We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place, very amiable and professional staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa to your Saves list
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Ezequiel Bustillo km 25, San Carlos de Bariloche R8409ALN, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A very special place, very amiable and professional staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Incredible get away. Classic 1930's hotel completely redone preserving its unique details. Fabulous location. Tranquil. Great Spa, massage and in/out infinity heated swimming pool. A heavenly place to stay with top notch service and fine kitchen.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LlaoLlaoHotel, Public Relations Manager at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Chris M We feel very proud, and at the same time, more commited. When reading that you enjoyed your stay with us, we feel the satisfaction to have met your expectations. And the responsibility to honour your words by sustaining them for all those travellers who read your review and choose us. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,061
    181
    35
    16
    14
See reviews for
371
564
33
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I've been in this hotel several times already, both for busines/meetings and for leisure. This last time was on short vacation with spouse. Location is amazing. Landscape is among best in the world, and the views from the hotel are unforgettable. While rooms have a modest size due to construction dating from early twentieth century, facilities are in very good shape. Service is world class, no exceptions. Breakfast quality, service and ambiance is great (Ariel provided remarkably good service on Apr 20 and 22). Patagonia restaurant is very good (good service from Pablo on Apr 21). Lobby, lobby bar and tea room (with great view to mountain/lake/garden) are also world class. You can go to the outdoors swimming pool and stay there for hours, enjoying the view. In summary, great experience. Only one detail this time: while I specifically made the room reservation requesting a quiet room (which was confirmed by hotel when replying to my request), we were assigned a room (#509)where noise of elevators was clearly heard, night and day.

Room Tip: Rooms in the fifth floor seem to be smaller. Avoid room # 509, where elevators noise can be heard,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LlaoLlaoHotel, Public Relations Manager at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Luis L We love frequent guests!! Thank you for your words, your loyalty and your time...for the congrats to our staff and for letting us know that you will not stay in #509 ever again! Hope to see you soon, we want to make it up to you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Little piece of Europe? Once you get there you will understand. The European influences in the area are quite apparent (Austrian, Swiss and German) but that Argentinian flair and laid-back way of life still comes through. The gem of Bariloche (2nd most visited by tourists in Argentina after Buenos aires) is a stunning hotel called The Llao Llao. A must see, even if it's just to experience their buffet breakfasts held in the grand hall. Surrounded by amazing mountain views and fairy tale forests on the edge of Nahuel Huapi lakes. Great in winter (snow sports) and in summer plenty of activities too if you're that mountain climbing, scuba diving, horse back riding type of person. And for the ladies just a few minutes away from the the hotel awaits a chain of chocolate and confectionery shops to delight your every whim.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LlaoLlaoHotel, Public Relations Manager at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
MikeBrenner34 Hi! We loved your review. Loved your description...and your advise to the ladies!! Still we think that chocolate has no gender!!!!
Thank you again for your words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

While visiting Bariloche I wanted to go and see Llao Llao by myself, and also go to their famous tea at the winter garden, so I did
Several days prior to my arrival, I made reservations via email, and they informed the price. Once I arrived, the person who greeted me informed a different (higher) one, so at first I was like: What? but said nothing. When they came to explain the system (buffet, how many drinks you get, etc) I told them about this, and with no issues they said I was to paid what I was told via email, so that was nice
Everything was very pretty and cute (not to mention the exteriors, great), the decor, the ambience, the service, I felt like a king there....but I'm not easy to please, and I pay LOTS of attention to details, so there is one thing I can't let a luxury resort like this pass: As I wanted to take pictures, as how the food was served and presented, I first asked if that was ok, they said, yes, of course, so I started taking pictures. When I got to the big buffet table, where all the pastries, cakes and desserts were, I had to wait for the FLIES to go away....yes, flies on the cakes....I felt so uncomfortable that kept looking at the staff to see if any of them noticed that fact, but they either did not care or did not see them...that just simply CAN NOT happen, neither here or in any other place. What amazed me was that the sandwiches were protected by a cristal bell, but not the cakes and other pastries.
I told one of the waiters what I saw, and just said thanks for letting me know, but I saw nothing done to fix the issue.....WOW
In terms of taste, presentation (except for the undesired guests over the cake stands) and service, I was really pleased....too bad I got to see the flying insects
Hope someone at Llao Llao takes this review into consideration and do something about it
Certainly a place I want to go back

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LlaoLlaoHotel, Public Relations Manager at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
malter2010 Simply...unacceptable. Let us apologize. Even if it is not enough...
This past summer we suffered the ecological response after the Puyehue Vulcano eruption.
No yellowjackets (insects) Yellowjackets are small insects. Nests typically thrive for a year. A queen begins building a nest in the spring and continues laying eggs through the fall, when most of the yellowjackets perish. Yellowjackets are capable of stinging when provoked or in danger. Yellowjackets mostly feed on spiders and other insects. Flies among the favorites.
We are not used to flies. Yellowjackets take care of them. But there were no yellowjackets this summer.
As there are no excuses.
We didn't act soon enough. We should have anticipated, and not react after the first flies discovered our tea goodies.
No excuses. Just apologies.
We thought we knew. And learned that we have to learn.
Thank you for your time, your pics, your comment..
Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenos aires
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The Llao Llao, this historic property in the midst of a National Park is surely one of the most beautiful spots in the world. The location, the views, the superb unequaled service, the decoration , the utmost professionalism in guest service, the unequaled breakfast, the different activities offered, the spa, everything of the highest personal dedication and pampering for the guest! the views are unparalleled, to stay is to dream awake....one wants it never to end....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LlaoLlaoHotel, Public Relations Manager at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Gloria! Thank you for your generosity. We feel very proud to grant experiences for a lifetime. And we love pampering! Thank you for choosing us. And thank you for honoring our history!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
217 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We loved the Llao Llao! The staff was ever so nice, the rooms were HUGE, and the pool was amazingly beautiful! The national park around it is lovely, and the sunrise in the morning is worth seeing. I would would definitely recommend the Llao Llao hotel in an instant.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main wing are closer to the restaurant and basically everything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LlaoLlaoHotel, Public Relations Manager at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Wow JRWalker! It feels great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very proud and love what we do. And being able to build Llao Llao's identity every day is a gift.
Thank you for taking your time to write about us. And thank you for having chose Llao Llao.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, MI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Llao Llao as part of our honeymoon and hiking/biking tour that we had taken. We stayed in the newer part of the resort overlooking the lake. The views were stunning from our room. The room was beautifully furnished and so peaceful. So many things to do on the property. I would recommend spending a day in Bariloche. The Swiss influence and European feel to the city is refreshing. The city is a paradise for chocolate lovers living up to being the chocolate capital of Argentina.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the newer section overlooking the lake. It is a little bit away from the main hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LlaoLlaoHotel, Public Relations Manager at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
LeaTravels We feel very proud that Llao Llao was the choice for your once-in-a-lifetime moment.
Honeymoon in paradise. Nature is bliss, and we are the proud deliverers!
Thank you for your words! And a happy life for you both!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
8.5 mi away
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Privat...
#3 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 stars 960 reviews
8.7 mi away
Nido del Condor Resort & Spa
Nido del Condor Resort & Spa
#31 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
10.7 mi away
Arelauquen Lodge by P Hotels
Arelauquen Lodge by P Hotels
#8 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#27 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 stars 549 reviews
8.1 mi away
Design Suites Bariloche
Design Suites Bariloche
#37 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 stars 758 reviews
8.7 mi away
Lirolay Suites
Lirolay Suites
#6 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 stars 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa

Address: Av. Ezequiel Bustillo km 25, San Carlos de Bariloche R8409ALN, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#7 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the Cerro Lopez and Tronador mountain peaks and the Moreno and Nahuel Huapi lakes, the Hotel has a 15-hectare park, including the 18-hole golf course, the marina, beach, solarium, heated indoor and outdoor vanishing edge swimming-pools, Spa and Healthclub with sauna, Fitness Center and other leisure activities.The Hotel has two wings: Ala Bustillo and Lago Moreno wings. The first wing has 162 rooms, 11 studios and 12 suites overlooking the Moreno and Nahuel Huapi lakes and the Cerro López mountain peak. The Lago Moreno wing has 43 deluxe studios and suites: 23 Deluxe Moreno Lake Studios, 17 Deluxe Moreno Lake Suites, 2 Deluxe Master Moreno Lake Suites, and 1 Deluxe Royal Moreno Lake Suite.Llao Llao has five restaurants. Guests can enjoy a wide variety of dishes, from International Cuisine to our top level traditional food, such as the popular "Llao Llao Tea" which is served overlooking the spectacular view of the Hotel gardens and the breathtaking Nahuel Huapi Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llao Llao Hotel And Resort, Golf San Carlos De Bariloche
Llao Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.