We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not miss the Stations of the Cross” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catedral de San Carlos de Bariloche

Catedral de San Carlos de Bariloche
12 de Octubre & Beschtedt, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina, San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina
Improve this listing
Type: Churches/ Cathedrals, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Es uno de los lugares mas lindos de Bariloche, es enorme, con vitraux e imagenes . Parece una Catedral europea
Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Do not miss the Stations of the Cross”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

Do not miss the stations of the cross! We have seen none better.

This cathedral is a gothic church built in the 20th century. Because it has no side chapels along the nave, the height of the church seems to soar. However, the best parts of the church are the carved stations of the cross. These are unpainted and were were done by a man who was either an orphan or else was abandoned as a small child. He grew up poor and he taught himself to carve. The 14 Stations are both traditional but also show aspects of modern life. Mother Theresa is one of the women who greet Christ., for example. On another station, World War II soldiers make up part of the crowd. The church has odd opening hours and one never knows if it closes at 4 pm or opens at 4 pm but if you can manage to get in, do not miss the Stations of the Cross. We have seen many examples and this group is our favorite...over those in Europe and eastern Europe, those in North America and others in South America.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    359
    74
    12
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auroville, India
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“snow in spring”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

We arrivedin bariloche in full spring, but one day the temperatures went down and we had snow, the day after the sun came out and we went up to the cerro to have fun and enjoy with our kids....
It was a fantastic outing with an extraordinary view.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caulfield South
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Peace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Situated quitely on the side of the main street and the lakes to the other side looking at the Andes in the distance, one cannot help but feel drawn in by the surrounds. I sat on a large rock inthe car park for what seems an eternity just gazing across the lake as tyhe mists and fog slowly hid the cests of the Andes in the distance. When I was finally rested, I explored the cathedral which was small by comparitiuve standards however I was made more than welcome and enjoyed pleasantries with the local minister.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
“A nice visit...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We always visit the main church of the city where we stay, and the Catedral de San Carlos de Bariloche is worth a short visit. The inside is well preserved and in nice conditions. Go there to get at grip of the development of the area.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, new york
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Built in 1948, yet still not finished inside.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Beautiful location to take pictures across the lake. Interior inner walls unfinished due to political difference with the builder and the ruling leaders or party at the time.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catedral de San Carlos de Bariloche also viewed

San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 

Been to Catedral de San Carlos de Bariloche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catedral de San Carlos de Bariloche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.