We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Epic view, easy enough hike.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Refugio Frey

Refugio Frey
San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina
Improve this listing
Type: Hiking Trails
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Camping refuge in the mountain town of Bariloche.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Epic view, easy enough hike.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

I'm not a big hiker but managed the 21km there and back in one day...about 6-7 hours. The view when you arrive is amazing. We also starting climbing the rocks to the side of the cabins, got a couple hundred metres up and had awesome views looking down at the lake.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    35
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Argentina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

It's a beautiful hike up, you must go for advice at Club Andino Bariloche, if you ascend in fall or winter, beacause the changing climate. You can see the towers of Cathedral mountain, the Refugio it's situated on the banks of the Toncek lagoon, at 1700mts. The view is amazing, but if you spent the night, you prefer to sleep in your sleepingbags. In two days it's a great hike.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailey, Idaho, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the highlights of our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Don't miss the amazing hike to Refugio Frey and if you can, stay the night! It's perched next to a lake surrounded by spires with fabulous sunsets and sunrises. Everyone is so friendly and you can even order homemade pizza if you stay. There's rock climbing in summer and ice skating and skiing in the winter. We did the Chico Circuit hike to the next Refugio Jacob. Very steep up and down with no switchbacks so be prepared if you plan to do the 3 day trek. It was well worth it to approach Jacob from above and get the birds eye view before the final descent.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fairly rigorous hike with a decent reward at the end”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

There is a nice hike up, which was among the more vertical and challenging that we encountered (probably on par with Laguna de Los Tres and Laguna Torre in El Chalten). The hike goes through three separate ecosystems - drybrush, forest and mountain, with some beautiful transitions. The lake on top is beautiful. If you will be hiking in El Chalten or to other mountain lakes, this one is probably redundant.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice hike, beautiful views and friendly staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We started the hike from the huge parking lot in villa catedral. It took us about three hours to get to the refugio frey on a beatiful trail, where the surrounding changes several times. As we arrived, we were welcomed friendly and informed about hikes for the next day and the afternoon. The small lake beside the refugio was a welcome refreshing! For dinner we ate pizza -> fantastic homemade dough! The matresses in the upper floor aren't very new but easy. We took our good sleepingbags with us and would recommend that. The breakfast was good (homemade bread)! The second day, we walked to laguna schmoll and in this direction to cerro catedral. It was a great two days hike, which we really recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Refugio Frey also viewed

San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 

Been to Refugio Frey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Refugio Frey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Refugio Frey to your Saves list