We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location! location! location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alma del Lago Suites & Spa

Save Saved
You added Alma del Lago Suites & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Bustillo km 1,151, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Location! location! location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Location! location! location!

This hotel is built directly on the lake shore, a 10 minute walk from the downtown area. The lake view rooms offer views better than the nearest Mirador. 

The staff are friendly, helpful and provide a good level of service. The rooms are spacious, the king size bed is super comfortable and the views are of course unbeatable. 

The restaurant dinners are good, breakfast is pretty average (definitely room for improvement here).

My only gripe is the restricted pool hours. The pool doesn't open until 11am (after checkout time) and closes early. Such a waste of a wonderful space. 

Would recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    106
    23
    14
    3
See reviews for
81
147
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fribourg, Switzerland
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We spent a couple of nights here with a group of fellow travellers and warmly recommend this luxurious establishment. Some of our party were less fortunate and did not have the same glorious views that we enjoyed, so people making their own bookings would be wise to ask for a lakeside outlook. We were on floor -2 (the entry level from the road being on floor zero) and can confirm that room 2303 directly overlooks the lake and the mountains. The waves lap onto the rocks almost directly outside the large picture window. By all accounts, the rooms backing onto the main road were noisy from the constant stream of traffic and should thus be avoided if possible. The layout of our bathroom was intriguing, with a glass door separating the loo and bidet and one end of the bath from the glassed-in shower and washbasin. As a very welcome touch: not only is the room safe thoughtfully placed at eye level (no need to lie on the floor to use it), it also has an interior light and is particularly easy to operate.

Breakfast (buffet style) is delicious. The two dinners we ate here were satisfactory and the views over the lake from the dining room are superb - so what if the service is a little slow!

Natalia in the spa provided an expert and vigorous body massage on the eve of our return home -just what was needed before being cooped up for hours and hours on a transatlantic flight.

It's just a short walk from the hotel (very irregular pavements) to the town itself, which has an attractive lakeside promenade. The main street is crammed with hotels, restaurants, bars and souvenir as well as more up-market shops.

Room Tip: room 2303 on floor -2 was just great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We had a wonderful time staying at Alma del Lago. We were coming from a long trip and we took the day off at this wonderful new hotel.
From the reservation agent Andrea that was very attentive, to the rest of the staff Matias and Florencia that helped us finding our way around Bariloche and programming the excursions.
Their breakfast is great and the restaurant outstanding. Ricardo and Claudia made us feel at home. Something that we like very much when we're traveling.
The views are phenomenal and the spa and the gym facility are very clean.
We would go back in heartbeat.

Room Tip: The suites are phenomenal, well worth the difference in price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Although fairly simple, the hotel is clean and new. The views of the lake are fabulous and the heated pool (on the edge of the lake) was very enjoyable. For the caliber of hotel, the service could have been better. The front desk staff seemed disorganized and the waits were long. We went toward the end of breakfast and the buffet needed to be refilled. Despite these hiccups, I would recommend the hotel, location and views.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I loved my stay at Alma del Lago. The views of the lake and mountains from the hotel are amazing. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious and the hotel has a modern feel.
The front desk staff all speak English and can make great recommendations for activities in Bariloche. And the bartender, Sasha, at the upstairs restaurant was one of my favorite people we met while traveling. He told me and my boyfriend about growing up in Bariloche, plus he mixes a great drink.
When I booked our room, I was worried that the hotel was too far from town but it's actually really close to everything. We were able to walk to the center of town in about 10 min.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Modern hotel with neat rooms and great facilities. heated pool is fantastic. Would have had a 5 star from me but the room that we had shared a door with the neighbouing room which had extremely loud guests that partied all hours.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room that doesn't have an access door to the neighbouring room as they a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goiania, GO
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Nice hotel, nice location, astonishing views. One of my best experiences in panoramic views, and it´s possible to be seen from the room, the restaurants, pool and gym. Cozy rooms, comfy beds. Average breakfast. Staff a bit hard to reach by e-mail, as they don´t write you back, but the experience itself is marvelous.

Room Tip: Avoid the -2 clasic lago and superior lago suites, as the view is partially blocked by the restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alma del Lago Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma del Lago Suites & Spa

Address: Av. Bustillo km 1,151, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 130 hotels in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alma del Lago Suites & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your Alma del Lago Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alma del Lago Suites & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.