We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent small restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Salamandra Pulperia

La Salamandra Pulperia
Avenida Exequiel Bustillo 5818, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
+54 294 444-1568
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Hours of operation: Monday and Tuesday closed,Wed-Sunday: 7:30pm-11:00pm. Reservations recomended Very fresh and homemade small menu, as old Argentine Pulperias
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
“Excellent small restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We got to know the reservation thanks to a friend's recommendation. We made the reservation on the same day, but it was not an issue at all.

As a starter we had the empanadas that were OK, but not fantastic. However, everything changed when they served us the steak (which we shared). It is definitely one of the best ones I've had (not minor as I am Argentinean).

With a glass of wine and water, we ate for AR$ 120 each (insane).

The atmosphere is also great: the owners cook and serve the food, and they are keen on talking and listening to any recommendation.

Really a must in Bariloche!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    60
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Exactly what a small family run restaurant should be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

As all the other reviews indicate, we had a very warm welcome last night at La Salamandra.

The empanadas are as good as others have reviewed and the steak delicious and perfectly seasoned.

The house wine is a must too.

We're only here for 4 days and I am trying to persuade my girlfriend to go back again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No expectations led to two great experiences”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We were recommended El Salamandra by our apartment manager & had done no research. When we arrived we were amazed by how accommodating they were, how the hostess managed to find the time for all the guests & still serve unflustered. The wine was superb, and the steak to die for (Ojo de bife, rare & med-rare). As other reviews also say, this is the best local/couple owned & operated restaurant in bariloche. If possible, try and reserve the settee table. Make the effort to get out of town & you will have a great meal. Loved it so much we did it twice!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We loved this restaurant and ate here on our night in Bariloche.It was near our Hotel and we managed to get in although it is quite a small place.
We had the Empanadas our first taste of these and were not disappointed as a starter and then we had steaks which were excellent.
The place is run by a husband and wife team and we had a really good night.
Would really really recommend you trying this if near Bariloche

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Just lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This was seriously a fab meal. We found this place of trip advisor, it was rated #2 in Bariloche so we were keen to eat there.

We found their website and emailed them to make a reservation. Unlike most Argentinians they got back to us within 2-3 hours which is a personal record to us !!

They speak fantastic English as well and make you feel at home the moment you Walk though the door.

The menu is small but perfect. You wouldn't want any more from a menus. They suggest three meal between two people. We had empanadas, potatoe wedges with cheese bacon and sour cream And chiv. It was seriously fab. The meat was perfecto!!

If 100% recommend this place for everyone visiting Bariloche. Especially English speaking people.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Salamandra Pulperia also viewed

San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 

Been to La Salamandra Pulperia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Salamandra Pulperia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.