We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steakilicious!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alto el Fuego

Alto el Fuego
20 de Febrero 451, San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina
+54 294 443-7015
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Abierto de lunes a sabado de 12 a 15 y de 20 a 24. Domingo cerrado
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Steakilicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This place is easy to miss, but please don't miss it! It is such a cute and cool restaurant! I had one of the best steaks there and the service was great too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    580
    123
    25
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marblehead, Ma
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We chose to eat at Alto el Fuego because we read about it on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. The restaurant it self had a wonderful aura and the food was delicious. As we learned, you split meals in Argentina as the portions are huge. We had a wonderful steak, salad, and outstanding Flan for dessert, which our waiter had made. The service was warm and friendly and you were made to feel very welcome.

We made our reservation, online, before we left for Argentina. We would recommend this.

When it was time to leave, they called a taxi for us and we were on our way--what more do you need!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Another great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I have been to Alto el fuego several times for dinner and the service has always been consistently high, food excellent and wine list reasonably priced. Remember to book in advance to make sure you get a table!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best steak in Bariloche”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Our waiter was able to explain the various cuts to us. They also have no problem letting you share orders. We tried several cuts and were happy with them all.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“bomb dot com”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Having been in Argentina for almost a month now, I have eaten bife de lomo in all the top spots in Buenos Aires and Bariloche. Alto el Feugo hands down has been the best my wife and I have tried! The service was perfect, just enough attention, but not in an annoying way and they speak perfect English! The decor is simple yet elegant and the prices are extremely fair. In fact I walked out of there thinking I underpaid for the meal it was that good!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alto el Fuego also viewed

San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 

Been to Alto el Fuego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alto el Fuego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.