We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with nice rooms and views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alma del Lago Suites & Spa

Save Saved
You added Alma del Lago Suites & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Bustillo km 1,151, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with nice rooms and views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Modern hotel with neat rooms and great facilities. heated pool is fantastic. Would have had a 5 star from me but the room that we had shared a door with the neighbouing room which had extremely loud guests that partied all hours.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room that doesn't have an access door to the neighbouring room as they a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    114
    25
    14
    3
See reviews for
88
155
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goiania, GO
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Nice hotel, nice location, astonishing views. One of my best experiences in panoramic views, and it´s possible to be seen from the room, the restaurants, pool and gym. Cozy rooms, comfy beds. Average breakfast. Staff a bit hard to reach by e-mail, as they don´t write you back, but the experience itself is marvelous.

Room Tip: Avoid the -2 clasic lago and superior lago suites, as the view is partially blocked by the restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Our stay at Alma was pleasant. It is only about one year old and about seven months of this time was during the Chili volcano eruption all but which shut down the Alma. They seem to be still in the new stages, some unfinished construction. Some are very small things (wall plugs not finished) but some are big (sauna not ready to use in the spa).The service was attentive. Food was good in dinnig room but one friend had bad experience with room service(language barrier). There were a few times when no one at the front desk spoke English, but we communicated ok. The hotel sits on Lake Nahuel Huapi, we walked down to the water, beautiful site. There is not a beach but it didn't matter we enjoyed an hour before sunset at the waters edge. We walked into town every day (10 minutes walk), found a number of great eateries. Good shopping.
We took a van tour of the lakes and mountain area west of the hotel, this is a must! Four hours with numerous photo stops and a chair lift ride to the best view I have ever seen in my life.
Dinner at Don Molina's (quite/ low light atmosphere) and Tony's Parrilla (bright lights and fun), two wonderful establishments. Be warned, if you go to Tony's go very hungry!! They cook right in the same room and the portions are large. Lunch at La Providencia, where Bebia will welcome you with a hug and the biggest smile ever.
We were followed every day in the restaurant area of town by our new friends, a group of town dogs. We found we were looking for them every time we left the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hughson, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

The hotel was beautiful. Great location, just outside of town.
Staff was O.K,. They need a real bartender.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellín, Colombia
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

It's the first time I find myself in such a crazy position to define a Hotel. If you ask me, I would go back and also recommend it, but it's not balanced between its beautiful, modern architecture, nice service, unbeatable views... breathtaking to be honest, with some incredible designing mistakes that can easily be solved. It may sound as a contradiction, but such a well built place should improve in some aspects. It's easier if I just list the PROS and CONS so you can have a better picture:

PROS:
1- Beautiful place, really nice
2- Views: breathtaking
3- Pool and Spa: world class for sure, though they don't have bevarage and food service yet
4- Breakfast: among the best I've tried in hotels, with a magnificent view of the lake
5- Location: 7 blocks from downtown but outside the noisy areas

CONS:
- Incredibly small double beds. I'm 6'2 (1.86 mts tall) and I didn't feel comfortable. Try to book a room with bigger beds, even if it means paying a little extra. It would still be cheap for the hotel's standards. We couldn't get an upgrade, because it was Easter break and they were fully booked
- The bed didn't face the lake view, which is a small designing mistake
- No Air conditioning, which can be solved by opening the windows, but then mosquitoes will come into your room. Our room was a bit hot, so it was an issue.

I was able to enjoy our stay, but sleep quality was not good. The lake, the views, the spa... the bed, the hot room... mmm, tough call, but would go back if I could have a better bed.

Room Tip: Try to get a Suite if you can. Avoid the LAKE VIEW ones, unless you can get a LAKE VIEW SUPERIOR or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

the hotel staff has a perfect english and they are so keen to help and make your stay complete and wonderful (especially lovely Florencia). the afternoon macaroons they bring to the room are very surprising and delicious.
the room that face the lake are very big and spacious. the design is very modern and the breakfast is wonderful.
the location is excellent - not in the busiest part, but a short walk. it also close to some very good restaurants. bery recommended!

Room Tip: the rooms that doesn`t face the lake are facing to the road, and it`s realy worth upgrade them to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Alma del Lago after the Edelweiss was overbooked (same owners). We were very happy with the substitution. Alma del Lago is a bit further away from the town center but quite lovely with friendly staff and drop dead views of the lake. It's about a 15 -20 minute walk to downtown although there are restaurants and shops within 5 minute walk. We ate at the hotel restaurant one evening; good service and excellent food. Modern, clean line decor, pool and spa. Free internet access in lobby.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alma del Lago Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma del Lago Suites & Spa

Address: Av. Bustillo km 1,151, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 133 Hotels in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alma del Lago Suites & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Alma del Lago Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alma del Lago Suites & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.