We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 5-Star Hotel... But too plain and simple!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Panamericano Bariloche

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Panamericano Bariloche to your Saves list
Panamericano Bariloche
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av San Martin 536/70, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Del Viso, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A 5-Star Hotel... But too plain and simple!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

In this minimal holidays (we stay only for one night), we decided to go to a 5-star hotel. It is indeed a 5-star, but... It is too plain and simple! Definitely, it is NOT what you expect to receive from a 5 star residence... The lobby is a wide mixture of styles; the Hotel stopped in time (mid 80´s, perhaps), and seems to need an urgent facelift! Europeans, be aware: don´t expect the luxury and services you´re used to have in an European 5-Star. It is a good Hotel to be only at bed time... The bed is too soft, the heating system seems to work extremely well; in Autumm, along with my wife, we slept with all the windows open. The bathroom was OK for us, but no one goes to a 5-star for the bathroom... We didn't use the spa (is included in the price); we did use the breakfast service (also included). We do recommend this Hotel only for sleeping time, but for this purpose... Maybe you can choose another with less stars, and the same services!

Room Tip: Please ask for the rooms with the Nahuel Huapi Lake view... These rooms are the best! The Hotel is o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PANATEL_SA, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Panamericano Bariloche, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Huésped, nos complace saber que su estadía fue positiva y que disfruto de su habitación. Agradecemos sus comentarios y observaciones, le aseguro nos ayudan en la renovación de nuestras áreas comunes. Esperamos darle la bienvenida nuevamente y demostrarle los cambios realizados.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    137
    128
    52
    22
See reviews for
162
160
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Days before my trip to the beautiful Bariloche, I was reviewing, as usual, the comments on tripadvisor, regarding this hotel
I was worried, to say the least, as I didn't want my week off to be ruined by some of the many details I read, and that got me thinking.....I was just about to change it (which would have come into spending more than I expected)
Let's go to the facts:
-I got a special offer for the hotel, so the price I paid was very convenient (not the price they tell you at the front desk if you're a walk in = USD150 per night, breakfast included)

I don't know if some people lie or they received a different treatment thatn the one we had, but I read more than once things like, you don't get enough towels, you have to pay for eggs or han/cheese for breakfast, that there were no fruits whatsoever.....all of those things, in MY CASE, were not correct, as all of those aspects were cover by the hotel employees as expected
What I do have to say, regardless of anything, is that this is no 5 star, as the rooms are old, not fully well maintained, and depending on the day, the cleaning service can be a bit irregular

The lobby looks great, the staff at the fron desk was very nice at all times, and for instance, every day around 7, a maid would knock our door to check if we needed extra towels, new pillows or anything else, which was a nice touch. Yes, some of the towels are a bit worn out, but that was not a problem for me, as they were perfectly clean.
Another thing that I can't let pass is that the room had no safe, come on!! any 3 star hotel has one for you in the room!!

They also have the Casino, to which you have free entrance, I'm not a big fan, but went to check it out and was kinda funny, just after dinner and before going to bed

The one thing that did make me feel like in a 5 star hotel: The SPA and Lounge section: coming to the hotel, after a long day walking and touring, was a delight to be honest, the jacuzzi, the pool (water temperature was not always perfect though), and THE VIEWS from the relax area...just gorgeous. There is always hot water to prepare a tea, and some fruits available as well. You also have a gym and a sauna, which I never used

So, would I go back to the hotel: is I get another special offer as I did, count on it. Would I recommend the hotel: YES, but just letting you know first all the details described above

One more thing, on the GREAT side: Location, location, location!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PANATEL_SA, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Panamericano Bariloche, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado huésped, gracias por haberse tomado la molestia de compartir su experiencia. Nos complace saber que disfruto de nuestras instalaciones y pudo experimentar la calidez de nuestro servicio. Tomamos nota de sus observaciones para poder mejorar y esperamos poder contarlo entre nuestros huéspedes nuevamente.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolgellau, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Having spent our 1st two weeks in Argentina staying in small hotels we were somewhat disappointed with the Pan Americano. I had stayed here 5 years previously when my choir toured in Patagonia. This time I went with 2 friends and we shared a 3 bedded lake-view room which was pleasant and clean but very warm; we could find nothing with which to regulate the temperature and all we could do was open the window and allow the noise of Bariloche to dript in during the night. Fortunately I always take ear plugs with me on my travels. The sunbathing area by the side of the indoor pool is very small and can get crowded. There were too few sunbeds. The fitness room was very warm and uninviting and gave me the perfect excuse not to bother!
Breakfast was adequate but unimaginitive and some of the breakfast staff seemed uninterested. Reception staff were generally friendly but were a touch hit and miss with their information. This hotel does not merit 5 stars but its location is good and the rate we paid for the room was acceptable

Room Tip: Get a lake view - although the view will probably also include ugly views of the back of other buldi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PANATEL_SA, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Panamericano Bariloche, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very sorry we didn't meet your expectations this time around. We assure you all your observations will be considered in order to improve our service. We truly hope you give us the chance to host you again on your next visit to our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy. The service was horrible; the rooms were small and dirty. Not to mention, the staff was not helpful at all and was ridiculously unorganized. You should look into any of the boutique hotels in Bariloche. There are so many of them which ar the same price of the Panamericano and they will most likely be a much better stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PANATEL_SA, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Panamericano Bariloche, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado huésped, lamentamos profundamente que su estadía con nosotros no haya cubierto sus expectativas. Le agradecemos se haya tomado la molestia de enumerar los inconvenientes sufridos, sus comentarios nos ayudan a mejorar. Esperamos nos de la oportunidad de alojarlo nuevamente en el futuro y demostrarle los cambios realizados.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The first room we were shown was very small, 1 reading lamp and very tired. We told the desk we were disappointed and the manager found us a better room that was just ok. The staff was friendly but not knowledgeable about the town or area. There was little to no tourist information available. The breakfast in the morning was excellent. The area was also quite noisy.i would not recommend this hotel to my friends.
Pat C

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PANATEL_SA, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Panamericano Bariloche, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Pat, we´re very sorry about the inconveniences you suffered during your stay with us. We take them very seriously and are already working to solve them. Hopefully you will give us the chance to host you again and show you the improvements we've made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Very disappointed with the hotel overall. Starting with our room: we made the mistake of not booking a room with a lake view, which made the incredibly small room, with incredibly short ceilings, seem even smaller. The mattress was thin and old and therefore uncomfortable. There was only 1 thin pillow, so we had to ask for another. The decor was the kind that never should have existed in the first place-bad, cheap-furniture showroom-style from the 90's. To say that it was outdated is to say the least. The bathroom fixtures were crappy and old, and the bathroom tiles had grime between them. There were no amenities in the room when we first checked in, so we had to ask for them, and once they were brought, we might as well have gone to the drugstore and bought decent shampoo and soap, because these were also poor quality. The bedspread, comforter cover and blanket did not appear to have been laundered in a long time. Even though the heater was off, the room was really hot, and there was nothing that we could do about it because there was no thermostat for us to put on the fan or the air conditioner, and only one tiny window that did not open all the way. The pool seemed dirty, and the sunbathing area by the pool also did not look clean, and had only a couple of chairs on fake grass. The workout room was dismal, with only two very old treadmills on the verge of breaking down, and one stairmaster that must have come from the last century, and which obviously didn't work. The floor was very dirty, and there weren't too many other machines/weights to use. I was afraid to run on the treadmill because I thought that my head would likely hit the ceiling, as, again, it was way too short. Breakfast was atrocious-the coffee was undrinkable, the pastries were not fresh and seemed microwaved and factory-made, and they offered a very poor selection of meats/cheeses and cereals. After seeing the buffet the first morning, we ended up skipping it for the rest of our stay and going to Mamuschka for lovely pastries and delicious coffee. The staff wasn't very friendly, and minimally helpful. Stay somewhere else for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PANATEL_SA, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Panamericano Bariloche, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear guest, we´re really sorry your stay at our hotel was so dissapointing. Many of the things you mention come to us as a surprise, and we're alerady looking into them to find out what went wrong. We truly hope you give us the chance to show you what the standard of service at Panamericano really is in a future visit to our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Beds had old mattresses... We're basically just a thin layer of foam. Had a mildew smell and dusty interior. Was only one towel for our 4 occupants. They kept promising to bring them, but took more than 2 hours and several calls and even an attempt to go to the front desk to offer to get it ourselves.

Would like to try to be nice... maybe there is a renovated part of the hotel, but the part we stayed in was from the 60's... run down and old. I am sure it was nice back in its day, but that has long passed. bottom line is that I would not recommend this hotel to my enemies.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PANATEL_SA, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Panamericano Bariloche, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for sharing your experience at Panamericano Bariloche. We are truly sorry it didn't meet your expectations. We've taken your comment very seriously and are already working to solve the issues you mention. We do hope to have the chance to host you again and show you our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Panamericano Bariloche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panamericano Bariloche

Address: Av San Martin 536/70, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#22 Spa Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Panamericano Bariloche 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to the Centro Civico and a few steps away from the main shops, from its windows you can contemplate the majestic Nahuel Huapi lake, the mountain slope and Victoria island. A stream runs through the hotel, which guests can see in the lobby stonewall. Wonder at how pure and crystal clear the water springs are that spring from the heart of the mountain. Three hundred comfortable rooms offer a spectacular view of the surroundings, plus two restaurants, lobby bar, casino, health club with heated swimming pool, solarium, sauna, gym and beauty parlor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Panamericano Bariloche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panamericano Bariloche Hotel San Carlos De Bariloche
Panamericano Bariloche San Carlos De

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panamericano Bariloche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.