We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Overall, but needs remodelling the rooms.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tres Reyes

Save Saved
You added Hotel Tres Reyes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Tres Reyes
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av 12 de Octubre 135, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Belo Horizonte, MG
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Very Good Overall, but needs remodelling the rooms.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

Me and my wife stayed there for 3 nights. It is a very well located hotel. It is a historic building, but needs some parts to be remodelated and renewed. The rooms are wide but ours was not well distributed: a spacious room and a medium bedroom. The bathroom needs to be imediately renewed. It is old, not beautiful. The bed was very confortable, full of sheets and pillows. The hotel offers elevator and they have FREE INTERNET ACCESS. The breakfast is rich and varied with a sort of breads, juices and fruits. Staff is friendly. Be aware of tourist agents that try to sell you Tango Shows, Specialty Dinners, Attractions and more. They overprice everything and force you to resolve imediately saying that it is full and that they do not have too much places, tickets are ending, etc. They are aparently kind, but only want to sell. If going to Cerro Catedral, reserve at least a day to visit.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    73
    22
    5
    3
See reviews for
50
87
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

We chose this hotel as it was a pick up point for the '3 Lakes Crossing' to Chile.. but then found the bus stopped at many other hotels en route to the departure quay nr the Llao Llao. However for one night if you need a centre of town hotel at a reasonable price then its probably a good choice - easy walking distance to all the shops & restaurants (and the 3 Lakes Crossing office), and many rooms have a good view over the Lake. NB If you can, choose a top floor room as a) less traffic noise and b) close to the free internet room. Also on the plus side, the staff are very helpful & the hotel has free Wifi. The bedrooms are small & functional. Personally I wouldn't want to stay more than 1 night there but we didn't like Bariloche town - too touristy/chocolate-boxy place. The 3 Lakes Crossing was great, only marred by having a large, noisy, heavy smoking package holiday group with us - who for some reason were given precedence over the independent travellers which meant we had to wait around for ages at both borders.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2009

Tres Reyes is an average 3-star hotel, centrally located in Bariloche. Across its main entrance you'll find the beatiful Nahuel Huapi Lake, and two blocks up the cornering street you're in the heart of Bariloche, with all its stores, restaurants and etc.
The room is a bit tiny, and also is the bed, but can't complain about the cleaniness. The staff is very kind and helpful.
Would recommend for those who are looking for a fair cost-benefit.
When considering other options, watch out for the location. You'll find many hotels in Bariloche's suburb, not a walking distance from downtown.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room size
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2008

We stayed at this hotel when we travelled to Argentina with offtoargentina and it was pleasant. The location is perfect, a couple of min walk from centre. The room was good sized and clean. Breakfast was good too. Bariloche is a nice place to visit. The village looks like an Alpine village. The scenery is out of this world.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2008

I chose this hotel for location for where the Cruce Lago boat docked (so we wouldn't have far to go with luggage) but it turned out the boat changed their location to the peninsula area afterwards.

This hotel is very dated and security is poor.The room doors do not have security chains either. Carpet is old and should be replaced. I think the place was clean, but so dated it gave a yucky feeling. If you are street-side it is very noisy and would suggest booking a room away from the street. Don't bother asking for a lake view room because you are blocked by traffic lanes and trees.

The included breakfast was okay. Most of S. America uses canned fruit cocktail (watch out for the cherries!!!! There are pits inside of them!) and I'd prefer fresh fruit but they did cook eggs on request.
Now for the positive thoughts: Great location to the main shopping street and the square. The service was very good from all of the employees. Very kind care of their clients. I wouldn't book here again though.

  • Liked — The staff were very kind and helpful.
  • Disliked — noise, heat (no air conditioning), lack of security, needs to be updated as it looks very tired and overused
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2008

My husband and I travelled to Bariloche for a 4 week skiing adventure. We didn't particularly want to go with a guided tour so we decided to book our own accommodation.

We decided to stay here as my husband had previously stayed here on 3 occassions for business (one stay was 1 month).

While the hotel is not flashy or the best bathrooms or mod-cons, it is clean, has a fantastic view of the lake and is only 1 block from the main street.

We stayed for 2 weeks in the Suite. There was a little noise from the street traffic of a morning, but the double-glazed windows helped with the reduced noise. The room had a huge king size bed with ensuite (the bathroom desperately needs to be renovated). The loungeroom had 2 wing chairs and an occassional lounge, chairs and TV (the TV also needs an update). On a few occassions you could hear kids running through the hallway, but on average the room was fairly quiet - AND IT HAD AN UNINTERUPPTED VIEW OF THE LAKE!! The rooms were cleaned on a daily basis (they even folded our clothes one day!!).

Breakfast was included in the price - a great spread of cakes, pastries, cereals, breads, smallgoods and eggs (you have to ask for the eggs - they cook them fresh for you).

The front desk staff are very friendly and speak good english.

Overall, a very good experience for the rate. Great location, no problems with cleanliness or staff. If you want a quiet room, ask for a garden view.

  • Liked — The view, location in town, cleanliness, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Outdated bathroom and TV (but they are upgrading the rooms slowly!)
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2007

Good location. Room quite small. Small TV located above the door. You get the remote control from the front desk after you sign a form?! Wonderful staff. Breakfast is well above average. You will hear a lot of noise from the traffic; tip - close the exterior window shutters for noise filtering. Very nice resort with great dining. Spend at least 2-3 days there. I stayed only 1 night and wish I had spent more time over there. Many chocolate factories with excellent chocolate variety.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Tres Reyes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tres Reyes

Address: Av 12 de Octubre 135, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#9 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#20 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tres Reyes 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Tres Reyes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tres Reyes Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tres Reyes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.