We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unparalleled” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa to your Saves list
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Ezequiel Bustillo km 25, San Carlos de Bariloche R8409ALN, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Okotoks, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Unparalleled”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I'm not going to repeat the superlatives that others have written. If you can stay here, do. It's wonderful. One tip: We took a 'limited view' room during spring that was about half the normal room rate. It was on the lower floor with little view, but we saw plenty when walking or driving around and the half price deal meant that we could stay here. The breakfast buffet is stellar, as was the evening meal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LlaoLlaoHotel, Public Relations Manager at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Shortstop44 Wow, you left us speechless. Such a nice and kind review. Thank you.
Our very best wishes, and the best for you!!
Greetings from Llao Llao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,062
    181
    35
    16
    14
See reviews for
371
565
33
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, MD
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel (pronounced "jow jow") during a South American tour. Although our hotel room was not huge or truly luxurious, it was more than ample in size and comfort. The bed was king size. Drawer and closet space was ideal and the bathroom fixtures were modern and accommodating. The shower worked well. Service at the hotel was outstanding, breakfast and dinner were first class and the public areas of the hotel were magnificent. Unfortunately, the weather did not cooperate during our visit so we did not play the challenging golf course. The hotel boasts two indoor pools and a hot tub. One pool is self-contained, the other indoor-outdoor. I swam in the self-contained indoor pool. The hotel would do well to keep it a little cooler (my guess is that it exceeded 90 degrees fahrenheit) and less chlorinated (it made everyone's eyes sting). The expansive hotel grounds take full advantage of the natural beauty of their Patagonian surroundings. We took a nice walk along the shore and on the golf course. Had the weather been sunnier (it was mostly overcast), the view from our room would have been magnificent. If you are in Buenes Aires on business or pleasure and have a couple of days to spare, the approximately one and a half hour flight to Llao Llao will offer you the ability to see northern Patagonia at its finest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LlaoLlaoHotel, Public Relations Manager at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dearest K-traveler13 !
Should we have the power of nature...we would turn back time so that the weather was sunnier!
Thank you for the review, and thank you for letting us into your life!
Happy Holidays, and the best for you in 2013!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We were not staying at the hotel but came for afternoon tea. When i called to make a booking it took me 3 attempts to actually book which meant i dialled 3 times and had to speak to 3 different people to eventually book.

We arrived and the hotel looked wonderful and the views are out if this world. We asked to have a drink outside as the weather was really nice. It took us about 10minutes of waving at 3 different waiters to finally get a drink.

We then went back into tge hotel to ask where the high tea was being held and every waiter seem to just ignore us. I think because they couldnt speak english and so tried to avoid us rather than finding some that could help. After arkwardly hovering in the lobby bar my husband decided to go ti reception for help.

We finally were seated and the afternoon did not disappoint. If was definitely worth the.money.

We walked around the grounds which were beautiful and admired the views.

On leaving the hotel i needed to use the bathroom. Both of the ladies bathrooms were locked. I asked a security guy who then took me to the gym toilets which were also locked. A worker from the gym notified the security guy that there was no water. I couldnt believe i was in a 5* hotel and they had no water. I got so irritated as the 2 gentleman started to laugh. May i just add that this hotel in part of the Leading Hotels of the World and definitely dont expect to have staff acting in such a manner in front of guests.

Luckily a lady member of staff came to my rescue and i had to walk all the way to the new part of the building to use the bathroom.


I think if i was staying and paying the kind of money a leading hotel of the world charges i would be very upset with the poor service sbown by their staff.

The only thing that saved the afternoon were the stunning views and outstanding afternoon tea.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LlaoLlaoHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Reen1981,
We could start our answer by thanking you for your time. Or by telling empty excuses.
But we won't.
Our location is simply, superb. One of the best, no doubt. It is the legacy of a visionary that 75 years ago pointed the very spot we are located in.
And we have to honour it, by granting the best of service. Not just service. Excellent service.
Your experience embarraced us. From the very start.
We are very sorry.
We strive, every day, to create and deliver experiences for our guests to take home with them. And whenever they hear or pronounce "Llao Llao", a great story told.
Not your case.
Please accept our deepest apologies.
We are responsible for the phone calls answered inefficiently, the non-challance of the waiters or any other member of the Staff that didn't deliver Llao Llao service.
As of the water problem, a planned water shortage due to maintenace issues was planned to take place on Monday November 12 between 2 and 6pm. Our in-house guests were informed the day before through a Hotel Communication.
We admit a serious mistake. Lack of communication to non-guests at the entrance of the Hotel of this exceptional conditions. In similar conditions under other circumstances, walk-ins were not allowed.
This unavoidable maintenance episodes happen, and it is absolutely understandable. But lack of communication is not acceptable.
Neglect and inattention had no relation with the lack of water.
Thank you for your time, and for letting us know what happened. You give us the chance to keep on improving in this challenging road to excellence.
We would like to receive you again, and experience the real Llao Llao.
Again, sorry for these unfortunate episodes.
Happy Thanksgiving and warm wishes for a wonderful holiday season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

There are so many reviews here of this hotel so just some other points. We stayed at a Lake Moreno superior studio and was on the third floor, try to get a high room as we did. (there are only four floors) We went in early November so it was before season...at night only one or two dining rooms were open, so the menu is limited if you are there in the buffer season. The view is terrific as are the rooms. It is a little convoluted getting from the Moreno side to the Main area but you can either do some stairs, or three elevators. We did (on our own) a full day tour with a private guide on nearby lake, with a hike to a lagoon and back (about 2 hours) and ended on a beach with a lunch set up for the two of us, and a musician playing while we ate! Then a long sightseeing ride on the boat. It was a lifetime remembering experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LlaoLlaoHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
bjjja97 Woooow! Thank you for allowing us to be part of your lifetime memories. We feel very proud for it. And very thankful. It is our philosophy, our daily task, our life election. So, when we get to know that our guests take back home Llao Llao...it is our honour. Your words are really flattering. Always welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

There's no doubt that one of the main features of this hotel is its location and no matter where you go inside or outside the facilities, you will a million picture opportunities.

The room and the overall hotel decor is not ostentatious, but cozy and welcoming. This is something that can't be said about a lot of 5 star hotels.

Breakfast was excellent: from the baking, to the freshly made ommelletes and the stunning view. Even the small changes in the options (you madeed torrejas available one morning!) were a great small detail which made me look forward the next one.

The restaurants service was a bit weak, no one was able to recommend us wine for our meals, not even at Los Cesares. It would expect Llao Lao to have a sommelier on site during the meal times.

The gym facilities were very well equipped and it has a big "studio" for group classes.

One thing I must highlight is the superb concierge service: they always helped, provided options and ideas no matter what random question we came up with.

If there was one thing I'd ask them to do next time, is to provide better information around the restaurants and shops that are close by. Also, the drivers were quite quiet and cold. Several of them took us to multiple destination and none of them engage in conversation.

Llao Llao is a one of a kind experience, full of history, first class but always making feel comfortable and at home.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LlaoLlaoHotel, Public Relations Manager at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
MrPablington, woooow!!! Such a rich description of your stay with us. More than grateful for your kind words. And for your recommendations. They help us, teach us, and allow us to improve. Our goal is your satisfaction, and the memories treasured. And it is a huge responsibility. Because there was once upon a time, a visionary that selected one of the most beautiful spots, and created Llao Llao. All through our history -next year will be our 75th anniversary- Llao Llao survived difficult moments. nonetheless our pride was never at stake. And we try hard to honour our history by delivering a spotless service and that cozyness that you pointed out. On behalf of the whole team, thank you. We do appreciate every word.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The town of San Carlos de Bariloche draws huge droves of tourists in packed buses. However, there is a more sedate and beautiful side to the town, overflowing with tourists and chocolate shop. It is to escape from it all, by staying at the Llao Llao Hotel & Resort, Golf, Spa.

From the minute you arrive in the hotel, you will note that you are not in any hotel, but one of the top hotels in the world. The lovely lobby bar is there as you enter, inviting you to sit down for a drink. The winter garden is a conservatory that overlooks the Nahuel Huapi Lake, as well as the golf courses.

The hotel rooms are well-proportioned and the wifi Internet access is available throughout the hotel. The grounds are expansive, taking into account the private docks and golf courses, and the spa and gym overlook the lakes and mountains in the distance.

If I had to fault anything, it would be that the hotel is rather snooty. Perhaps it is the power-distance in Argentina, as well as the clientele (which consists of many older people). Things are still promptly and well executed though.

Room Tip: If you can spare some cash, try to opt for rooms in the more modern Lake Moreno Wing, which looks ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LlaoLlaoHotel, Public Relations Manager at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Colin_Matthew, thank you for such a great review! You pointed out the location. And you were so accurate, That is the reason we deem Llao Llao is a destination itself. A reasonable distance from town, and the privilege of the setting, and nature at its best.
Calling us "Grand Dame" is so very flattering! Style and elegance among the mountains and lakes, wow! Our challenge is keeping the cozyness and the pampering we love to deliver to you guests. And we feel very proud if you got it, and treasure great memories at Llao Llao. Thank you for your words, and thank you for your time. You are very welcome, always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Lovely hotel of great charm in an intensely beautiful setting. The views from the rooms overlooking the lake really were postcard perfect.
Slightly old fashioned rooms, but his added to the charm. Very cosy public areas with log fires...you could settle in here with a book and glass of whisky for many hours, shame I was here on business!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LlaoLlaoHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Barnessw! Thank you so very much for your lovely description of our Hotel! We feel very proud to know that you did appreciate the atmosphere that we love to grant. The whisky is awaiting for you...the book is your call! You have to visit us again and enjoy the Llao Llao sensation overlooking the lakes and the mountains. Always welcome, Barnessw!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
8.5 mi away
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Privat...
#3 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 stars 960 reviews
8.7 mi away
Nido del Condor Resort & Spa
Nido del Condor Resort & Spa
#31 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
12.0 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#27 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 stars 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Arelauquen Lodge by P Hotels
Arelauquen Lodge by P Hotels
#8 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews
8.1 mi away
Design Suites Bariloche
Design Suites Bariloche
#37 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 stars 758 reviews
2.6 mi away
Peninsula Petit Hotel
Peninsula Petit Hotel
#2 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 stars 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa

Address: Av. Ezequiel Bustillo km 25, San Carlos de Bariloche R8409ALN, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#7 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the Cerro Lopez and Tronador mountain peaks and the Moreno and Nahuel Huapi lakes, the Hotel has a 15-hectare park, including the 18-hole golf course, the marina, beach, solarium, heated indoor and outdoor vanishing edge swimming-pools, Spa and Healthclub with sauna, Fitness Center and other leisure activities.The Hotel has two wings: Ala Bustillo and Lago Moreno wings. The first wing has 162 rooms, 11 studios and 12 suites overlooking the Moreno and Nahuel Huapi lakes and the Cerro López mountain peak. The Lago Moreno wing has 43 deluxe studios and suites: 23 Deluxe Moreno Lake Studios, 17 Deluxe Moreno Lake Suites, 2 Deluxe Master Moreno Lake Suites, and 1 Deluxe Royal Moreno Lake Suite.Llao Llao has five restaurants. Guests can enjoy a wide variety of dishes, from International Cuisine to our top level traditional food, such as the popular "Llao Llao Tea" which is served overlooking the spectacular view of the Hotel gardens and the breathtaking Nahuel Huapi Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llao Llao Hotel And Resort, Golf San Carlos De Bariloche
Llao Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.