We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice ambience, good food, efficient and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kandahar Restaurante

Kandahar Restaurante
20 de Febrero 698, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
+54 294 442-4702
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $60
Cuisines: International, Argentinean, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Sydney
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice ambience, good food, efficient and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Although we had to walk uphill from our hotel it was well worth the walk - as it opened at 8 pm and we were there half an hour before, we went for a stroll and came back when it was close to 8 pm. We sat outside waiting for the door to open but the waitress let us in early, The waitress was very friendly and attentive. We ordered mushroom tart for an entree and it was delicious. Then we had the stewed venison for main, which was very well prepared. For dessert,we had fruit salad, which was basic but it was good. As the portions are quite big in Argentina, we shared all the dishes and it was just right for us. As we told them, we will be sharing, they halved all the dishes into two plates which was really good service in my view.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    36
    10
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, CA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent Food in a Romantic Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

An intimate, exotic and attractive interior welcomes the dinner guest to this small restaurant which is a short walk from downtown Bariloche. Having read multiple good reviews, our expectations were exceeded. We ordered two different versions of the tenderloin, both of which were superb. We found this to be the tastiest beef we have had during our time in Argentina. The service was excellent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow, what a meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Dinner began with 2 delicious mushroom entradas accompanied by Pisco Sours. Main courses of trout and gnocchi with a wonderful Mendozan wine. Cozy atmosphere, great service and a terrific wine list - 5 stars all around!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful decor, interesting food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful and interesting meal at Kandahar. Quite beautiful and cozy. Venison and smoked trout pates started the meal with freshly toasted bread. Pastas and beef were good (mushroom in pasta could have been rehydrated and rinsed better). Desert was simple but good.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simply AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

What a great place. From the service, to the food and the venue. Its a little walk up the hill but is one of the best restraunts around that I have eaten at in a lond time. This place should be number 1

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kandahar Restaurante also viewed

San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 

Been to Kandahar Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kandahar Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.