We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food with an incredible view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stag El Resto de Charming

Stag El Resto de Charming
Av. Bustillo Km 7,500 (Sobre la costa del Lago Nahuel Huapi) | Hua Huan 7549, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
02944-462889
Improve this listing
Price range: $25 - $80
Cuisines: Argentinean, Italian, Mediterranean, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Stag (The restaurant of Charming) invites you to live a unique experience from its privileged location on a cliff overlooking a great view of the lake and an impressive framework of Andean mountains.Enjoy our delicious dishes and experience the classic flavors of Patagonia, homemade pasta, trout, Patagonian lamb, freshly baked muffins and the most delicious desserts.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food with an incredible view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Just a few kilometres away from downtown Bariloche is this exclusive restaurant and small hotel, we enjoyed the spectacular view of the Nahuel Huapi, and a delicious meal

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    13
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“nice hotel option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We ate here while guests at the hotel and the restaurant has spectacular views. The food was good - red trout and pasta the best dishes, the pizzas were just ok. Service is probably better evening than lunch as restaurant is really geared at hotel guests but it's a good meal at a good price and if you are looking for something more affordable than Cassis or Butterfly, Stag is a good bet. As a bonus they have a telescope for star gazing at night. The chef is introducing a new summer menu which I am sure will be good also.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Location adds one star...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The surrounding is really beautiful, incredible view. We wnet for lunch, they have a reduced menu. We had the salad as a starter: not bad. Then the argentinian beef and tagliatelle. The waitress could not explain the pasta, but we had it the same. We waited really long for the mains to arrive... around 40 min maybe??? take in to account that we were the only table eating. When the beef arrived it was overcooked: we asked for medium and it was well done. Pasta was just so plain, wishy washy. We felt so dissappointed. All the previous reviews were so good. We also asked for a brownie, nothing special at all, and a coffee that the waiter forgot to bring us and his colleague realised it 10 mins later!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food with a stunning view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We were staying at Hotel Charming so ate at Stag Restaurant a number of times. Each time we ate there their food was of a high standard, their service pleasant and value very good too. As for the view you would struggle to find a better one in Bariloche.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“WOW! THE VIEW FROM THE UPPER LEVEL TABLE, THE FOOD AND SERVICE WERE ALL EXCELLENT!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

GUIDO was our server-HE is excellent!! You must go to the upper level to the only table on the upper level and the view is breath taking. We took a tour of 2 suites at the SPA/CHARMING-Another WOW!!! We highly recommend the restaurant and the SPA. The suites are magnificient-5 star all the way!!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stag El Resto de Charming also viewed

San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 

Been to Stag El Resto de Charming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stag El Resto de Charming, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.