We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strangely moving” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Church of Our Lady of Nahuel Huapi

Church of Our Lady of Nahuel Huapi
12 de Octubre & Beschtedt, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
(294) 4434 084
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1946, this cathedral and its beautiful stained-glass windows are among the most moving sights of San Carlos de Bariloche.
asheville, north carolina
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Strangely moving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is a relatively new church, with no particularly distinctive architecture or art (there are some interesting stained glass windows showing native people slaughtering Christian missionaries!). But it seemed to me harmonious, and oddly but movingly spiritual. Well worth a visit.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    42
    9
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Peaceful and pretty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Lovely windows, great ambiance, and a peaceful place to visit. There are nice lawns surrounding the church where people just come to meet and sit and socialise.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
96 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Another of those special churches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Attended whilst service was in progress.What can I say it was absolutely lovely.There is something special about churches in South America. The people love their religion and behave accordingly.This is transferred to the places of worship and you feel it

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice to see”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The church is nice to see, nothing too special. As the whole town of Bariloche is not too special, it's full of tourist traps and students... I would not visit there again. Best option is to drive through with a car and enjoy the nature which is really much more appealing and rewarding.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad Jardin, Argentina
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

It is a very nice place with a rare architecture, different from the rest of Argentina, and beautiful vitros.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Church of Our Lady of Nahuel Huapi also viewed

San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 

Been to Church of Our Lady of Nahuel Huapi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Church of Our Lady of Nahuel Huapi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.