nights. Had a standard room. Was large, clean and adequate. Some of the decor was showing its age and the pool was closed for renovation. We could have used a pool at a neighbouring hotel but didn't. The room TV is big old type that you don't see often now.
The goodies in room bar are very expensive.
The hotel bar doesn't have much of a choice either.
Breakfast was quite good and had a lot of choice but green tea for my wife was charged as an extra.
It is a 50 pesos taxi ride into town.

Room Tip: Get a room on top floor in block 3 or 4 and there is a better chance of a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Highlights from a list of reasons to not go (there are/were more):
Hotel asked for a booking confirmation the week before (the room was prepaid, through booking.com) seemingly indicating we wouldn't have lodging if we didn't respond - luckily happened to catch this the night before starting a hike in Chile, with no or next to none internet connections for the next week, or we very well might have had no place at all.
Staff offers minimum effort to help resolve problems, yes, I heard and know what 'norteamericano punta' means.
Staff happy to bait and switch rooms - or 'up-sale' from the standard worst to a suite, talked with 3 other guests this happened to.
Mold and stains in the shower, entire stay.
Paint drippings on walls and floor.
Location terrible.
Pool area greasy and pool itself is missing tiles - not one or two but dozens.
Tour office staff maybe worse than the front desk staff. Don't expect an English version (to go along with the Spanish, French, and Portuguese translations) when you book a tour, unless you want an 'optional' (i.e. to hire) tour guide. When bringing up this problem with the tour office we we're told, 'why wouldn't you ask that to begin with?' More 'bait and switch'.
The staff was the most unfriendly, unhelpful of our 3 weeks touring in Argentina.
Design with no substance.
Happy to leave - should have left sooner.

Room Tip: Get a room at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maracaibo, Venezuela
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

Me and my family went to this hotel to spend 3 days on the city of Bariloche, Argentina. The hotel is not in the most convenient location, it is perhaps 1.5km away from the center of the city (which is a distance pretty long if you don't have a car), but there is a bus that passes in front of the hotel every 15 minutes or you can just ask the reception to call you a taxi. The hotel is in the middle of a sloth, and if you are in one the last buildings you are going to have to wait some minutes for the hotel to take you there or take a really long and uncomfortable walk.

One thing I really like about this hotel is that they don't accept students in their installations. In Bariloche, a lot of Argentinians students spend a week here to celebrate their graduation from high school, the problems is that they are pretty noisy and uneasy, and if you are trying to spend some quality time with your family this will be a trouble.

We enjoyed the breakfast, we found it complete to our needs. Also the hotel has a travel agency that can help you with any kind of touristic reservation you would like to do.

The rooms were spacious and really well-decorated. I wound't have a problem in staying in this hotel if I ever come to Bariloche.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesignSuitesBRC, Gerente at Design Suites Bariloche, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Huesped:

Le agradezco mucho el tiempo y la dedicación empleada en escribir su opinión acerca de su visita a nuestra propiedad.
Es una gran satisfacción saber que pudo disfrutar de su estadía y apreciar algunos detalles con los que queremos diferenciarnos y sorprender a nuestros huéspedes.

Saludos.-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

On our way from Chile, our tour group chose Design Suites for a 2 night stay. The service is OK, but the food very mediocre, and the location very inconvenient. The design of the rooms, however, is very quirky. Despite being called "Design Suites" the hotel is terribly designed. Some rooms have a view, but most are only provided a peekaboo vista of the lake.

The designers seem to have got their priorities upside down. There are expensive fixtures, for example, but only one outlet for charging phones, etc. The TV's are too small to see anything, the coffee machines inconvenient to use and the they have the slowest internet connection in the world. The floors are poorly finished and buckling, the soundproofing between the walls makes sure you are up to date on all your neighbours intimacies, and the lighting leaves most of your suitcases in the dark. This is really amateur hotel design.

It would seem the hotel, so called, might have been intended as a ski motel because the buildings are built on a steep slope and it is a stiff walk to the upper buildings from the lobby if you have any physical inabilities and if you don't have a car it is at least a 20 minute walk along the side of a busy highway in order to get to the edge Bariloche. I would not ever stay here again.

Room Tip: Middle rooms are essential to ensure any kind of view of the lake and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesignSuitesBRC, Gerente at Design Suites Bariloche, responded to this review, November 2, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Huésped:

Le agradecemos profundamente el tiempo que invirtió en compartir su experiencia en nuestro hotel con Tripadvisor. Sus comentarios, los cuales compartiremos con el equipo de trabajo de Design Suites Bariloche, son de gran valor y nos ayudan a mejorar continuamente nuestras instalaciones y servicios. Esperamos poder contar con la oportunidad de hospedarlo en el resto de nuestros Hoteles Design Suites en su próximo viaje a nuestro pais.

Saludos Cordiales.-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontainebleau, France
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights. It's located a bit out of the center, and therefore offers some really nice views of the lake. But unfortunately that's all it has to offer. The standard rooms are old. We had troubles with the toilet. Also they don't face the lake. The staff (the girls at the front desk) were extremely arrogant and unfriendly ( for example we asked to order a table in a very popular restaurant, she said they didn't accept reservations. We called-they did and we were lucky to do so). We stayed off season, and even then the hotel couldn't provide enough seats for breakfast! The hotel provides a shuttle to the city twice a day. The other times we had to wait for a taxi for 30 min!! Around the area there are many little "bungalows" that offer the same views -and maybe you will get to really enjoy them, plus have a more pleasant service...Really not a good value for money!

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesignSuitesBRC, Gerente at Design Suites Bariloche, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments.
We want to express our most sincere apologies for the mentioned disadvantages and regret that you have a bad impression of our hotel. We are conducting an important refurbishment in service you deserve.
For this reason, all the suggestions received help us make the necessary adjustements to achieve our goal.
Looking forward to welcome you back very soon in our renovated hotel.

Best regards.-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for 2 nights while on our way to Chile through the lakes. Very satisfied overall. Spacious rooms decorated with character, modern interior, great location (easy access by car and proximity to main sights)' good services. Stylish and sleek

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesignSuitesBRC, Gerente at Design Suites Bariloche, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Google Translation
Le agradezco mucho el tiempo y la dedicación empleada en escribir su opinión acerca de su visita a nuestra propiedad.
Es una gran satisfacción saber que pudo disfrutar de su estadía y apreciar algunos detalles con los que queremos diferenciarnos y sorprender a nuestros huéspedes.

Saludos.-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Design Suites Bariloche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Suites Bariloche

Address: Av Bustillo Km 2,5, San Carlos de Bariloche C1060AAE, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Design Suites Bariloche 4.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sky fades in to the lake, an extention of the natural beauty. Textures extracted from the earth, wood, stone anf leather. A warm space that insatifies the senses, awakining the instict that join us with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Design Suites Bariloche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Suites Bariloche Hotel San Carlos De Bariloche
Design Hotel Bariloche

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Design Suites Bariloche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.