We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply gorgeous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa to your Saves list
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Ezequiel Bustillo km 25, San Carlos de Bariloche R8409ALN, Argentina   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
ARS3,600 (ARS)
Santiago, Region Metropolitana, Chile
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“simply gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

It took a day to sink in but in the end it did : it is mind-boggingly beautiful! The hotel is in the form of a kind of winter chalet, a bit rustic, and a bit luxurious, in a nice balance that promises a quiet elegance. But there is nothing quiet about the scenery that surrounds this little corner of paradise: surrounded by lakes (how many? seemed to be in all directions!), mountain peaks, some white some not, but which in the snow must be even more picturesque, rolling hills and flowers. The smell of lavender is in the air, which was fresh and pleasant, and if you took a walk around the sound of the birds and the forest was extremely soothing.

We tried two of the restaurants and the spa. The food was excellent, cocktails good and the outdoor pool very cool! Plus the staff is extremely capable, well numbered, polite and attentive. Everyone friendly and helpful. We will be back here if we can!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LlaoLlaoHotel, Public Relations Manager at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Violette I Wooow! Such a great review by such a discerning traveler! Thank you! Your description of Llao Llao is fantastic. Two lakes, Nahuel Huapi and Moreno are the most splendid frame, that, along with the Andes mountains, surrounds the property. We honor the vision of our founders; and try to be up to the highest service standards. Our guests deserve the best. Thank you for choosing us. We will be happy to receive you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    798
    130
    25
    14
    8
See reviews for
264
438
28
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I didn't want to leave the Llao llao, I could have lived there forever! We were lucky to have a room in the Moreno Lake part of the hotel and the view was amazing! The room was huge and the bathroom unbelievable! It was so quiet that we felt so special. The main building is gorgeous, the pool was fantastic. We used the spa, took a yoga class and the breakfast is wow! I can't say enough great things about this place, I want to go back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LlaoLlaoHotel, Public Relations Manager at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Katie B What a compliment!! It feels so rewarding...Our mission is not achieved if our guests don't feel like coming back, and is renewed in each and every stay. We will be happy to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

One of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed in the world. Stayed in the new building in a suite overlooking the lake. Our room had super large windows looking out at the amazing surroundings very direction. The only thing that could have been better was the food. It was ok but definitely just didn't match the iconic property.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LlaoLlaoHotel, Public Relations Manager at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
happy427 Your description of our property is very flattering!! Thank you for considering us as part of your pole position of the most beautiful places on earth!
And thank you for your observation about our gastronomic offer. We appreciate the voice of those who remind us that excellence is hard to achieve...and our daily challenge.
Have a happy new year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Of course, this is a great (and large) hotel in beautiful surroundings. Staff is very attentive, fluent in English. However, staying in an icon hotel has the downside of over expectation.
The hotel is really massive and thus a bit impersonal. The standard room is just standard and at the small end (estimate of some 20 sqm including little entrance and bathroom. The goodies are OK and lavender perfumed.
The restaurant is a bit stiff and the bistro is not as cozy as one would expect.
The breakfast is surprisingly straightforward for those who are used to Asian breakfast buffets in lesser hotels. However, for Argentine standards probably lavish.
A great thing is playing golf here at a very attractive rate, in particular when you pay with 'blue Euro's'. Would I come again? Probably, just for the sights and the golf course, not so much for the rooms and the food.

Room Tip: Pay in blue Euro's or blue dollars and you will have a discount of between 35-45%
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LlaoLlaoHotel, Public Relations Manager at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
PieterdeN Thank you for your words, and for the time you've taken to share your experience with us, specially for the readers.
We know you are a highly discerning traveler, and we are very grateful for having the chance to interact with you. We're glad you consider visiting Llao Llao again. We take this opportunity to suggest our rooms of Moreno Wing for you next stay. Opened in December 2007, is designed with contemporary essence, however preserving the identity Llao Llao, iconic mentioned in your review.
Have a joyful 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

5 stars is all I can say! Where do I start. The views are to die for with huge snow capped mountains views from all sides. Our room was a bit small but we loved how luxurious and clean it was. Restaurant, breakfast, lunch were all amazing. Close to Puerto Pañuelos for boat excursión. A bit far from town but bus ride isn't so bad. Close to Campanario. Excellent Spa services! Worth every penny!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LlaoLlaoHotel, Public Relations Manager at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
juamille So happy to know that your expectations were exceeded!! It is very inspiring when a guest shares an experience like yours. It is our pleasure to deliver lifetime memories. Thank you for choosing us. Have a joyful 2014...and come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maarssen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Llao Llao and were lucky to get an upgrade to a suite, overlooking the golf course, Lago Moreno and the mountains.The suite was located in the old building (1938) and obviously very luxurious and spacious, with nice furniture, good beds and a huge balcony. The bathroom was relatively small, but all you need is there. Regulating the heating though could only be done with the help of housekeeping and the piping system makes quite a bit of noise.
We arrived at Llao Llao by catamaran and the view from Lago Nahuel Huapi on the hotel is superb! The location on a hill between two lakes is absolutely unique.
Breakfast is super and served in a huge ballroom, where you make your Grand Entree descending red carpeted stairs. The variety of food is great and many things can be cooked on order. And the view is great.
We had lunch twice in the winter garden, which again was great.
For dinner we prefered to go outside, as we had a meal in the hotel which was mixed: great starter, mediocre main course and poor service and seating in a corner of a Stube style restaurant.

There are many opportunities for hiking and other activities in the area. We can recommend to do the 10 km hike from Catedral to Refugio Frey (and 10 km back), with great views. And obviously you should play a round of golf. The golf course is very nice, but slopery, especially at the end. You can hire good quality, new golf equipment, but it is rather pricy.
There is a swimming pool, inside and outside, as well as a great spa, where I enjoyed a nice massage twice.
The concierge made a few mistakes in arranging restaurants and massage, so we had to improvise twice, which you would not expect from a 5 star hotel.
Be aware that the hotel only accepts dolars at the official rate.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LlaoLlaoHotel, Public Relations Manager at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
MBMW It's an honor to read your words! Thank you for sharing your experience. We know that you are a very experienced traveler, that's why we especially value the score you gave!
We agree on your description of the scenario. It is truly breathtaking. And for us, a huge responsibility to honor such a paradise!
We do appreciate your words about our services. Of course we love to get compliments... but the observations on the items that did not reach your expectations, are the ones that allow us to improve our quality standards. Thank you for pointing them out.
Your suggestions about activities, golf and spa are really accurate, and will probably trigger great experiences for guests-to-be! Thank you very much for sharing, on our behalf, and on behalf of the readers!
Have a great 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson Heights, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Has to be one of the most exquisite places on the planet. Gorgeous -- beyond words. We were upgraded to a suite (thank you both Llao Llao and Julia K) which was spectacular inside and out (an enormous balcony with a breathtaking view of an astonishingly beautiful vista.) Staff was terrific; attentive but unobtrusive. Spa staff in particular was great (they also manage the gym. And they manage it well.) We borrowed bikes (in good condition) and did archery (with a patient instructor who had a welcome sense of humor.) Absolutely loved the place. It's pricey (the lunch buffet and the cocktails in particular) but very very special. The concierge gave us restaurant reco's and 2 of 3 were excellent (they can't all be gems.) The shuttle bus isn't actually a hotel shuttle - it's a municipal bus. But that was fine and fun in itself, and we got to see more of Bariloche. Also had a great experience with the hotel-provided rappelling guide (will try to review that separately.) In sum: muy fantastico. Would love to return.

Room Tip: everyone says channel view. And everyone is right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LlaoLlaoHotel, Public Relations Manager at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
It is our turn to say WOW! Thank you for your review, and thank you for your kind words! We agree with you, Llao Llao setting is a privilege of nature. We are honored, while responsible for providing high quality service matching the breathtaking scenario around us. We are proud that a discerning traveler like you wrote such a generous compliment!
Our staff is our pride, and our signature. Their sincere smile makes the difference.
We really appreciate your time, your words, and wish you a joyful 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa

Address: Av. Ezequiel Bustillo km 25, San Carlos de Bariloche R8409ALN, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#4 Spa Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#7 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the Cerro Lopez and Tronador mountain peaks and the Moreno and Nahuel Huapi lakes, the Hotel has a 15-hectare park, including the 18-hole golf course, the marina, beach, solarium, heated indoor and outdoor vanishing edge swimming-pools, Spa and Healthclub with sauna, Fitness Center and other leisure activities.The Hotel has two wings: Ala Bustillo and Lago Moreno wings. The first wing has 162 rooms, 11 studios and 12 suites overlooking the Moreno and Nahuel Huapi lakes and the Cerro López mountain peak. The Lago Moreno wing has 43 deluxe studios and suites: 23 Deluxe Moreno Lake Studios, 17 Deluxe Moreno Lake Suites, 2 Deluxe Master Moreno Lake Suites, and 1 Deluxe Royal Moreno Lake Suite.Llao Llao has five restaurants. Guests can enjoy a wide variety of dishes, from International Cuisine to our top level traditional food, such as the popular "Llao Llao Tea" which is served overlooking the spectacular view of the Hotel gardens and the breathtaking Nahuel Huapi Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llao Llao Hotel And Resort, Golf San Carlos De Bariloche
Llao Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.