We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely homey hostel in Bariloche” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Quijote Hospedaje

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added El Quijote Hospedaje to your Saves list
El Quijote Hospedaje
Pasaje Gutierrez 905, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely homey hostel in Bariloche”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I really enjoyed El Quijote - Silvia, Cesar and Juan couldn't have been more helpful. It was a really good place to meet other travellers as it was pretty small, but sociable. It was about 10 minutes walk from the centre and had a nice outside space to relax during siesta when the town shuts down too. Breakfast was great - so nice to find somewhere in Argentina serving fresh fruit! The hostel kitten was super cute too! The bunks weren't too comfy but more than adequate. I'd definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    9
    1
    6
    4
See reviews for
3
16
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

First all, the staff could not have been nicer. The property is a mess. If you are a twenty something
in age, it would be alright, but for us senior folks, it does not work. Our first room was #4 and the
problem was the shower. If you wanted to use the toilet, fine, but you could not shower at the
same time as the shower head was over the toilet. Not good. We complained and they moved
us the next day to room #1 that had a shower, but boxed in so you can use the toilet and shower
as in a normal bathroom. Now the problem was the toilet, it leaked profusely. Oh, well, nothing
that a few towels could not fix. The room was large, no TV, a couple of nightstands, and a chair.
Now this is where it gets a bit funky -- the room was a delightful purple in color with orange
accents. In fact, most of the hotel was done up in this hippie type decor. But keep in mind,
it is only for a couple of nights, so we just let that pass. A good thing was that the guests
can use the kitchen and refrigerator. That was a plus. The hostel was a 15 minute walk to town,
down hill - remember you have to walk up the hill to get back. A supermarket was close by as
well as some Mom and Pop food stores.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The couple who run the hostel are lovely and can speak some English, the hostel is clean, bedrooms and kitchen fine. It is about 10 minutes walk from the centre. I found el quijote to be a homely place for someone travelling alone and would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Side, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

i booked my dorm room by hostelworld 1 beds from 4 bed dorms, but after 7 hours bus journey
when i arrived there room was wiht 6 beds and so small. the people at desk looks that they are realy sorry and try to do somethink but its all just im sorry but crapted..
i wasnt very happy and i wont recemend this place....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

El Quijote is a really lovely and cosy place with colorful, clean rooms, which we definitly recommend. It is run by a very nice and helpful couple: Caesar and Silvia. We had a nice double room with a small private bathroom. The toilette and the shower were a bit unstable, but since it was clean we did not care ; )
The rooms are quite cheap (breakfast is included!) and the hostel is well located - only a 10-minutes walk away from the center. Unfortunatly we stayed for only one night since we were in our way to San Martin de los Andes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We made a 23 days trip trought Argentina and Chile. Before it, we have been in hostels in USA and I can say, for sure, that El Quijote is the best hostel that we ever seen. The family who cares the hostel is amazing. Very helpful. Is very clean and well located.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salta, Argentina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Best hostel at Bariloche! The family is very nice, pleasent and helpful.The Hospedaje is very clean, includes laundery service and great breakfast. The owners make the best asado, better than Don Alberto and Tony!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to El Quijote Hospedaje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Quijote Hospedaje

Address: Pasaje Gutierrez 905, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 211 Specialty Lodging in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Typical bed and breakfast mountain, family run with personalized attention. Spacious and decorated. Breakfasts characteristic, bread and homemade jam is .... Away from the noise, but close to everything, bus stop, supermarket ., offering a complete tourist information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your El Quijote Hospedaje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Quijote Hospedaje, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.