We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff & best stocked kitchen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alaska Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Alaska Hostel to your Saves list
Alaska Hostel
Lilinquen 328 | Pinar de Festa, San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hull
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great staff & best stocked kitchen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Originally booked for only 2 nights and ended up staying for 5. We found the staff so helpful and knowledgeable and with so much to do we couldn't fit it all in in 2 days. The kitchen is the biggest and best we've found so far in Argentina, they even had a wok and a juicer! The homemade bread for breakfast is fantastic too.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    23
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
8
55
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I stayed at Alaska Hostel for a week last year over the summer with friends during our trip through Patagonia. Out of all the hostels we stayed at during our 3 week trip, this place was BY FAR the best.

We had initially only planned to stay 3 days, however it was such a great fit for us (we rented a car and did the 7 lakes drive/ hiking and trekking around the area) that we stayed another until the end of the week.

The place has an awesome cabin feel with long tables when you enter and a huge kitchen with anything you'd need to cook. Complimentary breakfasts, tea and coffee in the morning had some staying power for the rest of the day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Out of the 9 or 10 hostels I have stayed in, in Argentina, this has the right balance of homelyness, quality of service and affordability. It's a perfect place; you don't need to be in the centre of Bariloche to experience the beautiful countryside around (infact this hostel is closer to what you want to see) and it's half the price of the ones in town. Not to mention quieter. The area is still well provided for in terms of buses, supermarkets and restaurants. The place is very relaxed and you can easily feel at home - this doesn't detract from the service provided (which is often the case) as it has everything and more you'd expect from a hostel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

What a fantastic spot!

This is not a hostel, it´s far more of a home.

It´s just far out enough from the city to feel removed and at peace. There is a supermarket that is well-stoked just down the road where you can get and top-up buscards (which Alaska can, at times, supply).

Beautiful garden and a few super-friendly (non-flea) pets for company.

Javi is very helpful, but scarce around the house. Naty is far more present and doesn´t stop helping when you ask for it!

The dorms are nice and clean, cool and your bed gets made every day!!

Good bathrooms and spacious kitchen. Amazing showers. Well-supplied kitchen with THREE stovetops for use.

TV, Wifi, computer, books and a nice communal feel to the eating and living areas.

Only a few glitches to this hostel. Is you´re having a good time at night, it´s hard to keep things quiet for others as the walls are paper-thin. This might lead to slashing a good time short or just upsetting other visitors for a night.

The kitchen area and living room COOk during the day in summer. Thankfully the dorms and downstairs remain cool!

Bus stops really close and convenient!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed for over 10 days at Alaska hostel after only have intially planed to stay for four. Its without a doubt my favorite hostel in Patagonia. If your after a quiet stay away from the city, this hostel really is a must.

Javi and Naty the owners are what make this place so special. It is only a small hostel and is very much a family atmosphere. Its very social, which is a huge plus if your a solo traveller.

Whilst this hostel is a little out of town, that is perhaps what makes it so fantastic. The dorms are very clean, breakfast is included which is a huge plus, even after i missed breakfast one morning Javi the owner personaly cooked me eggs.
There is really no better choice than Alaska hostel in Bariloche, you wont be dissapointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Our stay in Alaksa Hostel was great! It is a small hostel and our double room was actually quite small, but all the other things in Alaska hostel are great.
When we arrived Nati gave us loads of information about Bariloche. She was very helpfull and helped us with all the things we wanted to do in Bariloche. She explained us how we could easily do things ourself by bus (and save money). The hostel itself is a bit out of the centre, but on the way to the lakes and nice viewpoints. You don´t have to be in the centre of Bariloche, because all the activities are outside the centre.
The kitchen was complete! Everything you need is there, even oil and herbs to cook. The common area is cozy, so you meet a lot of other travellers there.
We had a great stay in Alaska Hostel and would really recommend it if you visit Bariloche.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed in Alaska Hostel for four nights and it was amazing!

The little Hostel outside the city of Bariloche is a good place to stay some days.
Its a clean, good equipt hostel and wonderful to get in touch with other travellers!

Also Naty and Javi are very friendly and attentive and are helping with all you need!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alaska Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Hostel

Address: Lilinquen 328 | Pinar de Festa, San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 211 Specialty Lodging in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a stunning view of Cerro Catedral, 4 blocks away from Playa Bonita and only 10 minutes from downtown Bariloche you will find a rustic hostel with great atmosphere, where you will feel at home. We are located at Km 7.5 Bustillo Road, in a pleasant and quiet area very close to Playa Bonita, on the shore of Nahuel Huapi Lake, with an incredible view to the mountains. Just ten minutes from downtown Bariloche, in the way to Cerro Catedral Ski Center and Llao Llao Hotel. Once at the hostel you will find a full equipped kitchen and washing facilities, a garden with a place for BBQ, parking, free internet access, WiFi in all the hostel, TV, DVD & movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Alaska Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alaska Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.