We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel with awesome views.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tunquelen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tunquelen to your Saves list
Hotel Tunquelen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Exequiel Bustillo, Km 24.5 | Villa Llao Llao, San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel with awesome views.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My family and I had a great experience in this hotel. It has an exquisite old style that makes you feels like home, very welcoming. The rooms are very well and the staff is very attentive. The pool area is really nice and the food at the restaurant is very good. There's also a kids area and you know if your traveling with your children, this helps a lot.
I also have to say I'm not sure if the staff is a hundred percent bilingual. Since I'm a native spanish speaker, the language barrier was not a problem.

Hope this is somewhat useful for someone!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    41
    6
    8
    0
See reviews for
31
42
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nova scotia, canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2009

I got sucked into this as a 5 star ***** hotel....which only proves that stars refer to a specific set of criteria and have little today with the state of the hotel. We arrived at 5:00 pm and were told our room wasn't ready but to please have a drink in the bar. We went to the bar but there was nobody working there so no drink ever materialized.
This property is absolutely gorgeous but the maintenance has clearly got away from them...needs a lot of money spent on it....so you spend your time in your very hard bed in your white room thinking...if only. As someone else said, you know there's a great view out there...but you can't see it from your bed (or anywhere else in the room)

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

Way over priced, hotel advertised that staff could communicate in English (not true!), advertised that activities directors could assist with local outdoor activities (never saw them once), too far from "downtown" Bariloche, in bad need of a remodeling and to top it off one of the staff members stole 80 pesos from a pair of pants. The cherry on top was when we learned that Central Reservations took $140 as a commission! I will say that the women working the front desk were the only bright spot, they were very helpful and friendly.

  • Liked — Absolutely nothing
  • Disliked — Let's see... Way over priced, bad location (good view, but that's about it), incompetent staff, etc...
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

This is a neighbor of the luxurious and somewhat ostentatious Lao Lao Resort, and owned by the same firm Mares Sur Hotels. It is a bit of a grande dame of a lodge, badly needing some exterior repairs and bathroom renovations, but I would recommend it in a flash. The views are truly awesome, and beyond anything we have experienced in all our travels. From our room on the 3rd floor, I kept snapping photo after photo as the light changed, particularly near the end of the day. The interior is lovely old wood, the rooms a bit small and dated (as mentioned the bathrooms need upgrading), but the feel of the place is wonderful. The staff are attentive, very polite and discrete, the food in the dining excellent. All transfers and activities we needed were handled professionally and efficiently. This is a place to relax, not hop around madly. We needed that break after 5 days rushing around BA and so our 2-night respite here was perfect.

  • Liked — Views, Staff
  • Disliked — Bathroom
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2008

What a terrific hotel. We stayed 3 days/nights in a lake view room and loved it. It may have helped that Bariloche was mid heatwave but I can't believe I wouldn't have felt the same in normal weather.

Our room was all white and with a wonderful hard yet soft(!) bed. Ok so the telly was a bit small but really...who wants to watch telly in Patagonia?? I spent an hour or two here and there just lying on the bed reading a book and feeling the breeze through the window... there was absolutely no noise... FABULOUS! This place is tucked away down a lane from the main road and set in its own grounds.

In mornings and evenings we strolled down to the jetty and I took a dip in the (freezing) lake before getting ready for breakfast/dinner. In the mornings we would find a little spot to sit/lie and read. About 11ish the activity chaps would stroll around and encourage you, with charm, to do something with them in the afternoon. They are really very flexible so we went kayaking one day and biking another. Meals were taken in a lovely high-ceiling-ed room overlooking the lake and the staff were extremely attentive. The breakfast buffet was limited but of a high quality and we really enjoyed the dinner choices. At £100 per night, this is decent value for a calm oasis but with a genuine all-inclusive activity list too.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2008

My partner and I stayed at Hotel Nires for 4 nights during our stay at Bariloche. Okay, the only con is that the room was a bit plain (if that can be a complaint) and the bed was hard, hard, hard - although after a few nights we got used to it.

The pros are many. The bathroom rocked - big open room and great shower. The location was stunning, and thankfully not in the main part of town which was a bit loud. The hotel is off road through a lively garden filled drive, sitting by the main lake in a beautiful setting and mountains framing the lake. Staff are incredibly friendly and helpful - we owe them so much for assisting us (particularly when one of our luggage was lost from the airline). The common areas (dining room, bar, living room, fireplace room) were cozy and large - and very comfortable. On one day when it rained, hanging in the room off on the side of the bar, near the fireplace was a perfect way to spend time waiting for the rain to stop. Oh, and breakfast was amazing - lots of food choices and all good.

Bariloche and the surrounding areas were more beautiful than expected - and we definitely want to return. Try to go to El Bolson for the artist fair - it's great!

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2007

Hotel Location:

It is located in a magnificent Bariloche area at a five minutes walk of Llao Llao village. If you will lodge at this hotel a car is recommended, it is at 1 hour from Airport, 45 minutes from Cerro Catedral (ski center) and 35 minutes from down town. Pick up from Airport and daily shuttle service to Catedral is offered free of charge.

Inns:
- Excellent lake views from common areas such as lobby, bar, restaurant and swimming pool
- Friendly staff
- Relaxing environment
- Great activities: such as walks, mountain bikes and many other options

Outs:
- Rooms are small, with a decent and clean but not modern bathroom and furniture
- Lake view from bedroom is great but we will loved to be able to have that view from bed
- Restaurant menu should be more extensive
- Salads were the only low fat options
- Windows at the swimming pool area were not clean

Ifs …
If you’re looking for a world class five stars hotel: not recommened
If you’re looking for a relaxing environment in a decent and clean hotel: recommended
If you will go to the Cerro Catedral: not recommend because is too far
If you will occasionally go to the Cerro Catedral but you will do other outdoors activities: recommended

General review:
We booked at this hotel was promoted as five stars hotel but according with our experience it is not a world class five stars hotel, so at first sight we were disappointed. Anyway we had a pleasant 5 days stat at this hotel.

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tunquelen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tunquelen

Address: Av. Exequiel Bustillo, Km 24.5 | Villa Llao Llao, San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 136 Hotels in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tunquelen 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its enviable location in Villa Llao Llao, Bariloche, its stunning views of Lake Nahuel Huapi and the Andes mountains, and the careful and customized service given to our guests make Hotel Tunquelen a unique place to anyone wishing to live the genuine experience of Patagonia Argentina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Tunquelen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tunquelen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.