We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Placed Hotel for shops and Lake” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edelweiss Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Edelweiss Hotel to your Saves list
Edelweiss Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. San Martin 202, San Carlos de Bariloche R8400ALP, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Well Placed Hotel for shops and Lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was a good hotel if a bit dated.Our room was very spacious with a view over the street at the
front. No lake view as the hotel was two blocks back but not far to walk to it. Shops were near
too and what a selection - every second one was a chocolate outlet. Breakfasts were fine,not as
good as some hotels we stayed at,but overall a good selection of food. Dinners were pretty good
too - they definately knew how to cook their steaks. We didn't have much time to relax but the
indoor pool and the little outside terrace on the top floor were a great bonus. Staff efficient and
aimed to please.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdelweissHotel, Reservations Department at Edelweiss Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Jane M,
Thank you very much for taking the time of writing a review about the Edelweiss! We are glad to know you had a nice stay! We look foward to welcoming you again during your next visit to Bariloche!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    161
    50
    21
    8
See reviews for
121
144
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We really enjoyed a couple of nights here. Very friendly and helpful staff, and check-in and out was a breeze. Centrally located, very clean and rooms well maintained. A place where relaxation seemd to come naturally, especially after a day touring. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdelweissHotel, Ventas & Reservas at Edelweiss Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Geoff M, thank you for choosing the Edelweiss Hotel for your visit to San Carlos de Bariloche. It is a pleasure for us to know that you have enjoyed your stay, and that it was relaxing. We appreciate that you share your comments here, and your kind words. We hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asheville, north carolina
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed at the Edelweiss twice, within a two week period. Both rooms were neat, clean, attractive if fairly bland, and functional. The staff is helpful and friendly. The hotel is a couple of blocks in from the lake, so there are really not very many rooms with a decent view. The breakfast is fine. Overall, if you are looking for a good, comfortable place to sleep, this is a good choice.

Room Tip: The streets on both sides (the hotel is on a corner) can get pretty noisy at night -- late at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdelweissHotel, at Edelweiss Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Samuel S, we really appreciate your comments! we are very grateful that you took the time to write a review and help other guests to make their decisions. It will be a pleasure to receive you here for your 3rd and following visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed at this hotel with 30+ tour group for two nights. Arrived at 9pm after hard travelling day from Puerto Varas.Reception staff were very efficient getting us to our rooms quickly.Restaurant had arranged for us all to have a late meal which was excellent all round.Free wine was given to us which was a nice gesture. Our room was above average but no air conditioning simply a fan.Outside was crisp and very refreshing so air con was not really required. Good views and very clean. No complaints for a two night transit stay. Ideal central location everything within walking distance.Impressive snow capped views of Andes what more could you want.Breakfast good standard both days and 2nd night evening meal trout fillet was superb and once again the hotel provided wine as a gesture of goodwill which was well received by the party.Waiters very friendly and helpful. Infact this was a very friendly hotel all round. Had a rescheduled flight to Buenos Aries so had a late 8pm departure from hotel. As a lot of the local restaurants do not open until 7.30pm most of our party had food from the bar which was also good but the bar service was a bit on the slow side which really was our only complaint. Would I stay again ? definately yes !! so there you have it

Room Tip: Try and see your room before acceptance as there appears to be a variation in standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdelweissHotel, Ventas & Reservas at Edelweiss Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
JBG1, thank you very much for your detailed review! Our central location is a great benefit for our guests, so you can walk downtown after the excursions. We appreciate also your opinion about the dinner, we are glad you have enjoyed it! Hope to receive you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ISRAEL
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, in January and found the room comfortable, and the position of the hotel excellent.

The Beds were comfortable and the bathroom, whilst small, was in excellent condition. No air conditioning in the room though, but a ceiling fan did help make our stay comfortable.

The room we had was facing the street, and the noise from the street was made it difficult to fall asleep.

The breakfast offered was good, with a large assortment of items to choose from.

Room Tip: Ask for a room NOT facing the street. Lot of street noise in this Touristic town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdelweissHotel, Ventas & Reservas at Edelweiss Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear LENMIRI, thank you very much for your kind words. We are happy to know that you found the rooms comfortable and that you have enjoyed your stay. We hope to have you back soon! Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The hotel has aged, but not gracefully. The reception has probably one of the most sleepy and slow staff you can find in South America.

Rooms have not been renovated since the hotel was built and most rooms are noisy.

When you try and change room they will give you something even worse.

The smell from the pool on the 5th floor is not acceptable.

Room Tip: If you want to stay, make sure to get a room facing the lake and on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdelweissHotel, Ventas & Reservas at Edelweiss Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Olle A, thank you for taking your time to write a review. Although everybody has its own opinion and we respect all the comments, it is important for us to explain you that every room has been renovated at the Hotel by 2009. Regarding your comments about the pool, we have a very strict standard of cleanness and it is accomplished every day. We would like to receive you here again, so you can have a different stay at the Edelweiss Hotel. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Saba, Israel
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Hotel in the center of the town. No airconditioning- room stuffy so had to leave window open. Turned out that the room (218) was opposite the hotel's generator, which came on during the night and woke us up. For the next night they gave us a fan, so we could close the window!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back courtyard seem quieter, but beware of the Generator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edelweiss Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edelweiss Hotel

Address: Av. San Martin 202, San Carlos de Bariloche R8400ALP, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#22 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#32 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Edelweiss Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We will not only stand out for an excellent service… but we will also be remembered for the pleasure of staying at Edelweiss Hotel.Conveniently located in the downtown area, only steps away from Nahuel Huapi lake and the Civic Centre, our refurbished and modernized infrastructure is in perfect harmony with the natural surroundings; mountains, forests and lakes. It is a place that feels like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Edelweiss Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Hotel Bariloche

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edelweiss Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.