We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Puerto Blest

Puerto Blest
Isla Blest, San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina
Improve this listing
Type: Wharfs/ Piers/ Boardwalks
Attraction Details
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I'll try to be objective here:

1) the places, Puerto Blest and + Cascada Los Cantaors & Lago Frias (we paid extra to go see Lago frias, where the water turns milky green): both beautiful, but not much to do really once you're there....the boat to puerto blest takes you through amazing landscapes, and you get to feed the seagulls too, that's nice
2) the company that owns the boats, terrible organization: the trip to Lago Frias took forever, like 1 hour wait in the boat with all of us ready to leave, because they use that service to cross people from Chile to Argentina, so basically for them, that part of the trip is a taxi drive to get people from one country to the other. I'd not pay for the second part of the trip, but if you don't, you need to wait like 3 hs doing nothing in puerto blest, so not sure what is the best option there
If you have any questions, please feel free to send me a PM

Cheers

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    178
    46
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Second time lucky”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Three years ago we went on a wonderful holiday to South America, the highlight of which was supposed to be a 2-day trip through the Andean lakes by boat and bus from Puerto Varas in Chile to Bariloche (via Puerto Blest). Unfortunately, the weather was appalling with very low cloud throughout and rain most of the time - as a result we saw practically nothing. It was only afterwards we discovered that this weather is the norm (about 250 days a year we were told!). However, we decided that we would like to revisit the Bariloche area and go on a boat trip if, and only if, the weather appeared to give us a much better chance of some views. We were very fortunate that one of the four days that we were staying near Bariloche proved to be one of the best of the year (or so our hotel receptionist told us). Hence we booked a trip from Puerto Panuelo near Llao Llao along the western part of Lago Nahuel Huapi to Puerto Blest, plus an optional add-on of a short cruise on Lago Frias. The good weather and the fact that it was Sunday meant that the boat was pretty crowded, making it advantageous that we had booked a couple of days earlier. The trip to Puerto Blest was magnificent with the sun beating down on the tree-clad mountains fringing the lake, giving many photo opportunities. Before we landed at Puerto Blest (which is basically one hotel and very little else!) we did a detour to disembark for a walk up the impressive Los Cantaros waterfall and to Lago Cantaros with its spectacular reflections. After a short break for refreshment at Puerto Blest Hotel, we were picked up by coach for the short drive to Lago Frias, and the most spectacular views of the snow-covered Cerro Tronador from the tourist boat on the lake. Afterwards, we retraced our steps to Puerto Panuelo, noticing how the colours had changed with the different angle of the sun. By the time we returned to our hotel we had hardly seen a single cloud - we were certainly lucky second time round.

There are just a couple of points to bear in mind - the trip is largely within the national Park and a fee (100 pesos, I believe) is payable before leaving Puerto Panuelo, in addition to the cost of the trip, and it is worth considering taking refreshments with you, as the food on the boat is relatively limited and the time at Puerto Blest is quite short if you are going to Lago Frias.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Fantastic boat trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Really enjoyed the trip, feeding the seagulls was great fun, the waterfall walk made a nice break. Note you have to pay extra to do the second lake crossing by boat, which was not made clear and there were limited spaces, so check if you are keen to do this. There was some waiting around for new passengers near the Chile border as this trip is actually part of the route crossing into Chile, personally we would have loved to have continued on to Chile, but our trip was of Argentina only. NB Suncream a good idea, as even though it was cold the sun was strong !

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Pretty much just a long boat ride”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Went on a tour for the day. We arrived at puerto Blest to see some old looking hotel at the port which is were most people just stay and drink their ma'te. If you don't do the extra extension to Puerto Frias( another boat trip) you pretty much have nothing to do for 3 hours until they have a organised walk to the waterfall. The waterfalls were great however but that's all there is for a full day out. Must be better things to do in Barioloche

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great beer and other cocktail choices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Just take a cab or drive to km 11/12 of the Bustillo Avenue. The place is generally crowded and has great choices of local beer, give a try as they are generally outstanding. It is a fun place where to have non pretentious dinner and good beer, and maybe make some friends.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puerto Blest also viewed

San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 

Been to Puerto Blest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puerto Blest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.