We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All is wonderful, except no A/C in our room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa

Save Saved
You added Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Ezequiel Bustillo km 25, San Carlos de Bariloche R8409ALN, Argentina   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
ARS2,853 (ARS)
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“All is wonderful, except no A/C in our room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Our room was very feminine and lovely. We had the least expensive room with a great view of the snow covered mountains (with a rainbow twice!) and the parking lot.
The beds were very comfortable, but it got hot at night and we did not seem to have air conditioning ! Our girlfriend who sprang for the more expensive room in the new wing, had a super luxurious contemporary room with a fabulous lake and mountain view AND air conditioning.
We had dinner the first night in the dining room and I had the BEST trout I have ever had, fresh from the lake. We got a bottle of chardonnay with this and enjoyed a rainy night in the hotel.
The breakfast is included and there was a large and varied selection of tasty foods the next morning, as well as breathtaking views of the lake and mountains and rainbows from your table.
Next day was very cold, but sunny, and we hiked to the golf club for a glass of chardonnay and admiration of the lovely views. The hotel booked a CaoCao boat tour for us and the weather held and we had a wonderful day on the lake.
This was a very relaxing stay and I thank Hernan Pagnanelli for his attentive communication with us during our planning stages. Excellent service was given by all.

Room Tip: It would be worth the extra money to book the rooms in the new wing, although it is very confusing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LlaoLlaoHotel, Public Relations Manager at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Jan73132 Wow, you are really discerning travelers! Thank you for your words, we feel very flattered! As you mentioned, the rooms at the Bustillo Wing -where you stayed- don't have A/C. Is the classic building, iconic and where history takes place since 1938. The newest wing -Moreno- still holds the identity of Llao Llao, yet being contemporary. Modern concept and design, so that we can please everyone! Thank you for choosing us, and for enjoying the best trout ever!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    618
    107
    22
    12
    3
See reviews for
202
353
19
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This hotel marks the most Southern place in the world i have ever been.

45 minutes, by car, south of Bariloche Argentina, is one of the most beautiful hotel settings in the world. I kid you not, it will take your breath away.

This golf, ski, fishing resort is definately worth the effort to spend a week. I was there the first part of April, which is the start of the fall season. The weather and scenery were spectacular.

Unfortunately, this was a business trip so my activities were limited so I will just have to go back.

The hotel was built 100+ years ago and has been rebuilt since in the same original style. Built out of wood, this stucture is quite impressive. I have only seen one other building like this that is operational and it was in Yellow Stone.

Watching the sunset from the Bar area was spectacular, and is a nice prelude to one of their great restaurants.

The rooms are nice and many with a good view. My view was spectacular. However, do not think the rooms are 5 star, they are nice but a low 4 on my scale of 1-5. Makes no difference because you are in one of the most spectular areas of the world. The hotel sits on a pennisula between two crystal clear lakes. Just unbelievable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LlaoLlaoHotel, Public Relations Manager at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Mark B, thank you for such a great review on Llao Llao! Such a shame you were here on a short business trip. Next time you should stay longer, and if we may, stay at the new wing Moreno, where the room concept is contemporary and most definitely fitting your expectations. About the scenery...what can we say that you didn't! One single correction: the Llao Llao Hotel & Resort opened the doors in 1938!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I went with my wife and my 10-month old daughter and we were able to relax for five days.
Even though the weather was not great, we enjoyed staying at the hotel and using the facilities. The views are magnificent and the surroundings are incredible.
Breakfast is great! you could stay the whole morning having coffee in the huge wodden room where breafast is served. The daily restaurant is very nice and it is in kind of a glass house. The buffet is very good and there are also some sandwiches a la carte.
I believe that the main restaurant is not up to the level of the hotel, but to be honest we went on low season, so part of the hotel was closed.

Room Tip: You do not need to pay for the most expensive rooms for a great view. Those that overlook the mounta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LlaoLlaoHotel, Public Relations Manager at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Jorge C Your words are very generous. We try to give our best. To honour the prestige of Llao Llao history. It takes a deep commitment, and the winner is...our staff. And our thermometer...our guests feedback. We appreciate it, you allow us to keep up with quality. Your baby is having the first anniversary...and we reengineered our gastronomic offer. The fine dining restaurant you mentioned, is no longer operating. Thank you again for choosing us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend, and absolutely loved it. We had a wonderful, relaxing time and would go back in a heartbeat. We arrived fairly late on Friday evening, after a terrible storm we encountered on the drive from Neuquen, and they kept the restaurant open for us while we ate dinner. We also scheduled two massages at the spa while we were there, and they were very knowledgable at what they were doing. The prices were also very fair. I was three months pregnant at the time, and very uncomfortable no matter what, but this place definitely made me feel at home and I was finally able to relax and get the rest I needed.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LlaoLlaoHotel, Public Relations Manager at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
ana_short It feels great to read that you were able to "switch off" and that you were properly pampered. You deserve it...!Time to plan another visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

You can't go wrong with Llao Llao. This is an old-world style hotel of the highest quality. My wife and I arrived at nearly midnight, which was when the restaurant was supposed to close. But when we told them we had driven for five hours to get there and had nothing to eat, they kept it open late for us, and the food was delicious. The rooms are not huge, but are extremely comfortable. We had a beautiful view of the lake. We also had massages (which were excellent), and enjoyed the huge indoor/outdoor heated pool area, which also had an amazing view of the lake and mountains. The hotel is located about 20 minutes from town -- but the tranquility and views can't be beat. Wouldn't even think about staying anywhere else in Bariloche.

Room Tip: If you have any special requests, submit them with your reservation -- staff was very responsive and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LlaoLlaoHotel, Public Relations Manager at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Wow CaptBacon! Feels great to know that you could enjoy our Llao Llao Hotel. We love to read it. It's a lot of work in the backstage...to have this outcome: your stay with us and all the memories that you have taken with you...Thank you for giving us the chance to host you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I'm absolutely delighted with this Hotel. The location is stunning, the service is great, friendly staff with a human and warm approach to guests, rooms are spacious with and exquisite taste in furniture and fabrics.
This hotel was the perfect place to stay in such a beautiful place like Bariloche!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LlaoLlaoHotel, Public Relations Manager at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Lise H Thank you!!!!!! Your opinion is our prize. We wish your memories of Llao Llao will always be with you throughout yor life. Thank you for choosing us, and for you kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Incredible get away. Classic 1930's hotel completely redone preserving its unique details. Fabulous location. Tranquil. Great Spa, massage and in/out infinity heated swimming pool. A heavenly place to stay with top notch service and fine kitchen.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LlaoLlaoHotel, Public Relations Manager at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Chris M We feel very proud, and at the same time, more commited. When reading that you enjoyed your stay with us, we feel the satisfaction to have met your expectations. And the responsibility to honour your words by sustaining them for all those travellers who read your review and choose us. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa

Address: Av. Ezequiel Bustillo km 25, San Carlos de Bariloche R8409ALN, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#3 Spa Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#8 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the Cerro Lopez and Tronador mountain peaks and the Moreno and Nahuel Huapi lakes, the Hotel has a 15-hectare park, including the 18-hole golf course, the marina, beach, solarium, heated indoor and outdoor vanishing edge swimming-pools, Spa and Healthclub with sauna, Fitness Center and other leisure activities.The Hotel has two wings: Ala Bustillo and Lago Moreno wings. The first wing has 162 rooms, 11 studios and 12 suites overlooking the Moreno and Nahuel Huapi lakes and the Cerro López mountain peak. The Lago Moreno wing has 43 deluxe studios and suites: 23 Deluxe Moreno Lake Studios, 17 Deluxe Moreno Lake Suites, 2 Deluxe Master Moreno Lake Suites, and 1 Deluxe Royal Moreno Lake Suite.Llao Llao has five restaurants. Guests can enjoy a wide variety of dishes, from International Cuisine to our top level traditional food, such as the popular "Llao Llao Tea" which is served overlooking the spectacular view of the Hotel gardens and the breathtaking Nahuel Huapi Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Expedia, Jetsetter, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llao Llao Hotel And Resort, Golf San Carlos De Bariloche
Llao Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.