We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owners make your stay in Bariloche brilliant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alaska Hostel

Save Saved
You added Alaska Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alaska Hostel
Lilinquen 328 | Pinar de Festa, San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Owners make your stay in Bariloche brilliant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed in this hostel over new year for 3 nights and it was busy every night. It's a very sociable hostel with everyone up the kitchen or sitting area or in the garden. But it's Naty and Javi, the owners, that absolutely make this place, and why I would highly recommend it. They both couldn't have done more to help....booking tours, advising us on all our walks, hiring bikes, booking buses....and even getting me out of trouble when I needed advice a week after I'd left! They are such a lovely couple and they work so hard at this hostel and really make you feel so at home. Only cons are that the rooms are on the small side, it can be quite noisy and hot, there aren't enough bathrooms, and the place could do with a renovation but they have priced it accordingly so I think that these are easily overlooked when you get to know Naty and Javi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    20
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
47
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We have been traveling for the last year; everywhere from Europe to Asia to South America and this is our favorite hostel so far.

It takes about 20 minutes from the bus station and 15 minutes from the center of town to get there, but the location is still great. Bus access is very easy and once you have a bus card, getting around Bariloche is a breeze.

We enjoyed the mountain cabin feel of the hostel. The layout allowed people plenty of space, but made the atmosphere conduce to talking and sharing with other travelers. The breakfast that is included is great. The spread isn't huge, but the bread is baked fresh while you eat, and the coffee is brewed not instant.

The owner/manager Javi was a really informative, friendly, and attentive guy. the rooms, kitchen, bathrooms, and grounds are very clean and well kept. We thought that the patio and grill area were great for hanging out.

Definitely spend some time hiking in the area, buy some meat from the carniceria a few blocks away for an asado, check out the local brewery for happy hour.

We would 100% stay here again and recommend this place to people looking for budget accommodations with a chill/relaxed hostel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed here as everyone I ran into so far on my travels that had been to Bariloche had stayed here and raved about it. I was not disappointed. Alaska is a home away from home, the best hostel I´ve stayed in so far in 2 months of travelling in South America.
Naty, Javi and Luca are wonderful hosts. On arrival I was given a full induction and run down of the hostel, the town, transport, what there was to do and see in the area and advice on how to maximise my time there.
The hostel itself is very cosy, the beds comfortable, the bathrooms clean, great breakfast of homemade bread and jams. The atmosphere was very chilled out and friendly.
It is out of town, but there is no reason to go into town at all - except to the chocolate shops! Everything you want to do is out of town, and you´re halfway there if you stay at Alaska. The buses are easy to use and run frequently.
Get in early and make sure you book to stay at Alaska.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Lovely place, best hostel I stayed in on this trip. Javi was very helpful, gives you a proper 'induction' session at arrival and explains everything you would usually have to ask - like trasport, hiking options, attractions etc. I find it a great value service. Atmosphere is very chilled, it's nice to come back after a long hike. Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

As hostels go this is at the top of the list. The owners Nati & Havi are a young couple & have really put some effort into making the place welcoming & well equipped.

It's out of the main town (absolutely no need to stay in Bariloche town) off the main road & really close to the transport links, supermarkets, local stores, 3 micro breweries & a darn good steak house if you fancy a well priced meat fest!

It had a really well equipped kitchen (2 cookers & more equipment than you could ever need) The social areas were great & with the place being so chilled, everyone tended to hang around mix in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The staff at Alaska Hostel are welcoming and warm, the rooms are clean and cozy, the kitchen is beautiful and clean, and the location is quiet and central (not in the city or on a main road, but the bus is easily accessible). I highly recommend this hostel, it is the best one I´ve ever stayed in!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

i spent about 10 days at the Alaska this year on my first ski trip to argentina. it couldnt have been more perfect. the culture of the hostel was awesome- in early september its a combination of skiers, climbers and the occasional wanderer. somewhat younger crowd that was always very social, but never too loud too late. the owners live across the street and are always around to help out... and i mean with anything... we had a skier tear his binding out of the ski at cerro catedral and Javi produced and endless supply of power tools and hardware, not to mention personal expertise, to get us back in the game. he also offers to throw large cookouts pretty regularly... for us this featured the best churipan ive ever had and a mountain of local trout. amazing. i cant say enough good about this place

Room Tip: rooms downstairs are quieter, but a rowdy group should stay in the large suite on the main floor or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alaska Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Hostel

Address: Lilinquen 328 | Pinar de Festa, San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 180 Specialty lodging in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a stunning view of Cerro Catedral, 4 blocks away from Playa Bonita and only 10 minutes from downtown Bariloche you will find a rustic hostel with great atmosphere, where you will feel at home. We are located at Km 7.5 Bustillo Road, in a pleasant and quiet area very close to Playa Bonita, on the shore of Nahuel Huapi Lake, with an incredible view to the mountains. Just ten minutes from downtown Bariloche, in the way to Cerro Catedral Ski Center and Llao Llao Hotel. Once at the hostel you will find a full equipped kitchen and washing facilities, a garden with a place for BBQ, parking, free internet access, WiFi in all the hostel, TV, DVD & movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Alaska Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alaska Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.