We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time lucky” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turisur Navegando la Patagonia

Turisur Navegando la Patagonia
Mitre 219 | Villegas 310, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400 , Argentina
+54 294 442-6110
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$105*
and up
Puerto Blest Sightseeing Cruise and Waterfalls...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Second time lucky”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Three years ago we went on a wonderful holiday to South America, the highlight of which was supposed to be a 2-day trip through the Andean lakes by boat and bus from Puerto Varas in Chile to Bariloche (via Puerto Blest). Unfortunately, the weather was appalling with very low cloud throughout and rain most of the time - as a result we saw practically nothing. It was only afterwards we discovered that this weather is the norm (about 250 days a year we were told!). However, we decided that we would like to revisit the Bariloche area and go on a boat trip if, and only if, the weather appeared to give us a much better chance of some views. We were very fortunate that one of the four days that we were staying near Bariloche proved to be one of the best of the year (or so our hotel receptionist told us). Hence we booked a trip from Puerto Panuelo near Llao Llao along the western part of Lago Nahuel Huapi to Puerto Blest, plus an optional add-on of a short cruise on Lago Frias. The good weather and the fact that it was Sunday meant that the boat was pretty crowded, making it advantageous that we had booked a couple of days earlier. The trip to Puerto Blest was magnificent with the sun beating down on the tree-clad mountains fringing the lake, giving many photo opportunities. Before we landed at Puerto Blest (which is basically one hotel and very little else!) we did a detour to disembark for a walk up the impressive Los Cantaros waterfall and to Lago Cantaros with its spectacular reflections. After a short break for refreshment at Puerto Blest Hotel, we were picked up by coach for the short drive to Lago Frias, and the most spectacular views of the snow-covered Cerro Tronador from the tourist boat on the lake. Afterwards, we retraced our steps to Puerto Panuelo, noticing how the colours had changed with the different angle of the sun. By the time we returned to our hotel we had hardly seen a single cloud - we were certainly lucky second time round.

There are just a couple of points to bear in mind - the trip is largely within the national Park and a fee (100 pesos, I believe) is payable before leaving Puerto Panuelo, in addition to the cost of the trip, and it is worth considering taking refreshments with you, as the food on the boat is relatively limited and the time at Puerto Blest is quite short if you are going to Lago Frias.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    614
    312
    78
    30
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic boat trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Really enjoyed the trip, feeding the seagulls was great fun, the waterfall walk made a nice break. Note you have to pay extra to do the second lake crossing by boat, which was not made clear and there were limited spaces, so check if you are keen to do this. There was some waiting around for new passengers near the Chile border as this trip is actually part of the route crossing into Chile, personally we would have loved to have continued on to Chile, but our trip was of Argentina only. NB Suncream a good idea, as even though it was cold the sun was strong !

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pretty much just a long boat ride”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Went on a tour for the day. We arrived at puerto Blest to see some old looking hotel at the port which is were most people just stay and drink their ma'te. If you don't do the extra extension to Puerto Frias( another boat trip) you pretty much have nothing to do for 3 hours until they have a organised walk to the waterfall. The waterfalls were great however but that's all there is for a full day out. Must be better things to do in Barioloche

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great beer and other cocktail choices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Just take a cab or drive to km 11/12 of the Bustillo Avenue. The place is generally crowded and has great choices of local beer, give a try as they are generally outstanding. It is a fun place where to have non pretentious dinner and good beer, and maybe make some friends.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Expensive tour to puerto Blest, no bilingual guide”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We booked this excursion through our hotel. We were informed about some extra costs (port tax, entrance fee national park), but not the additional boattrip to lago frias. If you don’t book this then you have a lot (too much) time at puerto Blest. We got a ‘special price’ of 135 pesos for 2 persons which we found too much considering the price we already paid for this excursion. The most annoying part was that the guide shoud be bilingual and she wasn’t (or didn’t show it during our trip).
The tour is well organised and the lakes are beautifull. When you’re lucky you see the Tronador from the lago frias. We think though that the value for your money isn’t good.
We probably wouldn’t book this excursion a next time. We also visited Puerto varas and we would choose to do the expensive bordercrossing by boat/minivan. You see all the nice lakes and vulcanos on one day.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turisur Navegando la Patagonia also viewed

San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 

Been to Turisur Navegando la Patagonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turisur Navegando la Patagonia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.