We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Almazen -- a dinner here will make your trip to Barilochie special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Almazen de Sabores

Almazen de Sabores
los radales 667 , Dina Huapi, San Carlos de Bariloche 8402, Argentina
+54 294 452-1109
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary, Eclectic, Fusion, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Almazen de Sabores is a warm restaurant where attended by its owners served with love creative dishes gourmet cuisine with a capacity for 20 people is an ideal place to have a nice quiet dinner
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Amazing Almazen -- a dinner here will make your trip to Barilochie special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This small restaurant about 1/2 hours ride north of Barilochie center is owned and run by a loving and very capable husband and wife team. Each dish is unique and served with its own special styling, flavors and plates.The flavors are complex and complimentary. The blend and are special for the item being served. Try the multi-course surprise special. Let them know at the start of the meal what you can't, or don't like to eat. They will accommodate you. The wine list is quite nice and all prices are very reasonable. There are only 7 tables and you should get directions off of their web site. You will not regret and fondly remember your experience at Almazen. Lucile & Franco are great hosts - pay them a visit..

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    18
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quaint and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Just ate here as one of our first meals in bariloche and it didnt disappoint. Though its a but outside the city it's a gem to find and well worth the drive. Six course menu and bottle of wine for about a third what we'd pay back home. The owners/chefs were amazing and so kind. Truly a delicious meal coming from a foodie from Sam Francisco, California.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Best away-from-home birthday dinner imaginable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband turned 30 during our 7 months of travel, and we happened to be in Bariloche for his birthday. As a treat, I wanted to find the best possible restaurant to have dinner to celebrate. We had the entire restaurant to ourselves since we eat "early" in Argentina (i.e. 8pm), and we opted for the 6 course tasting menu. It was FANTASTIC and included fish, shrimp, soup, beef, and of course delicious dessert (including this ricotta cheese with raspberry sauce that I wish I could eat everyday). The service was EXCELLENT - from our email correspondence for reservations to adding a candle to my husband's dessert plate. The location is a bit remote from the town, but cabs are cheap, and since it's a home, it adds to the ambiance. To top it all off, the same meal in the US would've cost us at least 4 times as much. They also have an excellent and reasonably priced wine list. Please visit this restaurant - you won't regret it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The best food in Bariloche, sin duda!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Hosted by its owners, the service could not be better and the food is always special and unique. I had many dinners here and have to say that is an experience well payed for the drive to Dina Huapi. Do not miss is if you are in Bariloche.

Muchas gracias chicos!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, people and amazing flavors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I was amazed with the incredible flavors!!
The place is very special, small but cozy.
The music, the quietness, I would really like to go back again.
Thank you Franco and Lucila for your special treat!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Almazen de Sabores also viewed

San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 

Been to Almazen de Sabores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Almazen de Sabores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.