We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alma del Lago Suites & Spa

Save Saved
You added Alma del Lago Suites & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Bustillo km 1,151, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stay in this hotel the long Argentina weekend. Room are very spacious, with a fantastic view to the lake.(I booked the Junior Suite). Kids the Lake superior room. The swimming pool is overlooking the lake and the breakfast is quiet good. Only two constraint,
- the road outside is a little beat noise
- The SPA service is good but the ambiance should be improve. The Spa box looks like a dentist cabinet and not like a nice space with candles and low light to help you relax. Other than that I will return.

Room Tip: Choose Rooms overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    112
    24
    14
    3
See reviews for
87
155
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Room: very spacious with two queen beds and a fantastic view (I booked Lake Superior)

Bathroom: quite large as split into two, bath and toilet in one part, shower and sink in another. Lots of hot water/ fluffy towels.

Quality of sleep: slept extremely well, bed was very comfortable. They have a sheet and a quilt so you can kick the quilt off if too hot. Some noise from the corridor but not enough to ruin sleep.

Pool: if no one else is in it, great, it is about 12-15 metres so you can (just) do lengths. Opening hours were a bit strange though, 11am-9pm, I am sure I am not the only one who likes a pre-breakfast swim.

Breakfast: service a bit random, they seemed to hide in the kitchen. I thought one guest was going to take the door off its hinges in trying to attract their attention. Scrambled egg was too runny but a good spread of fruit, bread, cakes and eggs.

Location : short walk into the main centre and on dry days not a problem. However the "path" is just a dusty track next to road and is extremely uneven (little steps, big steps, big slopes, little slopes, you have to watch every step). However on wet days it is a disaster. I was dropped off from a trip on the other side of the road and despite standing back I was completely drenched in the puddle spray of 5 vehicles (they were going too fast), Because the road was so busy, crossing the road that day was very difficult, I was literally soaked to the skin from my feet to above my knees from the spray and from the head down due to the rain. If I came back, I would search for a hotel more central to avoid the road.

Other points:
There are two restaurants, I only ate in the more casual one. You could not order food from the other restaurant, you could not eat in the comfy chairs but had to eat at one if the tables. The food was good, service was good.

I was charged for items from the mini bar that I did not have, easily sorted at reception but......bit weird as it was a manual system.

The reception team are excellent.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Disclaimer: This rating is for Lake view rooms!!
We booked Lake Superior room but were upgraded to Junior Suite (probably they were overbooked for these room), but obviously we didn't argue )). Room is very nice and spacious, view from the window is beautiful. The hotel is very clean, location is great - on the lake, close to the city center, but still somewhat outside of noise. Stuff speaks English, is very helpful, breakfast buffet is good, overlooking the lake, they have small pool and gym. So I have nothing to complain about.
However, the hotel doesn't have AC (as I believe most of hotels in Bariloche), which was fine for us, because we just open the window. For rooms facing the road (they call them Mountain view) it could be a problem.

Room Tip: Book Lake view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torremolinos, Spain
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
769 helpful votes 769 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

On checking in we were give a most lovely room overlooking the lake.
This location should be tranquility!
The hotel is still not 3 years old.---now there are cracks in the structure and the paint is peeling.
Soon everything changes--when you get to the bathroom to find the water from the shower in the middle of the floor as the tiles are broken within the shower unit.
The faucets in the bath constantly leak water on to the floor.
Smells come from the toilets.
Shampoo etc may be in the room or not in the room .
The restaurant is truly a disaster area.
At breakfast many times there is no bread--no hot food--no coffee.
In time it is replenished.
The first night we had dinner---what a nightmare.
we waited over 1 hour to get a salad.
Lamb which was requested rare--came cremated.
We paid for what food we had --left and went to an outside restaurant.
Guests who came for dinner were turned away as there were no DINNER tables available--however there were many free tables not being used -in the same dining room used for breakfast which is part of the dinner area.
4 friends were lift sitting for more than 40 mins--no one came to take their order--they got up and left.
this is not a staff issue --rather a General Manager who is not in control.
The owners / investors of this hotel must immediately change GM or have a serious financial issue due to lost business.
The internet is constantly unavailable due to a weak signal.
Laundry--beware of surcharges---this is highlighted here by other guests,
we gave our laundry at 08.30 for next day service return---they brought it back at circa 17h and tried to charge 30% extra.
The staff at reception are wonderful as is the concierge--all working under great stress because of not having a professional GM instead the hotel has an accountant as GM and this clearly shows inexperience.
This Hotel could make so much money with a professional hotelier in charge.
I would NOT return

Room Tip: avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel has the best view and is clean and modern. we stayed there over Christmas and had Christmas dinner on the 24th. It was delicious and comprised of a 5 course meal with plenty of vino and some bubbles. The breakfast was not disappointing either as there was a good selection of pastries,bread etc and there were also omelets and scrambled eggs.

The pool was nice and looked out onto the lake but the sauna was not working during our stay.
The service was good and staff were friendly.
We felt it was good value as it really is a gorgeous hotel... One you can happily laze in if you fancy taking a rest!
Just don't get your laundry dine there...it was very expensive!!
We only wish we could stay again

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Location! location! location!

This hotel is built directly on the lake shore, a 10 minute walk from the downtown area. The lake view rooms offer views better than the nearest Mirador. 

The staff are friendly, helpful and provide a good level of service. The rooms are spacious, the king size bed is super comfortable and the views are of course unbeatable. 

The restaurant dinners are good, breakfast is pretty average (definitely room for improvement here).

My only gripe is the restricted pool hours. The pool doesn't open until 11am (after checkout time) and closes early. Such a waste of a wonderful space. 

Would recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fribourg, Switzerland
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We spent a couple of nights here with a group of fellow travellers and warmly recommend this luxurious establishment. Some of our party were less fortunate and did not have the same glorious views that we enjoyed, so people making their own bookings would be wise to ask for a lakeside outlook. We were on floor -2 (the entry level from the road being on floor zero) and can confirm that room 2303 directly overlooks the lake and the mountains. The waves lap onto the rocks almost directly outside the large picture window. By all accounts, the rooms backing onto the main road were noisy from the constant stream of traffic and should thus be avoided if possible. The layout of our bathroom was intriguing, with a glass door separating the loo and bidet and one end of the bath from the glassed-in shower and washbasin. As a very welcome touch: not only is the room safe thoughtfully placed at eye level (no need to lie on the floor to use it), it also has an interior light and is particularly easy to operate.

Breakfast (buffet style) is delicious. The two dinners we ate here were satisfactory and the views over the lake from the dining room are superb - so what if the service is a little slow!

Natalia in the spa provided an expert and vigorous body massage on the eve of our return home -just what was needed before being cooped up for hours and hours on a transatlantic flight.

It's just a short walk from the hotel (very irregular pavements) to the town itself, which has an attractive lakeside promenade. The main street is crammed with hotels, restaurants, bars and souvenir as well as more up-market shops.

Room Tip: room 2303 on floor -2 was just great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alma del Lago Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma del Lago Suites & Spa

Address: Av. Bustillo km 1,151, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 133 Hotels in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alma del Lago Suites & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Tingo, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Alma del Lago Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alma del Lago Suites & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.