We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edelweiss Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Edelweiss Hotel to your Saves list
Edelweiss Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. San Martin 202, San Carlos de Bariloche R8400ALP, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
bucks
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Really nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Thought the hotel was on the whole good. We had a nice lake view room on the 4th floor, but be aware the windows are very dangerous as they are very low and open out really wide, an accident waiting to happen. Nice large room with a good sized bathroom. Staff speak good English and all very helpful.
Great location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdelweissHotel, Ventas & Reservas at Edelweiss Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear LoobyBacks,
Thank you for taking the time to write your comment. Our guests opinions are very important for us. We hope you had a nice time, and look foward to welcoming you again soon!
Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    165
    53
    21
    8
See reviews for
123
151
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Poor reception experience when they incorrectly billed me then asked for more money. Dreadful breakfast not fit for one star hotel. Small but clean and comfortable room. Bathroom in need of upgrade. Nice pool if on small side. Overall too expensive for what you get hence the title. P.s. checkout was pathetically inefficient as well

Room Tip: Don't go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdelweissHotel, at Edelweiss Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Drk20, we are very sorry about your experience at the Edelweiss Hotel. We are sure that the inconvenient at the Front Desk was an error, and we apologize for that. As every opinion is usefull for knowing our guests, we are gratefull about your comments. We hope you had enjoy your visit in Bariloche. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This Hotel is not a 5 Star hotel in any part of the world. You have the sensation you are in a cruise cabin. The rooms are extremely small, uncomfortables, small bathrooms, and old fashioned. The breakfast buffet was very poor and lame. Would not stay Here again.

Room Tip: Top rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdelweissHotel, Ventas & Reservas at Edelweiss Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Malf31, thank you for dedicating your time to write a review. All opinions are valid, but we are sorry about your comments, we expect that next time we will fill your expectations. The city is lovely at summer and we hope you could enjoy it. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and found it clean and well presented. The bedroom and bathroom were clean and bright and looked like they had been updated not long ago. At reception the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. Our room was at the back and was very quiet, front rooms had glimpses of the lake we believe but we were on a package so had the cheaper rooms. Wi Fi was available but if you need it, ask for rooms toward the middle of the building as we were at the end of a corridor and it dropped out every minute or so and I had to use the lobby to maintain connection.The position is in town and is an easy 5 minute walk to downtown and 100's of chocolate shops and many restaurants. There are a lot of hotels on the lakeside but have no idea of their quality or prices.
I would not say it is value for money though as it is expensive for what is offered. Breakfast was basic but adequate. We ate out so have no idea of the dining room.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdelweissHotel, Ventas & Reservas at Edelweiss Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Dinkumguy, thank you for your review! Your comment is very important for us, it helps us improve our services and know more about our guests preferences. We hope to have you back soon! Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We arrived after the long 13 hours Andean boat/bus crossing from Puerto Varas, Chile.

Our purpose of visiting Bariloche was to enjoy a pretty town and charming hotel, but we did not get either as expected. But, we've never been here, so cannot compare to standards of the region, and I must preface this criticism with that. Perhaps we are not the kind of tourist for this place.

Immediate impact of hotel arrival was mixed horror. The beds were very small, hallways tight and claustrophobic, no air circulating in hallways. First room given us had tiny window looking at a wall, stuffy. Because double bed was too small for a couple, we were able to get another room with two twins put together. The hotel staff really did a good job of making this a comfortable bed, with good padding to join them nicely, and so we could sleep comfortably.

Our travel agent inquired about king size bed, but response was that only available in suites, and the price is US$600 more. Give me a break, nothing in this hotel could be worth that!

The first room had an air fan switch, perhaps to create some circulating air. The second room did not. But it had a window that opened into another wall area. At least we could get fresh air, and there were no bugs, so we kept it open. Otherwise, the room would have been intolerable. Walking the claustrophobic, no circulating air hallways, is not pleasant.

We ate our first night in the bar area, and the meal was adequate, nothing fancy, but tasted good.

The Internet WiFi is free and fast, you must get a code (I had to annoy front desk many times to get that code).

Breakfast was so-so, but got us going.

Beware of the killer elevator! We are accustomed to pushing the floor button, maybe a little buzz, and then the doors close soon after. If someone is still entering, a gentle touch reopens them. However, on this hotel's elevator, when you hit the floor button, doors slam closed hard immediately, and whatever is in their path will get cut/bruised.

The town of Bariloche was very disappointing. Shops for adventure travelers and chocolate. Nothing more, nothing much of interest. I did get lucky with a small artisan fair in park for handcrafted items. I got the impression, could be wrong, that this is a town for adventurers to stay a night or two, then hit the trails or slopes or something outdoors.

As we were there simply to enjoy the town, it was not for us. Especially after Puerto Varas, charming town in beautiful Chilean lake district.

Room Tip: We had room in back, so no traffic sounds, but no air or view either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdelweissHotel, Ventas & Reservas at Edelweiss Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
NoWhereLikeHome, thank you for your comment. We are sorry to know that you disliked our Hotel and our city. This is an excellent season to visit Bariloche and be in contact with nature. We will be glad to have you back in another opportunity and help you change your experience at the Edelweiss Hotel and at Bariloche City. We remain at your disposal. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at the Edelweiss for one night following a bike trip in Patagonia. The hotel was a disappointment, especially given the price. Our rooms were in need of a facelift, bathrooms a bit seedy, carpeting worn. There are so many lovely small places outside of Bariloche that I would recommend opting for one of those. This hotel seemed impersonal and sixties urban, not in keeping with the area. Breakfast was included and was the typical Argentinian breakfast. Service was lackluster to borderline rude (a bartender). View from room was of other rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdelweissHotel, Ventas & Reservas at Edelweiss Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear JRH5, we are sorry about your disappointment. Our Classic rooms looks to the back of the Hotel, and the Superior rooms are the ones that have lake view. We apreciate your comments and we will be working to improve our failures. Have a nice year! Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We chose this hotel because it's located in town with easy access to all the shopping and tour agencies. Even with rainy weather one day, we were able to do our own chocolate tour by walking around doing chocolate taste tests at the many excellent chocolate outlets. We went in December, and although it was supposed to be warmer, it was unseasonably cool. Still enjoyed the amazing view from our room at Edelweiss. The staff was always helpful, and quickly provided an upgraded room free of charge when they realized our "child" was quite tall and not so child-sized. The buffet breakfast was just "ok", but it was included. The "gym" is sparse even by hotel standards, so best to plan hikes, skiing etc for exercise. The hotel is a little pricey, so expect lots of tourists. Overall, I recommend Edelweiss as a great place to stay in Bariloche.

Room Tip: Definitely be sure that you get a view of the lake and mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdelweissHotel, Ventas & Reservas at Edelweiss Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Chunkalunks, thank you for your kind review and for having choosen the Edelweiss Hotel to enjoy your stay. We apreciate your words and the time you took to write your comment. We will be glad to receive you soon. Best Wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edelweiss Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edelweiss Hotel

Address: Av. San Martin 202, San Carlos de Bariloche R8400ALP, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#14 Spa Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#22 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Edelweiss Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We will not only stand out for an excellent service… but we will also be remembered for the pleasure of staying at Edelweiss Hotel.Conveniently located in the downtown area, only steps away from Nahuel Huapi lake and the Civic Centre, our refurbished and modernized infrastructure is in perfect harmony with the natural surroundings; mountains, forests and lakes. It is a place that feels like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Edelweiss Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Hotel Bariloche

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edelweiss Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.